ATSC 3.0: Dallas

ATSC 3.0 Forum
nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16086
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 35

Re: Dallas - not tuning ATSC 3.0 channel and other channels

Post by nickk »

Ok, try:
hdhomerun_config 108034CA set /tuner0/channel auto:34:1

rgrasmus
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2020 9:57 am

Re: Dallas - not tuning ATSC 3.0 channel and other channels

Post by rgrasmus »

I think it is also not picking up data based on bps and pps:

Code: Select all

(base) rgrasmus@My-MBP ~ % hdhomerun_config 108034CA get /tuner0/status           
ch=auto:34:1 lock=atsc3 ss=100 snq=88 seq=0 bps=0 pps=0
(base) rgrasmus@My-MBP ~ % hdhomerun_config 108034CA get /tuner0/streaminfo       
none

(base) rgrasmus@My-MBP ~ % hdhomerun_config 108034CA get /tuner0/debug            
tun: ch=auto:34:1 lock=atsc3:593000000 ss=100 snq=87 seq=0 dbg=15-159/4378
dev: bps=0 resync=0 overflow=0
ts:  bps=0 te=0 crc=0
net: pps=0 err=0 stop=0

(base) rgrasmus@My-MBP ~ % hdhomerun_config 108034CA get /tuner0/plpinfo          
0: mod=qpsk cod=11/15 bond=0 layer=core ti=cti lls=0
1: mod=qam256 cod=9/15 bond=0 layer=core ti=cti lls=0 lock=0 errs=0

(base) rgrasmus@My-MBP ~ % hdhomerun_config 108034CA get /tuner0/program          
0

plnota
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2020 6:19 pm
Location: DFW
x 1

Re: Dallas - not tuning ATSC 3.0 channel and other channels

Post by plnota »

Yeah, I'm detecting an ATSC3 signal, but the symbol quality stays flat at 0%. Been this way since their transmitter came back online on Friday (was off Thursday).

rayik
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2020 11:13 am
Location: DFW

Re: Dallas - not tuning ATSC 3.0 channel and other channels

Post by rayik »

nickk wrote: Sat Oct 17, 2020 10:04 am It would be interesting to get a dbg capture of this channel...

1) Upgrade to the latest 20201017 firmware.

2) Use a web browser to save http://1080AD68.local:5004/auto/ch34?fo ... uration=30
Save the file as 20201017-1080AD68-dallas.dbg

3) Upload to a file service and PM me the download link.

Nick
I'm sorry Nick but I get an error when I cut and past that into a browser. Also get an error when using the local ip address and myhdhomkerun. Only browser I have now is Chrome.

wilme2
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 7:23 am

Re: Dallas - not tuning ATSC 3.0 channel and other channels

Post by wilme2 »

plnota wrote: Sat Oct 17, 2020 11:08 pm Yeah, I'm detecting an ATSC3 signal, but the symbol quality stays flat at 0%. Been this way since their transmitter came back online on Friday (was off Thursday).
I have upgraded to the latest 1017 firmware and I see the same thing. I think the signal is there, but no content. And since that is the only ATSC 3 signal I found, I don't have anything else to compare with.

waltzwirko
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2020 11:31 am

Re: Dallas - not tuning ATSC 3.0 channel and other channels

Post by waltzwirko »

Hello!

My new box seems to work fine; receiving 78 channels reliably from Pilot Point, Texas, which is about 55 miles north of the primary TV antenna farm in Cedar Hill, Texas.

I'm using an receiving antenna array of two flat-panel amplified antennas.

I've rescanned many times and updated the firmware I think 3 times now since receiving the HDHomeRun ATSC 3.0 box (I'm on version 20201018 currently).

I've never seen any HVEC content in the channel lineup, nor has it detected Channel 34, which is the source. So I downloaded the HDHomeRun Config GUI and typed in Channel 34:

https://photos.google.com/search/_tra_/ ... IraKjKp6UX

I'm getting signal strength of 92%, signal quality of 100% but 0% Symbol Quality.

Is there something else I can try? Does this indicate an issue with the broadcaster?

Thanks for your help!

Walt Zwirko

wings2603
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2020 3:56 pm

Re: Dallas - not tuning ATSC 3.0 channel and other channels

Post by wings2603 »

I read somewhere that they notified the FCC last week that they were having trouble with their encoder.

wilme2
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 7:23 am

Re: Dallas - not tuning ATSC 3.0 channel and other channels

Post by wilme2 »

After upgrading to the latest firmware today and manually tuning to 34, I see "PLP0 no-lock" in red next to the physical channel "atsc3:34".

Same thing if I check PLP 1...

I guess I don't have rights to upload a picture as an attachment...

jasonl
Expert
Posts: 15341
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm
x 7

Re: Dallas - not tuning ATSC 3.0 channel and other channels

Post by jasonl »

It's a problem on the station's side. KSTR has had pretty much constant problems with their ATSC 3 broadcast for as long as I've been able to receive it, which is over a year now.

rayik
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2020 11:13 am
Location: DFW

Re: Dallas - not tuning ATSC 3.0 channel and other channels

Post by rayik »

Rabbitears.info lists three other Dallas ATSC 3 stations besides FOX. None are picked up. Are they broadcasting?

• 04-1 FOX FOX (KDFW 04-1)
• 23-1 Univision UVN (KUVN-DT 23-1)
• 49-1 UniMás UNM1 (KUVN-DT 49-1)
• 49-2. UNM 2

jasonl
Expert
Posts: 15341
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm
x 7

Re: ATSC 3.0: Dallas

Post by jasonl »

KSTR's signal right now is basically the digital TV equivalent of turning on your car radio and getting complete silence. There's definitely a minimal signal there (otherwise it would be static), but there's nothing of value on it. No music, no text on the screen that says what station you're listening to or what song is playing, none of that. KSTR did previously have all that stuff up and running, but something happened last week and they all disappeared.

waltzwirko
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2020 11:31 am

Re: Dallas - not tuning ATSC 3.0 channel and other channels

Post by waltzwirko »

jasonl wrote: Mon Oct 19, 2020 4:21 pm It's a problem on the station's side. KSTR has had pretty much constant problems with their ATSC 3 broadcast for as long as I've been able to receive it, which is over a year now.
Thank you for sharing this information Jasonl!

Grumbles
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2020 8:40 pm

Re: ATSC 3.0: Dallas

Post by Grumbles »

I live just north of Dallas in Allen. If someone would kindly let me know, on the forum, when ATSC 3.0 broadcasts are available, I would appreciate it. Hopefully, the Garland tower will start to transmit in the near future and I will be able to pick up a signal.

Thanks in advance

darcilicious
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2018 3:08 pm
x 8

Re: ATSC 3.0: Dallas

Post by darcilicious »

Grumbles wrote: Wed Oct 21, 2020 1:18 pm If someone would kindly let me know, on the forum, when ATSC 3.0 broadcasts are available, I would appreciate it.
I'd like to suggest that you bookmark this page https://www.rabbitears.info/market.php?request=atsc3 and check it a few times a month...

jasonl
Expert
Posts: 15341
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm
x 7

Re: ATSC 3.0: Dallas

Post by jasonl »

KSTR's temporary authority to operate a SFN (multiple transmitter sites) expired on July 4. I'm not sure why it's still listed on RabbitEars. AFAIK they're only broadcasting from the main Cedar Hill site. Today they filed a resumption of operations notice indicating their broadcast is back on the air, so I've sent an email to a contact there to see if he has any information on why it's not working right now.

Post Reply