Detroit ATSC 3.0 - 2020

ATSC 3.0 Forum
nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16444
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 129

Re: Detroit ATSC 3.0

Post by nickk »

A-TV-viewer wrote: Tue Dec 29, 2020 9:41 pm My Yamaha receiver supports ATMOS and is connected to my TV, fire tv and google tv devices. All successful play through my receiver for everything other than the ATCS 3 channels. Do you know what settings I need to change to enable ATMOS to passthrough?
FireTV and Android TV devices should detect the receiver ATMOS support.

First, try HDMI to the receiver then from the receiver to the TV.

If that doesn't work let me know when you can be online so we can work together on some quick tests.

Nick

A-TV-viewer
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2017 6:20 pm
x 2

Re: Detroit ATSC 3.0

Post by A-TV-viewer »

nickk wrote: Tue Dec 29, 2020 10:14 pm
A-TV-viewer wrote: Tue Dec 29, 2020 9:41 pm My Yamaha receiver supports ATMOS and is connected to my TV, fire tv and google tv devices. All successful play through my receiver for everything other than the ATCS 3 channels. Do you know what settings I need to change to enable ATMOS to passthrough?
FireTV and Android TV devices should detect the receiver ATMOS support.

First, try HDMI to the receiver then from the receiver to the TV.
If that doesn't work let me know when you can be online so we can work together on some quick tests.

Nick
Thank you for the quick response. Moving the GoogleTV - HDHomeRun (Beta) to a HDMI port on my Yamaha receiver enabled sound on ATSC 3.0 channels.
  • @darcilicious was correct my TV does not allow full sound-passthrough
  • I have the same issues as @clarkss12. The sound-field mapping is not correct on ATSC 3.0. The front and rear speaker sounds are switched! ATSC 1.0 does not have this problem.
  • HDHomeRun crashed after a few minuets
darcilicious wrote: Tue Dec 29, 2020 9:45 pm
A-TV-viewer wrote: Tue Dec 29, 2020 9:41 pm My Yamaha receiver supports ATMOS and is connected to my TV, fire tv and google tv devices. All successful play through my receiver for everything other than the ATCS 3 channels. Do you know what settings I need to change to enable ATMOS to passthrough?
A lot of TVs do not support audio pass-through -- really, you should connect your playback devices to the AV/R and the video output of your AV/R to your TV. In any case, you'll need to refer to your TV manual for the details.
clarkss12 wrote: Sun Dec 20, 2020 4:25 pm I'm watching an NFL game being played in hevc using the ATSC 3 tuner, using a Windows 10 mini PC connected to my 4K TV through my Yamaha AVR.
The playback is pretty decent, except there is a pause about every five or ten minutes. Also the center channel audio is being broadcast from my rear speakers instead of the center speaker.

jbomma01
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2021 8:21 am

Re: Detroit ATSC 3.0

Post by jbomma01 »

Hello,

How far away are you from the Towers that are using the new ATSC 3.0 signal? I live in Jackson MI, and have the older hdhomerun tuner ATSC 1.0 and able to access the channels 2.1, 4.1, 7.1, 20.1, 50.1 and 62.1. Looking at getting the HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K HDHR5-4K. Is the signal strength stronger with ATSC 3.0 then 1.0? Currently have outside antenna that is 37 feet of the ground.

Thank you advance.

Joe

cincylion
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2015 7:29 pm
x 2

Re: Detroit ATSC 3.0

Post by cincylion »

jbomma01 wrote: Sat Jan 02, 2021 8:31 am Hello,

How far away are you from the Towers that are using the new ATSC 3.0 signal? I live in Jackson MI, and have the older hdhomerun tuner ATSC 1.0 and able to access the channels 2.1, 4.1, 7.1, 20.1, 50.1 and 62.1. Looking at getting the HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K HDHR5-4K. Is the signal strength stronger with ATSC 3.0 then 1.0? Currently have outside antenna that is 37 feet of the ground.

Thank you advance.

Joe
Were you able to get WMYD, channel 20.1, prior to December? The ATSC 3.0 simulcasts of 2.1, 4.1, 7.1, 20.1, and 62.1 are being broadcast using WMYD's transmitter and tower. It's at the same location as WXYZ's tower.

jbomma01
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2021 8:21 am

Re: Detroit ATSC 3.0

Post by jbomma01 »

Yes I am able to WMYD, channel 20.1, prior to December and currently

cincylion
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2015 7:29 pm
x 2

Re: Detroit ATSC 3.0

Post by cincylion »

jbomma01 wrote: Sat Jan 02, 2021 10:54 am Yes I am able to WMYD, channel 20.1, prior to December and currently
Channel 20.1 is currently being broadcast in ATSC 1.0 using WXYZ's transmitter. If you get a good signal on WXYZ you should be able to get the ATSC 3.0 channels because WMYDs tower is at the same location.. Just be aware that to get audio on the ATSC 3.0 channels you need a device that can decode AC4 audio. There are a few posts in this site that discuss that.

jbomma01
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2021 8:21 am

Re: Detroit ATSC 3.0

Post by jbomma01 »

Ok thank you

A-TV-viewer
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2017 6:20 pm
x 2

Re: Detroit ATSC 3.0

Post by A-TV-viewer »

jbomma01 wrote: Sat Jan 02, 2021 8:31 am Hello,

How far away are you from the Towers that are using the new ATSC 3.0 signal? I live in Jackson MI, and have the older hdhomerun tuner ATSC 1.0 and able to access the channels 2.1, 4.1, 7.1, 20.1, 50.1 and 62.1. Looking at getting the HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K HDHR5-4K. Is the signal strength stronger with ATSC 3.0 then 1.0? Currently have outside antenna that is 37 feet of the ground.

Thank you advance.

Joe
I’m within 35 miles of the main towers but I can receive some Toledo channels 50 miles away with a small antenna in the roof. ATSC 3.0 2.1, 4.1, 7.1, 20.1, 62.1

jbomma01
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2021 8:21 am

Re: Detroit ATSC 3.0

Post by jbomma01 »

Great thank you

Locked