ATSC 3.0: Phoenix - 2020

ATSC 3.0 Forum
Bluehawk
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 1:37 pm
Device ID: 1031AB0B 103436F7 1054A790 1054B12E 1072B2F3 1317A118 1323884C 1080C753
x 1

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix

Post by Bluehawk »

Was going to send Channel support a test, but now channel 8.1 using the "Channels App" just gives me a "Weak Signal" triangle. I for some reason still can't view 33.1 and 35.1 using the HDHomerun app just get a few seconds of video and a little audio. Using Channels App they are fine. From what you two guys that know what's going on I probably need to rescan and try again.

Bluehawk
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 1:37 pm
Device ID: 1031AB0B 103436F7 1054A790 1054B12E 1072B2F3 1317A118 1323884C 1080C753
x 1

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix

Post by Bluehawk »

Yep rescan fixed it.

Bluehawk
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 1:37 pm
Device ID: 1031AB0B 103436F7 1054A790 1054B12E 1072B2F3 1317A118 1323884C 1080C753
x 1

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix

Post by Bluehawk »

tmm1 wrote: Tue Dec 22, 2020 1:57 pm Can you send a sample from the slowmo station to support@getchannels.com
No need, evidently according to BobChase and SignCarver some station changes were made, and after rescan it works as expected. I do think it is wonderful that you would be that quick to look for a possible problem.

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16444
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 129

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix

Post by nickk »

Phoenix channels 10.1 and 45.1 are not broadcasting correctly right now. Getting FDT information but no SLS information.

Nick

bobchase
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2020 12:25 pm
Device ID: 10810736
x 2

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix

Post by bobchase »

nickk wrote: Thu Dec 24, 2020 10:23 am Phoenix channels 10.1 and 45.1 are not broadcasting correctly right now. Getting FDT information but no SLS information.

Nick
I'll let them know that they are not getting Fox again.

bgrubb1
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 12:32 am
x 1

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix

Post by bgrubb1 »

So with the new firmware update only 108.1 115.1 161.1 and 5001(41.2) are playing for me. The other 100's say unable to play anyone else ??
...Barry

bgrubb1
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 12:32 am
x 1

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix

Post by bgrubb1 »

oh and 133 and 135 play but unwatchable

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9452
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 10802091 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36
x 28

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix

Post by signcarver »

After I installed the new firmware I saw "110.1" (since it adds 100 now)... first time in the past 2 weeks I have seen anything off 27 and I previously had on and off problems with 27 some of which "everyone" has and others that seem to only affect me. Since I rebooted to pull in firmware it may have been something on the device that the reboot fixed, something in the new firmware, or something changed in the broadcast or the reception.

I have been chasing issues in my location for physical 27 since I got my unit. Often it reports signal levels at -19dBm. Coincidentally (?) this also happens whenever my neighbors return from California as I always have the issue when they park their car out on the street when they return (car gets parked on opposite side of house and antenna is 2 stories up but seeing the car lets me know they are here)... once they leave things seem to be better again and this pattern has happened 3 times but I cant think of anything they have that would cause such so believe it is a coincidence. Today the scan picked up "everything" and 27 is reporting in at -31dBm. It behaves almost like the signal itself is doubling in power but quality is 0 but shifts up and down in regular increments of 10dB (almost as if it is the UK issue needing a high pass filter/braid breaker ). I could usually remove all amps and get it back but then I don't see 35 at all and with issue of 10.1 and 45.1 on 27 35 was "more" important.

Though it makes sense, I am a bit surprised that the adding of 100 is also seen in config_gui as I would have thought that to be real data.

bobchase
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2020 12:25 pm
Device ID: 10810736
x 2

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix

Post by bobchase »

Channel 35 has two ongoing issues.
The first issue is the encoders used for 33.1 & 35.1 are time stamping the packets late, causing the Silicon Dust to have problems with them.
The second problem is that the encoders used for 5.1, 8.4, & 12.1 licenses have expired.
Both manufactures have been informed of their issues.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9452
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 10802091 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36
x 28

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix

Post by signcarver »

I have no issues with 33.1 or 35.1 with VLC (of course no audio... but beautiful picture)

Don't be surprised if people start referring to them here with 100 added to the channel number which I don't know if it makes your work harder or easier but your work is appreciated. .

wriede
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2020 2:17 pm
Device ID: 1080A4A8
Location: Phoenix
x 3

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix

Post by wriede »

With today's firmware I see 110.1, 115.1, 145.1 and 161.1 (all on UHF 27). I get nothing on 110.1 and 145.1 other than "Cannot play channel: No Video Data".

115.1 and 161.1 play smoothly - none of the hiccups I had before the last app update - but now that I can compare the ATSC1 and ATSC3 playback I can confirm what some others have reported that on my Shield Pro / Atmos receiver combo sound comes out of the left surround speaker that doesn't belong there.

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16444
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 129

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix

Post by nickk »

Phoenix broadcasts are a mess right now. 2 channels work, 2 channels have timing issues in the broadcast, and the remaining channels are missing S_TSID information needed to work.

Nick

Locked