ATSC 3.0: Salt Lake City

ATSC 3.0 Forum
darcilicious
Posts: 182
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2018 3:08 pm
Location: Portland, OR
x 13

Re: ATSC 3.0: Salt Lake City

Post by darcilicious »

I believe this latest firmware was primarily released to address changes in broadcasts in Portland...

timeshifter
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2020 7:20 am
x 3

Re: ATSC 3.0: Salt Lake City

Post by timeshifter »

darcilicious wrote: Fri Oct 30, 2020 2:42 pm I believe this latest firmware was primarily released to address changes in broadcasts in Portland...
That's what I figured. At least it didn't break anything.

dsinema
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 8:21 am

Re: ATSC 3.0: Salt Lake City

Post by dsinema »

After the 20201030 update a channel scan only finds about 31 channels. My 2 other Extends pick up close to 70 channels...☹️

fuzzywuzzy
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 8:55 pm

Re: ATSC 3.0: Salt Lake City

Post by fuzzywuzzy »

I updated to 20201030 firmware and I see the stations 2, 4, 14 and 30 that broadcast in HEVC when I go to my.hdhomerun.com only on the webpage. I get about 50 channels possible. The actual viewing software is confused because it splits the screen horizontally and shows 2 pieces at the same time. The sub channels (2-2, 4-2, 14-2, 30-2, etc) work just fine because they aren't dealing with HEVC.

The DVR software has the same issues. It records but the file is unplayable when done for any channel that is HEVC. I have EyeTV and that works just fine for HD channels and sub channels. It doesn't have a clue about the HEVC

The iPad software at least now displays video and on non-HEVC channels gives sound but it runs badly and locks up. They need to fix it as well.

I have an LG 4K television. I have the HDHomeRon app loaded but it can't deal with the 4K signal from the Quatro.

They have a lot of software to work on before this is really usable.

skriefal
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2020 4:50 pm

Re: ATSC 3.0: Salt Lake City

Post by skriefal »

31 channels? 50? Mine reports 81 channels with an old(ish) Antennas Direct Clearstream 2 antenna. And yes, it's only coincidence that 31 + 50 = 81. :D I haven't tested most of those channels.

skriefal
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2020 4:50 pm

Re: ATSC 3.0: Salt Lake City

Post by skriefal »

I'm now seeing correct aspect ratio on the local ATSC 3.0 channels when viewed through the Roku app on a Roku Ultra. Not sure when this changed. Still no audio but that's expected.

rslfan
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2020 9:46 pm

Re: ATSC 3.0: Salt Lake City

Post by rslfan »

I'm running the 20201030 firmware in St. George, UT, but I'm not getting any ATSC 3.0 channels when I run a channel scan (only HD). What do I need to do to receive ATSC 3.0?

kyl416
Posts: 133
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 12:09 pm
Device ID: 1080DB11
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
x 26
Contact:

Re: ATSC 3.0: Salt Lake City

Post by kyl416 »

St. George is too far away from Salt Lake City's ATSC 3.0 station:
https://www.rabbitears.info/contour.php ... te=1&map=Y

That section of the state is mostly served by translators which are likely not converting to ATSC 3.0 anytime soon.

rslfan
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2020 9:46 pm

Re: ATSC 3.0: Salt Lake City

Post by rslfan »

St. George is too far away from Salt Lake City's ATSC 3.0 station:
https://www.rabbitears.info/contour.php ... te=1&map=Y

That section of the state is mostly served by translators which are likely not converting to ATSC 3.0 anytime soon.
:( Thanks kyl416. I was afraid that was the reason why. So much for being an early adopter! Maybe I could sell my HDHR4K on Ebay?

autodidact
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2020 11:16 am

Re: ATSC 3.0: Salt Lake City

Post by autodidact »

rslfan wrote: Wed Nov 18, 2020 8:37 am
St. George is too far away from Salt Lake City's ATSC 3.0 station:
https://www.rabbitears.info/contour.php ... te=1&map=Y

That section of the state is mostly served by translators which are likely not converting to ATSC 3.0 anytime soon.
:( Thanks kyl416. I was afraid that was the reason why. So much for being an early adopter! Maybe I could sell my HDHR4K on Ebay?
Where I live, in Pahrump NV, the area is served only by translators and a low power station, but one of the towers in town is indeed (intermittently) broadcasting ATSC 3.0 similar to that available one mountain range over in Las Vegas. I know KSNV has a translator in Washington county and they're part of the Sinclair group, which, I believe, is the driving force behind the broadcasts here. When I first got my unit I emailed comments@news3lv.com (with a request to forward the message to engineering at the start) asking about ATSC 3.0 translators and got a favorable response from a Sinclair person cluing me in. You might consider doing the same.

