DEV model? - csdesigns

ATSC 3.0 Forum
csdesigns
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:21 pm
x 16

DEV model? - csdesigns

Post by csdesigns »

I have two units (in the RDU market). One is the standard model, and the second is supposed to be the DEV version. However, the only captures I can make with both devices are of the standard variant, i.e.:

Code: Select all

wget "http://<ip address>:5004/auto/v11.1?duration=10"
This works fine on both devices, however I am unable to use the physical channel designation, i.e.:

Code: Select all

wget "http://<ip address>:5004/auto/ch14p0p2?duration=10"
That command nets me this (and yes, I have tried multiple variations of the chNpXpYpZ formatting gleaned from the HDHomeRun Config GUI app):

Code: Select all

HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 503 Service Unavailable
2020-12-11 10:41:10 ERROR 503: Service Unavailable.
Also, when I try to capture any of the 'DEV' formats, that fails:

Code: Select all

wget "http://<ip address>:5004/auto/v11.1?format=dash-tar&duration=10"
--2020-12-11 10:35:30--  http://<ip address>:5004/auto/v11.1?format=dash-tar&duration=10
Connecting to <ip address>:5004... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 400 Bad Request
2020-12-11 10:35:30 ERROR 400: Bad Request.
I'm obviously obfuscating the actual IP address of the units above just in case that isn't clear

So, is the DEV firmware not actually loaded onto the second unit as it was supposed to be?

Thanks,
CS

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16446
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 129

Re: DEV model?

Post by nickk »

Hi,

What are the device IDs of your two units?

ch14p0p2 not working - check that these two PLPs are HTI and can be tuned together...
hdhomerun_config <device id> set /tuner0/channel 14
hdhomerun_config <device id> get /tuner0/plpinfo

(or on Windows run hdhomerun_config_gui and use the GUI to set channel 14)

Nick

csdesigns
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:21 pm
x 16

Re: DEV model?

Post by csdesigns »

1080671F
10810BDF

The second of the two is supposed to be the DEV model.

csdesigns
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:21 pm
x 16

Re: DEV model?

Post by csdesigns »

Image
Image
Image
Image

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16446
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 129

Re: DEV model?

Post by nickk »

Can you please send me a PM with the shop order number for you order.

The PLPs look fine.

Nick

csdesigns
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:21 pm
x 16

Re: DEV model?

Post by csdesigns »

Sent PM.

So, the following command should work if the DEV fw is properly loaded?:

Code: Select all

wget "http://<ip address>:5004/auto/ch14p0p2?duration=10"

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16446
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 129

Re: DEV model?

Post by nickk »

csdesigns wrote: Fri Dec 11, 2020 12:26 pm Sent PM.

So, the following command should work if the DEV fw is properly loaded?:

Code: Select all

wget "http://<ip address>:5004/auto/ch14p0p2?duration=10"
The default output format is TS of one program but in that URL you are not specifying the program.
Try wget "http://<ip address>:5004/auto/ch14p0p2-5002?duration=10"

If you want the full mux you need to specify a capture mode that works at that level, for example:
wget "http://<ip address>:5004/auto/ch14p0p2?format=ipv4-pcap&duration=10"

Nick

csdesigns
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:21 pm
x 16

Re: DEV model? - csdesigns

Post by csdesigns »

The default output format is TS of one program but in that URL you are not specifying the program.
Try wget "http://<ip address>:5004/auto/ch14p0p2-5002?duration=10"
Ok, understood now. Thanks.
If you want the full mux you need to specify a capture mode that works at that level, for example:
wget "http://<ip address>:5004/auto/ch14p0p2?format=ipv4-pcap&duration=10"
I can confirm that the following example commands now work:

Code: Select all

wget "http://<ip address>:5004/auto/ch14p0p2?format=ipv4-pcap&duration=10"
wget "http://<ip address>:5004/auto/ch14p0p2?format=alp-pcap&duration=10"
wget "http://<ip address>:5004/auto/ch14p0p2?format=j288&duration=10"
But, the capture method I am actually most interested in is MPEG-DASH, and this is still causing me fits:

Code: Select all

wget "http://<ip address>:5004/auto/v11.1?duration=10&format=dash-tar"            
--2020-12-15 13:44:07--  http://<ip address>:5004/auto/v11.1?duration=10&format=dash-tar
Connecting to <ip address>:5004... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 503 Service Unavailable
2020-12-15 13:44:13 ERROR 503: Service Unavailable.

