24 Dec 2020

ATSC 3.0 Forum
Locked
nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16646
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 103

24 Dec 2020

Post by nickk »

We have a release in the works for next week.

Tuning ATSC 1.0 vs 3.0 channels:
We have an ongoing effort to support multiple channels with the same virtual channel number to support user selection between ATSC 1.0 and ATSC 3.0. We want to get everyone up and running now so the pending firmware release has a short term workaround moving the ATSC 3.0 channels to 100+ channel numbers.

Channels missed in scan:
Certain PLP arrangements have been resulting in channels being missed. This has been fixed in firmware.

Audio content issues:
There are two different issues with similar symptoms where it sounds like the channels are being mapped incorrectly. The first we were investigating if it was a broadcast issue or Silicondust issue when the broadcast changed and solved the problem. The second is understood and will take some more work to address. It isn't a channel mapping issue.

1080i HEVC vertically squished
We are testing a workaround that makes the picture the right size on platforms that don't support interlaced content correctly. In parallel we are talking with vendors to support 1080i.

Buffering pauses:
We found and fixed the buffering pause issue seen on some ATSC 3.0 channels. The fix is an upgrade to the client apps on each platform.

Timestamp issue on some channels:
Channels 33.1 and 35.1 show a few frames then stall due to a video timestamp issue. We tested a workaround to confirm the video data is ok.

Missing SLT data on some Phoenix channels:
Channels 10.1 and 45.1 won't play due to missing data needed to find the audio and video tracks. This is a problem in the broadcast itself.

Nick - Silicondust

Dartman
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 12:29 pm
x 2

Re: 24 Dec 2020

Post by Dartman »

Cool, looking forward to possibly something I own other than win 10 getting both video and audio soon with the 4k tuner. I guess at least being able to choose which stream to use should at least make it usable for the markets like mine that are doing atsc3 streams now.

scubajwd
Posts: 146
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2013 10:31 am

Re: 24 Dec 2020

Post by scubajwd »

What a Great Christmas Present!!! Thanks so much

Crash*N*Burn
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2020 8:42 pm

Re: 24 Dec 2020

Post by Crash*N*Burn »

Awesome!

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16646
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 103

Re: 24 Dec 2020

Post by nickk »

The Win10 app update is out (20201226) - this fixes the buffering pause seen on some ATSC 3.0 channels and 1080i HEVC content will play fullscreen.

krv
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2020 12:13 pm
x 4

Re: 24 Dec 2020

Post by krv »

nickk wrote: Sat Dec 26, 2020 12:00 pm The Win10 app update is out (20201226) - this fixes the buffering pause seen on some ATSC 3.0 channels and 1080i HEVC content will play fullscreen.
as of this update the Win 10 so is working well with all our 3.0 channels on Raleigh NC, no pausing and no squished 1080i, thanks for keeping us updated on these updates

krv
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2020 12:13 pm
x 4

Re: 24 Dec 2020

Post by krv »

nickk wrote: Thu Dec 24, 2020 8:33 pm
Tuning ATSC 1.0 vs 3.0 channels:
We have an ongoing effort to support multiple channels with the same virtual channel number to support user selection between ATSC 1.0 and ATSC 3.0. We want to get everyone up and running now so the pending firmware release has a short term workaround moving the ATSC 3.0 channels to 100+ channel numbers.
I have a question or two that may or may not intersect with this issue.

Here in the Raleigh/Durham/Chapel Hill area of NC our PBS station WUNC uses a virtual channel of 4, I receive this channel both on rf 19 and rf 20. Rf 20 is from the main transmitter in Chapel Hill and rf 19 is from the Raleigh translator (these are both atsc 1.0). When i run 'detect channels', only one 4.1 shows up.

Questions:
Is there any way for me to know (or change) which rf channels is being selected through 'detect channels'?
Will this be affected by the change to allow "the same virtual channel number to support user selection between ATSC 1.0 and ATSC 3.0", given that both of the 4.1 channels air ATSC 1.0?

thanks for your help

Online
signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9601
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 10802091 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36
x 34

Re: 24 Dec 2020

Post by signcarver »

Scan picks up the channel with best resolution, then by signal quality... only one virtual channel with the same number would be added. The upcoming firmware will supposedly add 100 to the atsc 3.0 virtual channel so one will see both added but that does nothing for your two atsc 1.0 channels of the same number. .. at some point codec will also be ranked (hevc, h 264, moeg2) in it's choosing

That said, I noticed something strange for me the other day that I had a couple of 5000 numbered channels which usually occurs when virtual channel data is missing.... apparently a station had the major vurtual number off that matched another though they were mainly rest stations with the channel number scrolling across the bottom which didn't match the conflicting psip data... the 4k unit did add this channel to the 5000 range but the regular tuners though could see it didn't add such (and one of my units didn't scan yet and it had the "real" (proper) virtual number for the channel from a few days ago.

If you need to select which one use software that isn't dependent on the scan.

