Unable to get Video or Audio ATSC 3.0 Phoenix

ATSC 3.0 Forum
Post Reply
brix222
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2020 11:42 am

Unable to get Video or Audio ATSC 3.0 Phoenix

Post by brix222 »

My tuner finds the ATSC 3.0 channels but I cannot view them or get audio with the HDHomeRun App on mac or Plex. Tuner0 shows modulation lock and 100% strength, quality and symbol quality and a 4.19 Mbps streaming rate. Is there something I'm missing?

brix222
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2020 11:42 am

Re: Unable to get Video or Audio ATSC 3.0 Phoenix

Post by brix222 »

Must be a Mac thing. After experimenting a little more I can see the channels on iPhone and AppleTV (no sound but this is a Phoenix problem apparently). If anyone knows a solution to the Mac problems let me know.

AzJazz
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 10:37 am
x 1

Re: Unable to get Video or Audio ATSC 3.0 Phoenix

Post by AzJazz »

On 17-OCT-2020:

For physical channel 27:
  • 10.1 KSAZ-NG: Stuttering video, no audio
  • 45.1 KUTP-NG: Clean video, no audio
  • 15.1 KNXV-NG: Bupkes.
  • 61.1 KASW-NG: Nada.
For physical channel 35:
  • 35.1 KFPH: Heavily pixelated video, no audio.
AzJazz

brix222
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2020 11:42 am

Re: Unable to get Video or Audio ATSC 3.0 Phoenix

Post by brix222 »

I get good signal on all of those channels but no audio.

Boxer
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2020 7:07 pm

Re: Unable to get Video or Audio ATSC 3.0 Phoenix

Post by Boxer »

Received my unit today. Video is fine but no audio. Can't say I'm surprised. Just wish if the shipping address is the Phoenix area, some kind of heads up that a brand new unit is going to be delivered useless.

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 1476
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm
x 29

Re: Unable to get Video or Audio ATSC 3.0 Phoenix

Post by NedS »

Boxer wrote: Sat Oct 17, 2020 7:12 pm Received my unit today. Video is fine but no audio. Can't say I'm surprised. Just wish if the shipping address is the Phoenix area, some kind of heads up that a brand new unit is going to be delivered useless.
The brand new unit is working as designed. The brand new broadcasters are the ones having issues.

AzJazz
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 10:37 am
x 1

Re: Unable to get Video or Audio ATSC 3.0 Phoenix

Post by AzJazz »

brix222 wrote: Sat Oct 17, 2020 4:28 pm I get good signal on all of those channels but no audio.
I'm seeing 100% on strength, quality, and symbols for KNXV-NG and KASW-NG, but no video. The HDHR Configurator says "(no data)" for these channels. Are you getting usable video?

brix222
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2020 11:42 am

Re: Unable to get Video or Audio ATSC 3.0 Phoenix

Post by brix222 »

I seem to be getting them. 15.1 and 61.1?

Image
Image

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9231
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 10802091 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36
x 12

Re: Unable to get Video or Audio ATSC 3.0 Phoenix

Post by signcarver »

A few hours after AzJazz wrote that, I wasn't getting plp lock on 27 despite 100% across the board and not having issues other than audio (which is expected for both AC-4 in general and possibly the specific phoenix audio issue with some apps) then around 9 or 10 this morning I was seeing lock again. 35 is still a no go for me... will look at doing other things to try and improve its signal (here for 35, I had 0 signal quality with a 600MHz LTE filter (to be expected), 20-25% without filter and now up to 45% depending on time of day with a 700MHz LTE filter but still no plp lock)

demonrik
Posts: 1335
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 10736454, 1073A35A, 1075C377, 108042A1
x 7

Re: Unable to get Video or Audio ATSC 3.0 Phoenix

Post by demonrik »

Not having any issues with Ch27 (down in Chandler)
I get (no data) on 61.1 and 15.1 via config_gui.exe
So if I hit 'View' it fails to tune
But if I go back to VLC and open Network stream to http://device.local:5004/auto/v15.1 it tunes, locks and I get video and back on config_gui.exe the (no data) flips to the other 2 virtual channels

can't seem to get Ch35
-only coming in at 35% and I can't get anything on it..
Tried moving the antenna around a little - but can't seem to get anything stronger.
Must have some local interference maybe

gjunky
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 9:05 am

Re: Unable to get Video or Audio ATSC 3.0 Phoenix

Post by gjunky »

How do you get it to display / overlay the video and audio information?

I still have my old dual tuner hooked up so I am not sure how it picks the tuner when I am selecting a channel (using the HDHomerun Windows app, Xbox and Plex)
No audio, as expected (can't find an AC4 codec anywhere either) and I think my PC has trouble dealing with the 4k video stream. It will play it somewhat but stutters and gets pixelated

leonardobg
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2020 1:36 pm

Re: Unable to get Video or Audio ATSC 3.0 Phoenix

Post by leonardobg »

I'm in the Scottsdale area and here is what I get after the 20201018 firmware upgrade for the following apps/devices:

Channel 27

HDHR App on LG TV (OLED65C7P-U) - video AND audio for all sub-channels (10.1, 15.1, 45.1 and 61.1)
Media App on LG TV (OLED65C7P-U) - video AND audio for all channels

HDHR App on Roku TV - video but no audio for all channels
Plex App on Roku TV - video but no audio for all channels
Media Player on Roku TV - video but no audio for all channels

Plex App on Apple TV 4K - video but no audio for all channels
VLC app on Apple TV 4K - video playing in slow motion but no audio for all channels
HDHR App on Apple TV 4K - no video and no audio

Media Player on Xbox One X - video but no audio for all channels
HDHR App on Xbox One X - video plays for a few secs and then stops. No audio for all channels

Plex App on Mac - video but no audio for all channels
VLC App on Mac - video playing in slow motion but no audio for all channels
HDHR App on Mac - no video and no audio

HDHR App on iOS - no video and no audio


Channel 35

Unable to tune anything since the signal strength is only at 38% and signal quality at 17%.
I bought a new antenna but will have to wait about a week before I can try again.

brix222
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2020 11:42 am

Re: Unable to get Video or Audio ATSC 3.0 Phoenix

Post by brix222 »

gjunky wrote: Sun Oct 18, 2020 6:21 pm How do you get it to display / overlay the video and audio information?
I was using the channels app in iOS. There is an option to display "Show Stats"

Post Reply