Code: Select all

curl "http://<ip address>:5004/auto/v11.1?duration=10&format=dash-tar" -o v11.1.tar
  % Total    % Received % Xferd  Average Speed   Time    Time     Time  Current
                                 Dload  Upload   Total   Spent    Left  Speed
  0     0    0     0    0     0      0      0 --:--:--  0:00:05 --:--:--     0
I imagine that this is just a formatting error on my end, but I believe I have followed the example posted here, so I am not sure where the issue is.

csdesigns
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:21 pm
x 16

Re: DEV model? - csdesigns

Post by csdesigns »

In case someone else runs into a similar issue, I finally parsed a command that allows me to capture MPEG-DASH packets:

Code: Select all

w̶g̶e̶t̶ ̶"̶h̶t̶t̶p̶:̶/̶/̶<̶I̶P̶ ̶a̶d̶d̶r̶e̶s̶s̶>̶:̶5̶0̶0̶4̶/̶a̶u̶t̶o̶/̶v̶1̶1̶.̶1̶?̶d̶u̶r̶a̶t̶i̶o̶n̶=̶1̶0̶&̶t̶=̶d̶a̶s̶h̶-̶t̶a̶r̶"̶
Apparently, it was the fact that I previously was using "format=dash-tar" in place of "t=dash-tar" in the above command that was causing the failure. Unfortunately, SD's documentation on this is severely lacking, and I had to search for a previous end user's post to lead me down the correct path.
Last edited by csdesigns on Wed Dec 16, 2020 10:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9453
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 10802091 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36
x 28

Re: DEV model? - csdesigns

Post by signcarver »

Interesting as that isn't the behavior I am seeing.

Did you check the tuner logs? Were you specifying virtual channel number (for dash... previously you didn't)?

When I checked just now, I have no problem with format= but if I use t= I just get a ts, not a dash-tar... either way the filename provided is .mpeg so suggest the request specify the name of the output file.

csdesigns
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:21 pm
x 16

Re: DEV model? - csdesigns

Post by csdesigns »

signcarver wrote: Wed Dec 16, 2020 9:49 am Did you check the tuner logs? Were you specifying virtual channel number (for dash... previously you didn't)?
Correct, previously I did not specify the vchannel#, but I am now (i.e. v11.1, and as mentioned in the posted command I listed).
signcarver wrote: Wed Dec 16, 2020 9:49 am When I checked just now, I have no problem with format= but if I use t= I just get a ts, not a dash-tar... either way the filename provided is .mpeg so suggest the request specify the name of the output file.
OK, so maybe in my elation that I finally got something working, I'll admit I haven't done a thorough check on the actual output yet. :? I've been trying to get dash capture working since I received the units, so I may have jumped the gun a bit and just assumed it was working. I'll verify what I've captured now however.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9453
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 10802091 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36
x 28

Re: DEV model? - csdesigns

Post by signcarver »

Since you would be using virtual channels numbers, make sure the channel requested was one added to the scan and indicates HEVC.

csdesigns
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:21 pm
x 16

Re: DEV model? - csdesigns

Post by csdesigns »

signcarver wrote: Wed Dec 16, 2020 9:49 am When I checked just now, I have no problem with format= but if I use t= I just get a ts, not a dash-tar... either way the filename provided is .mpeg so suggest the request specify the name of the output file.
Yep, thanks for saving me some considerable time. In my haste, I assumed that what I had was working – I switched to curl and set the output name to the station_name.tar, so I jumped the gun and assumed that it was a tarball since it had the .tar extension. In fact, it is just the Transport Stream, so please disregard my post.

Hopefully someone can assist me... when I try to capture MPEG-DASH, I get the following:

Code: Select all

curl -v "http://<ip-address>:5004/tuner0/v11.1?duration=30&format=dash-tar" -o wtvd.tar 
  % Total    % Received % Xferd  Average Speed   Time    Time     Time  Current
                                 Dload  Upload   Total   Spent    Left  Speed
  0     0    0     0    0     0      0      0 --:--:-- --:--:-- --:--:--     0*   Trying <ip-address>...
* TCP_NODELAY set
* Connected to <ip-address> (<ip-address>) port 5004 (#0)
> GET /tuner0/v11.1?duration=30&format=dash-tar HTTP/1.1
> Host: <ip-address>:5004
> User-Agent: curl/7.64.1
> Accept: */*
> 
  0     0    0     0    0     0      0      0 --:--:--  0:00:05 --:--:--     0< HTTP/1.1 503 Service Unavailable
< Server: HDHomeRun/1.0
< Connection: close
< Content-Length: 0
< Cache-Control: no-cache
< X-HDHomeRun-Error: 807 No Video Data
< 
  0     0    0     0    0     0      0      0 --:--:--  0:00:05 --:--:--     0
* Closing connection 0
Standard capture works:

Code: Select all

curl -v "http://<ip-address>:5004/tuner0/v11.1?duration=30" -o wtvd.mpg
  % Total    % Received % Xferd  Average Speed   Time    Time     Time  Current
                                 Dload  Upload   Total   Spent    Left  Speed
  0     0    0     0    0     0      0      0 --:--:-- --:--:-- --:--:--     0*   Trying <ip-address>...
* TCP_NODELAY set
* Connected to <ip-address> (<ip-address>) port 5004 (#0)
> GET /tuner0/v11.1?duration=30 HTTP/1.1
> Host: <ip-address>:5004
> User-Agent: curl/7.64.1
> Accept: */*
> 
  0     0    0     0    0     0      0      0 --:--:--  0:00:02 --:--:--     0< HTTP/1.1 200 OK
< Server: HDHomeRun/1.0
< Connection: close
< Content-Type: video/mpeg
< Cache-Control: no-cache
< transferMode.dlna.org: Streaming
< Date: Wed, 16 Dec 2020 17:07:57 GMT
< X-HDHomeRun-Resource: tuner0
< 
{ [1316 bytes data]
100 18.1M    0 18.1M    0     0   575k      0 --:--:--  0:00:32 --:--:--  633k
* Closing connection 0
Another oddity – when I try to specify the 2nd tuner, it fails as well, even on the standard capture:

