Unable to get Video or Audio ATSC 3.0 Phoenix

ATSC 3.0 Forum
jasonl
Expert
Posts: 15445
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm
x 31

Re: Unable to get Video or Audio ATSC 3.0 Phoenix

Post by jasonl »

brix222 wrote: Tue Oct 20, 2020 10:34 pm Are you sure on 5.1, 8.4, 12.1, 33.1 & 35.1? I get them as ATSC 2 with sound. I haven’t see that they were participating in the test.
Those are on the original station to convert, KFPH-CD, which is a low-power broadcast. People who live in BFE (Queen Creek, Buckeye, etc.) and/or who live in Faraday cages (i.e. houses with stucco walls) may have trouble receiving this station with indoor antennas, and people behind the shadows of mountains (PV, much of north Phoenix) may not be able to receive it at all even if they can receive the full-power broadcasts.

kyl416
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 12:09 pm
Device ID: 1080DB11
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
x 23
Contact:

Re: Unable to get Video or Audio ATSC 3.0 Phoenix

Post by kyl416 »

brix222 wrote: Tue Oct 20, 2020 10:34 pm Are you sure on 5.1, 8.4, 12.1, 33.1 & 35.1? I get them as ATSC 2 with sound. I haven’t see that they were participating in the test.
They're on KFPH-CD's ATSC 3 signal on RF 35:
https://www.rabbitears.info/market.php? ... 39#station

KFPH-CD is a class A signal, so it doesn't reach as far as KASW's RF 27 signal.

Boxer
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2020 7:07 pm
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
x 3

Re: Unable to get Video or Audio ATSC 3.0 Phoenix

Post by Boxer »

Are you sure on 5.1, 8.4, 12.1, 33.1 & 35.1? I get them as ATSC 2 with sound. I haven’t see that they were participating in the test.
I'm suspecting a bug. They show HEVC HD. Did a channel scan and 15.1 and 61.1 came back as HD only. Did another channel scan and it's back to the list I originally posted. Odd. Am I incorrect that HEVC HD is ATSC 3.0?

brix222
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2020 11:42 am

Re: Unable to get Video or Audio ATSC 3.0 Phoenix

Post by brix222 »

I'm 7 miles from the South Mountain towers using an indoor antenna and get just about 100% on all channels. This is my list of tuned channels and I only see 10.1, 15.1, 45.1 and 61.1 as HEVC/ATSC 3.0.

Image

kyl416
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 12:09 pm
Device ID: 1080DB11
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
x 23
Contact:

Re: Unable to get Video or Audio ATSC 3.0 Phoenix

Post by kyl416 »

KFPH-CD's ATSC 3.0 signal on RF 35 is a highly directional Class A signal so it's much weaker than the other Phoenix locals. Their ATSC 1.0 simulcast is on their sister station's RF 13 signal. You can see their signal propogation map here to figure out where you are in relation to their signal pattern:
https://www.rabbitears.info/contour.php ... te=1&map=Y

Open up the hdhomerun_config_gui tool and tune it to RF 35 and see what your signal levels are on it. On windows you can find it in the "Program Files\Silicondust\HDHomerun" folder.

Boxer
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2020 7:07 pm
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
x 3

Re: Unable to get Video or Audio ATSC 3.0 Phoenix

Post by Boxer »

I'm 25 miles from the towers (near Fountain Hills) and my elevation is high enough that I can see the red-lights on the towers at night. Using an attic antenna.

Image

m_theredhead
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 12:52 pm

Re: Unable to get Video or Audio ATSC 3.0 Phoenix

Post by m_theredhead »

Sadly, I just updated to the last two firmware. I am currently on 20201021b. With these, I now show NO HEVC channels whereas I was getting several before.

FoodLioon
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 9:22 pm

Re: Unable to get Video or Audio ATSC 3.0 Phoenix

Post by FoodLioon »

It looks like they are using 35.1 for both ATSC 1.0 and ATSC 3.0 which is a poor practice.

Silicon Dust needs to stop listing channels by the display channel and go to displaying by RF numbers.

darcilicious
Posts: 182
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2018 3:08 pm
Location: Portland, OR
x 21

Re: Unable to get Video or Audio ATSC 3.0 Phoenix

Post by darcilicious »

FoodLioon wrote: Thu Oct 22, 2020 7:25 am It looks like they are using 35.1 for both ATSC 1.0 and ATSC 3.0 which is a poor practice.
Seems to be standard operating practice, actually.
Silicon Dust needs to stop listing channels by the display channel and go to displaying by RF numbers.
No, they don't.

Now, maybe the could make it an option to display RF number instead (or in addition to) but it's not an option I would use.

FoodLioon
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 9:22 pm

Re: Unable to get Video or Audio ATSC 3.0 Phoenix

Post by FoodLioon »

I'm not sure of the strategy SD employs for 1.0 vs 3.0 if there are identical display channels.
The way it is on a 1.0 tuner is that some channels end up hidden if there are identical virtual channel numbers.
Having the RF number in addition would be a good idea.

m_theredhead
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 12:52 pm

Re: Unable to get Video or Audio ATSC 3.0 Phoenix

Post by m_theredhead »

m_theredhead wrote: Thu Oct 22, 2020 6:47 am Sadly, I just updated to the last two firmware. I am currently on 20201021b. With these, I now show NO HEVC channels whereas I was getting several before.
I just rescanned again this afternoon and I can see the ATSC 3.0 channels again. Not sure what happened this morning.

Boxer
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2020 7:07 pm
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
x 3

Re: Unable to get Video or Audio ATSC 3.0 Phoenix

Post by Boxer »

Using v. 20201022 all ATSC 3.0 channels play correctly and with audio.

kc9pke
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2020 10:42 am

Re: Unable to get Video or Audio ATSC 3.0 Phoenix

Post by kc9pke »

Boxer wrote: Thu Oct 22, 2020 3:51 pm Using v. 20201022 all ATSC 3.0 channels play correctly and with audio.
What device are you using for playback?

Boxer
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2020 7:07 pm
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
x 3

Re: Unable to get Video or Audio ATSC 3.0 Phoenix

Post by Boxer »

kc9pke wrote: Thu Oct 22, 2020 3:57 pm
Boxer wrote: Thu Oct 22, 2020 3:51 pm Using v. 20201022 all ATSC 3.0 channels play correctly and with audio.
What device are you using for playback?
Shield is the hardware. Channels-DVR App is the software.

gjunky
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 9:05 am

Re: Unable to get Video or Audio ATSC 3.0 Phoenix

Post by gjunky »

Installed 2020-10-22 and audio in Scottsdale area seems to work now :) (in HDHomeRun Win10 app)

Setting plex to record something tonight to see how that works

Post Reply