8 Nov 2020

ATSC 3.0 Forum
Branden
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2020 8:30 am
x 1

Re: 8 Nov 2020

Post by Branden »

I'm surprised and frustrated with the behavior of this tuning software. If I intentionally use the two ATSC3 tuners, the remaining tuners do NOT subsequently tune to the ATSC1 stream. The HEVC channels completely block/hide their MPEG counterparts.

In the Tampa area, these 5 streams work if tuned directly to get the ATSC1/MPEG/AC3 (working audio for legacy devices) streams from any of the four tuners:

| 08.1 | WFLA (NBC) | http://192.168.x.x:5004/auto/ch189000000-3 |
| 10.1 | WTSP (CBS) | http://192.168.x.x:5004/auto/ch195000000-1 |
| 13.1 | WTVT (FOX) | http://192.168.x.x:5004/auto/ch207000000-3 |
| 28.1 | WFTS (ABC) | http://192.168.x.x:5004/auto/ch491000000-3 |
| 32.1 | WMOR (CW) | http://192.168.x.x:5004/auto/ch491000000-7 |

I hope these URLs can help others with making alternate arrangements until SD steps up. :geek:

hifiaudio2
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2009 8:04 pm

Re: 8 Nov 2020

Post by hifiaudio2 »

We very much need the ability to choose ATSC 1 or 3 streams. The 4k HDHR I just bought is useless to me right now because the ATSC 3 streams dont seem to work on any of my Shield devices. Unusable for multiple channels here in Nashville. Its junk right now for me!! I wish I had known about this issue before purchasing.

kohaiut
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2020 3:08 pm
x 1

Re: 8 Nov 2020

Post by kohaiut »

I just got my 4k quatro. Here in Utah, on HVEC channels using the windows 10 app, the left channel of the audio is much stronger than the right. On regular ATSC 1.0 channels, the balance is correct.

Any ideas?

My long term plan is to get the hdhomerun working with plex on my synology nas, but need the audio support to get resolved for plex.

CBme
Posts: 121
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2020 2:15 pm
x 15

Re: 8 Nov 2020

Post by CBme »

kohaiut wrote: Thu Dec 31, 2020 3:15 pm I just got my 4k quatro. Here in Utah, on HVEC channels using the windows 10 app, the left channel of the audio is much stronger than the right. On regular ATSC 1.0 channels, the balance is correct.
Any ideas?
My long term plan is to get the hdhomerun working with plex on my synology nas, but need the audio support to get resolved for plex.
Just have to wait until they figure it out. Partial fix is discussed in the most recent thread:
viewtopic.php?f=133&t=74778
Audio content issues:
There are two different issues with similar symptoms where it sounds like the channels are being mapped incorrectly. The first we were investigating if it was a broadcast issue or Silicondust issue when the broadcast changed and solved the problem. The second is understood and will take some more work to address. It isn't a channel mapping issue.

Also, for AC-4 issues, there is a thread specific to that topic here: viewtopic.php?f=133&t=74323
hifiaudio2 wrote: Tue Dec 29, 2020 1:56 pm We very much need the ability to choose ATSC 1 or 3 streams. The 4k HDHR I just bought is useless to me right now because the ATSC 3 streams dont seem to work on any of my Shield devices. Unusable for multiple channels here in Nashville. Its junk right now for me!! I wish I had known about this issue before purchasing.
This is an old thread. They have stated how they are addressing it in the upcoming firmware update in the most recent thread noted above.
"Tuning ATSC 1.0 vs 3.0 channels:
We have an ongoing effort to support multiple channels with the same virtual channel number to support user selection between ATSC 1.0 and ATSC 3.0. We want to get everyone up and running now so the pending firmware release has a short term workaround moving the ATSC 3.0 channels to 100+ channel numbers."

Post Reply