Mediaman
Expert
Posts: 8346
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 12:11 pm
Device ID: 131045A9, 131F4A88, 1080278D
Location: Olympia, WA
x 3

Re: 24 Dec 2020

Post by Mediaman »

krv wrote: Sun Dec 27, 2020 12:13 pm
I have a question or two that may or may not intersect with this issue.

Here in the Raleigh/Durham/Chapel Hill area of NC our PBS station WUNC uses a virtual channel of 4, I receive this channel both on rf 19 and rf 20. Rf 20 is from the main transmitter in Chapel Hill and rf 19 is from the Raleigh translator (these are both atsc 1.0). When i run 'detect channels', only one 4.1 shows up.

Questions:
Is there any way for me to know (or change) which rf channels is being selected through 'detect channels'?
Will this be affected by the change to allow "the same virtual channel number to support user selection between ATSC 1.0 and ATSC 3.0", given that both of the 4.1 channels air ATSC 1.0?

thanks for your help
you can see the rf used in the gui [this can be found by going to Windows/ProgramFiles/Silicondust/ and look for HDHR config gui.exe app. Create a link for desktop for easy access. When opened you should see all SD devices listed and tuner numbers on the left. Click on the engaged tuner. The top line of information is rf number being used. Second line has drop down arrow and shows other streams on that rf. In the Status area you can see real time info on the stream rather than a snap shot.

Lost Dog
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 11:46 pm
x 6

Re: 24 Dec 2020

Post by Lost Dog »

Any updates when the linux hdhomerun (and gui) software will be updated?

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16646
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 103

Re: 24 Dec 2020

Post by nickk »

New app updates for Android, FireTV, iOS, AppleTV, Win10, and XBox released today (20201229).

* Fix crash changing audio tracks on ATSC 3.0 channels.
* Fix crash playing ATSC 3.0 channels with poor reception.

It also improves compatibility with one station that was causing problems.

It may take a day or two to show on the app store as an update.

Nick

darcilicious
Posts: 182
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2018 3:08 pm
Location: Portland, OR
x 6

Re: 24 Dec 2020

Post by darcilicious »

nickk wrote: Thu Dec 24, 2020 8:33 pm We have a release in the works for next week.

Tuning ATSC 1.0 vs 3.0 channels:
We have an ongoing effort to support multiple channels with the same virtual channel number to support user selection between ATSC 1.0 and ATSC 3.0. We want to get everyone up and running now so the pending firmware release has a short term workaround moving the ATSC 3.0 channels to 100+ channel numbers.
Is this firmware update still on track to be released this week? Just curious... Thanks and Happy New Year!

tpm
Posts: 136
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 3:09 pm

Re: 24 Dec 2020

Post by tpm »

nickk wrote: Thu Dec 24, 2020 8:33 pm 1080i HEVC vertically squished
We are testing a workaround that makes the picture the right size on platforms that don't support interlaced content correctly. In parallel we are talking with vendors to support 1080i.
While you're talking with them, as a device-maker can you please lobby them to just move to 1080p? Interlacing is relic of the distant past, so clearly unnecessary now, and a lot of end-devices (like various phones) don't have hardware deinterlacing anymore.

clarkss12
Posts: 1307
Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 11:51 am
Device ID: 104CBEA5 ;1055A951
Location: Michigan, USA
x 6
Contact:

Re: 24 Dec 2020

Post by clarkss12 »

Hoping for the update "Tuning ATSC 1.0 vs 3.0 channels:" soon.
I am recording the Outback Bowl using the HDHomeRun DVR and Emby DVR running on the same Android device (Beelink GS King X). One of the recordings is using the Quatro, and the other recordings is using one of the HEVC tuners of the Quatro 4k. However, I can't tell which recording device is using which tuner, since both DVR are running on the same machine so they have the same local IP address..........
Anyway to determine which device is using which tuner? I know you are working on the ability to control how to access the 4k tuners separately .....

https://imgur.com/a/9PYdL7c

CBme
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2020 2:15 pm
x 15

Re: 24 Dec 2020

Post by CBme »

tpm wrote: Sat Jan 02, 2021 12:21 pm
nickk wrote: Thu Dec 24, 2020 8:33 pm 1080i HEVC vertically squished
We are testing a workaround that makes the picture the right size on platforms that don't support interlaced content correctly. In parallel we are talking with vendors to support 1080i.
While you're talking with them, as a device-maker can you please lobby them to just move to 1080p? Interlacing is relic of the distant past, so clearly unnecessary now, and a lot of end-devices (like various phones) don't have hardware deinterlacing anymore.
The vendors he is referring to are not the stations, it is hardware and software folks. The decision to continue with 1080i is not likely to be happening at the local market level as it isn't in our case. Though sending a note to your station that is 1080i can't hurt. If enough of the local folks start pushing for hardware (or whatever is needed) changes to enable it, it could accelerate the change over. In the Seattle market our NBC station is doing 1080p while our CBS station is doing 1080i (our CW station isn't doing 3.0 yet).

Locked