ATSC 3.0: Phoenix - 2020

ATSC 3.0 Forum
Bluehawk
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 1:37 pm
Device ID: 1031AB0B 103436F7 1054A790 1054B12E 1072B2F3 1317A118 1323884C 1080C753
x 1

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix

Post by Bluehawk »

This morning I could only view. 15.1, 35.1, 35.11 and 61.1

Bluehawk
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 1:37 pm
Device ID: 1031AB0B 103436F7 1054A790 1054B12E 1072B2F3 1317A118 1323884C 1080C753
x 1

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix

Post by Bluehawk »

Today I could view the following stations 5.1, 8.4, 12.1, 15.1, 33.1, 35.1, 35.16, 61.1 Using Channel app and using myhdomerun app to check it was using 4K channel 0.

The HDHomeRun app now stalls when watching 33.1 or 35.1, when they were running channel 35.1, and 35.11 earlier this week, it worked fine on both of those stations. Is this a station problem, or an app problem?
Last edited by Bluehawk on Fri Dec 18, 2020 9:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

bobchase
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2020 12:25 pm
Device ID: 10810736
x 2

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix

Post by bobchase »

Bluehawk wrote: Thu Dec 17, 2020 2:38 pm Today I could view the following stations 5.1, 8.4, 12.1, 15.1, 33.1, 35.1, 61.1 Using Channel app and using myhdomerun app to check it was using 4K channel 0.

The HDHomeRun app now stalls when watching 33.1 or 35.1, when they were running channel 35.1, and 35.11 earlier this week, it worked fine on both of those stations. Is this a station problem, or an app problem?
Just put away some testing and different encoders are up now than the ones that were used earlier this week. Additionally, the encoders for 5.1, 8.4 and 12.1 are now different than the ones used for 33.1, 35.1, 35.15, & 35.16. The TV's and test equipment I have at home are OK with all of the streams. HD Homerun appears to dislike the encoders that are up on 33.1, 35.1, & 35.16.

Bluehawk
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 1:37 pm
Device ID: 1031AB0B 103436F7 1054A790 1054B12E 1072B2F3 1317A118 1323884C 1080C753
x 1

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix

Post by Bluehawk »

bobchase wrote: Thu Dec 17, 2020 3:53 pm
Bluehawk wrote: Thu Dec 17, 2020 2:38 pm Today I could view the following stations 5.1, 8.4, 12.1, 15.1, 33.1, 35.1, 61.1 Using Channel app and using myhdomerun app to check it was using 4K channel 0.

The HDHomeRun app now stalls when watching 33.1 or 35.1, when they were running channel 35.1, and 35.11 earlier this week, it worked fine on both of those stations. Is this a station problem, or an app problem?
Just put away some testing and different encoders are up now than the ones that were used earlier this week. Additionally, the encoders for 5.1, 8.4 and 12.1 are now different than the ones used for 33.1, 35.1, 35.15, & 35.16. The TV's and test equipment I have at home are OK with all of the streams. HD Homerun appears to dislike the encoders that are up on 33.1, 35.1, & 35.16.
Thanks for response..

Bluehawk
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 1:37 pm
Device ID: 1031AB0B 103436F7 1054A790 1054B12E 1072B2F3 1317A118 1323884C 1080C753
x 1

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix

Post by Bluehawk »

Today I could view the following stations 5.1, 8.4, 12.1, 15.1, 33.1, 35.1, 61.1

leonardobg
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2020 1:36 pm
x 2

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix

Post by leonardobg »

All these channels working perfectly for me today: 5.1, 8.4, 12.1, 15.1, 33.1, 35.1, 61.1
Picture quality seem to have noticeably improved with the new encoders.

Hardware/software: LG UN7300 and both the HDHR app and the embedded DLNA media player work with video and audio

Bluehawk
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 1:37 pm
Device ID: 1031AB0B 103436F7 1054A790 1054B12E 1072B2F3 1317A118 1323884C 1080C753
x 1

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix

Post by Bluehawk »

33.1 and 35.1 not working running HDHomeRun App on windows 10. Does about 2 sec or less then stalls out.

bobchase
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2020 12:25 pm
Device ID: 10810736
x 2

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix

Post by bobchase »

Bluehawk wrote: Mon Dec 21, 2020 2:25 pm 33.1 and 35.1 not working running HDHomeRun App on windows 10. Does about 2 sec or less then stalls out.
I concur with your findings. Just so you know:
33.1, 35.1, 35.15, & 35.16 are on Brand-X encoder chassis.
5.1, 8.4, & 12.1 are on Brand-Y encoder chassis.