fuzzywuzzy
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 8:55 pm

Re: ATSC 3.0: Salt Lake City

Post by fuzzywuzzy »

All the HEVC channels are dead. I get no video of any kind from 2-1, 4-1, 14-1 and 30-1 in either HEVC or HD. The sub channels for them (2-2, 4-2, 14-2, 30-2, etc.) all work fine. It's annoying. Fortunately I also have 2 HDHomeRun Dual units so I can still get TV but I'm disappointed the 4K unit isn't coming close to delivering any real value yet.

Fuzzywuzzy

fuzzywuzzy
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 8:55 pm

Re: ATSC 3.0: Salt Lake City

Post by fuzzywuzzy »

I am FRUSTRATED WITH THIS D*#@ HDHomeRun 4K!

I have updated the firmware to the latest (as of this posting it is 20201030 and Mac software of the same version.) HDHomeRun software only displays video for HEVC channels. NO AUDIO. STILL.

iPad software will NOT connect to the HEVC channel. I get the error message that all tuners are in use. Sub channels work just fine. Non HEVC channels HD work just fine.

HDHomeRun on my LG 4K TV gets the split image with the bottom in blocks and weird colors for the HEVC channels. NO AUDIO. Sub channels work just fine. Non HEVC that are HD work just fine.

I also run EyeTV 4.0 on my Mac. EyeTV has absolutely NO PROBLEMS talking to the HD tuners. RUNS FLAWLESSLY! WTF! What am I missing about HDHomeRun software? Any suggestions?

Fuzzy

darcilicious
Posts: 182
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2018 3:08 pm
Location: Portland, OR
x 13

Re: ATSC 3.0: Salt Lake City

Post by darcilicious »

fuzzywuzzy wrote: Sat Dec 19, 2020 9:56 am I am FRUSTRATED WITH THIS D*#@ HDHomeRun 4K!

I have updated the firmware to the latest (as of this posting it is 20201030 and Mac software of the same version.) HDHomeRun software only displays video for HEVC channels. NO AUDIO. STILL.

iPad software will NOT connect to the HEVC channel. I get the error message that all tuners are in use. Sub channels work just fine. Non HEVC channels HD work just fine.

HDHomeRun on my LG 4K TV gets the split image with the bottom in blocks and weird colors for the HEVC channels. NO AUDIO. Sub channels work just fine. Non HEVC that are HD work just fine.

Fuzzy
Can you supply more information about the hardware you're using?

Audio (AC4) is not supported on all Macs. What Mac do you have (including model year) and what version of HDHomeRun do you have installed? EDITED to add: the latest Mac version is 20201216b (UI) (beta) -- it doesn't sound like that's what you have installed based on what you posted above.

Which model iPad do you have?

What year is your LG TV?

kohaiut
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2020 3:08 pm
x 3

Re: ATSC 3.0: Salt Lake City

Post by kohaiut »

KJZZ 14.1 question

I'm brand new to hdhomerun and atsc 3.0. Of the 4 stations in SLC, it is 14.1 KJZZ that I'm having trouble with. I get dropped audio, pixelation, etc. Below, it shows a high signal strength but a really low streaming rate. If I refresh, that streaming rate tends to be in the 2.x Mbps range but occasionally drops really low like this example. What does this mean and is there anything I can do to fix it?

Virtual Channel 14.1 KJZZ
Frequency 503.000 MHz
Program Number 5001
Modulation Lock atsc3
Signal Strength 100%
Signal Quality 100%
Symbol Quality 100%
Streaming Rate 0.211 Mbps
Resource Lock 192.168.1.233

Running the Windows 10 client. Running the 20210104 firmware.

As I think about this.... my roof antenna is running through a powered splitter. That could be causing the signal strength/quality to always show 100%. What do you all think?

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 1885
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm
x 63

Re: ATSC 3.0: Salt Lake City

Post by NedS »

kohaiut wrote: Mon Jan 04, 2021 12:38 pm As I think about this.... my roof antenna is running through a powered splitter. That could be causing the signal strength/quality to always show 100%. What do you all think?
The amplifier is most likely overloading the HDHomeRun and needs to be bypassed with something passive. If it's enough to overload the HDHomeRun, then a powered splitter probably isn't needed given how strong the original signal is.

Post Reply