Code: Select all

curl -v "http://<ip-address>:5004/tuner1/v11.1?duration=30" -o wtvd.mpg
  % Total    % Received % Xferd  Average Speed   Time    Time     Time  Current
                                 Dload  Upload   Total   Spent    Left  Speed
  0     0    0     0    0     0      0      0 --:--:-- --:--:-- --:--:--     0*   Trying <ip-address>...
* TCP_NODELAY set
* Connected to <ip-address> (<ip-address>) port 5004 (#0)
> GET /tuner1/v11.1?duration=30 HTTP/1.1
> Host: <ip-address>:5004
> User-Agent: curl/7.64.1
> Accept: */*
> 
  0     0    0     0    0     0      0      0 --:--:--  0:00:05 --:--:--     0< HTTP/1.1 503 Service Unavailable
< Server: HDHomeRun/1.0
< Connection: close
< Content-Length: 0
< Cache-Control: no-cache
< X-HDHomeRun-Error: 807 No Video Data
< 
  0     0    0     0    0     0      0      0 --:--:--  0:00:05 --:--:--     0
* Closing connection 0
M̶a̶y̶b̶e̶ ̶t̶h̶i̶s̶ ̶i̶s̶ ̶a̶ ̶R̶M̶A̶ ̶s̶i̶t̶u̶a̶t̶i̶o̶n̶?̶ ̶W̶h̶e̶n̶ ̶I̶ ̶u̶s̶e̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶W̶i̶n̶d̶o̶w̶s̶ ̶H̶D̶H̶o̶m̶e̶r̶u̶n̶ ̶C̶o̶n̶f̶i̶g̶ ̶G̶U̶I̶ ̶a̶p̶p̶,̶ ̶I̶ ̶c̶a̶n̶ ̶s̶e̶e̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶t̶u̶n̶e̶r̶0̶ ̶h̶a̶s̶ ̶n̶o̶ ̶i̶s̶s̶u̶e̶ ̶l̶o̶c̶k̶i̶n̶g̶ ̶i̶n̶ ̶t̶o̶ ̶a̶ ̶s̶i̶g̶n̶a̶l̶,̶ ̶b̶u̶t̶ ̶t̶u̶n̶e̶r̶1̶ ̶c̶o̶n̶s̶t̶a̶n̶t̶l̶y̶ ̶d̶r̶o̶p̶s̶ ̶i̶n̶ ̶a̶n̶d̶ ̶o̶u̶t̶,̶ ̶e̶x̶p̶l̶a̶i̶n̶i̶n̶g̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶a̶b̶o̶v̶e̶.̶ It is entirely possible that this was just a case of bad luck, and while attempting to test the tuning of the channels on tuner1, the station I was trying to tune to was taken down. I no longer see the previously listed ATSC 3.0 channels available in my area.

The following is from my tune scan last night:
Image
And then today:
Image

NextGenVideo
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2020 2:49 pm

Re: DEV model? - csdesigns

Post by NextGenVideo »

I am experiencing a simiar issue. I can create a .ts (or .mpg) file either using curl, wget or by adding the URL directly in a browser with the duration option added.

However when I use any of the format options (ipv4-pcap, alp-pcap or dash-tar), I get a 400. "Bad Request" using the same methods detailed above. The curl example is detailed below:

c:\Program Files\Silicondust\HDHomeRun>curl -v "http://192.168.1.91:5004/auto/v31.1?dur ... =ipv4-pcap" -o c:\Users\keysp\test.pcap
* Trying 192.168.1.91...
* TCP_NODELAY set
% Total % Received % Xferd Average Speed Time Time Time Current
Dload Upload Total Spent Left Speed
0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 --:--:-- --:--:-- --:--:-- 0* Connected to 192.168.1.91 (192.168.1.91) port 5004 (#0)
> GET /auto/v31.1?duration=10&format=ipv4-pcap HTTP/1.1
> Host: 192.168.1.91:5004
> User-Agent: curl/7.55.1
> Accept: */*
>
< HTTP/1.1 400 Bad Request
< Server: HDHomeRun/1.0
< Connection: close
< Content-Length: 0
< Cache-Control: no-cache
<
0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 --:--:-- --:--:-- --:--:-- 0
* Closing connection 0

Any thoughts?

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16446
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 129

Re: DEV model? - csdesigns

Post by nickk »

Checking, what is the DeviceID of your HDHomeRun?

Nick

Post Reply