Some of my dongle players have trouble with Brand-X. None of my TV's have a problem. My IRD doesn't have a problem. One piece of test equipment says it's happy, the other has trouble with 35.1 but not with the other three streams. Additionally, 35.1 & 33.1 have 1 Mbs of NRT data associated with them. Some non-TV's just ignore the data while others go on their knees. As HD Home Run has issues with 35.15 & 35.16, I'd think that this is not part of the problem here. It's more like that there is some issue with the MPD (or some other table) from the Brand-X encoders that HD Home Run just can't deal with. Unfortunately Brand-X is pretty much shut down until the new year.

Bluehawk
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 1:37 pm
Device ID: 1031AB0B 103436F7 1054A790 1054B12E 1072B2F3 1317A118 1323884C 1080C753
x 1

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix

Post by Bluehawk »

Thank you BobChase. It is great to have someone giving us feedback that really knows what is going on.

Just rescanned and checked with Channels App, verifying with My.hdhomerun tuner status. I now can view 5.1, 8.1(in slow motion), 8.4, 12.1, 15.1, 33.1, 35.1, 35.16 and 61.1.

Still having trouble with 33.1, 35.1 and 35.16 using HDHomeRun app. Thank you BobChase for explaining why.

bobchase
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2020 12:25 pm
Device ID: 10810736
x 2

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix

Post by bobchase »

@bluehawk
Strange that 5.1 shows up in slowmo while 12.1 doesn't. They are the same encoders with *exactly* the same settings on the same chassis. Now, 8.1 is up on a Brand-Z encoder. If that was the only one in slomo, I'd be surprised because of the brand (the most stable of the bunch) but I could understand that some nuance could cause it, slomo, to appear to happen.

Bluehawk
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 1:37 pm
Device ID: 1031AB0B 103436F7 1054A790 1054B12E 1072B2F3 1317A118 1323884C 1080C753
x 1

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix

Post by Bluehawk »

bobchase wrote: Tue Dec 22, 2020 9:40 am @bluehawk
Strange that 5.1 shows up in slowmo while 12.1 doesn't. They are the same encoders with *exactly* the same settings on the same chassis. Now, 8.1 is up on a Brand-Z encoder. If that was the only one in slomo, I'd be surprised because of the brand (the most stable of the bunch) but I could understand that some nuance could cause it, slomo, to appear to happen.
Sorry for the confusion, I just meant that 8.1 shows up in slow motion.

tmm1
Posts: 274
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2015 12:03 pm
x 3
Contact:

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix

Post by tmm1 »

Can you send a sample from the slowmo station to support@getchannels.com

Bluehawk
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 1:37 pm
Device ID: 1031AB0B 103436F7 1054A790 1054B12E 1072B2F3 1317A118 1323884C 1080C753
x 1

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix

Post by Bluehawk »

I now can view 5.1, (8.1in slow motion), 8.4, 12.1, 15.1, 33.1, 35.1 and 61.1.

bobchase
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2020 12:25 pm
Device ID: 10810736
x 2

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix

Post by bobchase »

Bluehawk wrote: Wed Dec 23, 2020 2:14 pm I now can view 5.1, (8.1in slow motion), 8.4, 12.1, 15.1, 33.1, 35.1 and 61.1.
I don't have the slo-mo effect that you have. However, just for giggles, try 8.1 again. That stream is now on a different encoder.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9452
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 10802091 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36
x 28

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix

Post by signcarver »

I never had "real" issues with 8.1 (that I don't attribute to app in general) and certainly no slo-mo (right now it and 35 are only assigned to ATSC 3 to make things easier to test)... though in VLC I could see frequent stutters and it was almost cumulative in the HDHomeRun app as every few minutes it would pause for what seemed like the cumulative duration of those stutters (probably coincidence)... too many of those big pauses would make the app crash (both windows and android) if I start a stream for 30 seconds then hit back a couple of times I never seem to run into that crashing.

I'll look at it again.

Edit: no stutters on 8.1 with change in vlc... running scan as id changed from 52 to 80 (I think) so was getting no video data with apps. I also want to mention some of my issues may be reception as I had to cool the signal a lot for 27 (27 was coming in at -19dBm where everything else was -35 and below but the change puts 35 at about -67dBm... but today I am having issues with 27 again.

Scan complete no issues on 8.1 (beautiful picture)

Locked