ATSC 3.0: Las Vegas

ATSC 3.0 Forum
smokey7722
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2020 3:47 pm
Device ID: 10731A79 1080570D
Location: Las Vegas
x 1

Re: Las Vegas less channels found compared to HDHR5-4US

Post by smokey7722 »

ebo wrote: Sun Oct 18, 2020 10:05 am I'm sure SD will fix the link soon. Meanwhile, Airey001 solved it in another thread.
A power cycle of unit found the new firmware so all good on that front.

astonreyes
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2020 8:45 am
x 2

Re: Las Vegas less channels found compared to HDHR5-4US

Post by astonreyes »

Hello,

I'm in Vegas as well and have the latest firmware. I now finally have 1 HVEC channel showing (33.1 KVCW) but the other 3 that are active in Vegas are not showing in the channel tuner.

When looking at Config GUI I noticed that when the PLPs are unchecked, only 33.1 KVCW is showing, but the others are showing "no data"

Image

However, when both PLPs are checked, they show and work properly for the other channels.

Image

Is there a setting somewhere on when detecting channels to enable these two PLPs to get the other channels to show in the channel lineup?

smokey7722
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2020 3:47 pm
Device ID: 10731A79 1080570D
Location: Las Vegas
x 1

Re: Las Vegas less channels found compared to HDHR5-4US

Post by smokey7722 »

astonreyes wrote: Mon Oct 19, 2020 9:05 am Hello,

I'm in Vegas as well and have the latest firmware. I now finally have 1 HVEC channel showing (33.1 KVCW) but the other 3 that are active in Vegas are not showing in the channel tuner.

When looking at Config GUI I noticed that when the PLPs are unchecked, only 33.1 KVCW is showing, but the others are showing "no data"

Image

However, when both PLPs are checked, they show and work properly for the other channels.

Image

Is there a setting somewhere on when detecting channels to enable these two PLPs to get the other channels to show in the channel lineup?
While troubleshooting via IRC on Saturday they found the same thing so they should be aware of that issue. While I can enable the PLP's, one of the channels doesn't tune for me still. The channels are broadcast funny in that one is coming in at HEVC 720p in ATSC3 while its also broadcast in 1080i in ATSC1 so they are working on that as its coming up as ATSC1 for me when scanning due to the "higher" resolution.

I just checked a moment ago and 33.1 KVCW is also now showing both HEVC and HD for me as well which is new (20201018 firmware still) compared to when I upgraded and scanned yesterday.

smokey7722
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2020 3:47 pm
Device ID: 10731A79 1080570D
Location: Las Vegas
x 1

Re: Las Vegas less channels found compared to HDHR5-4US

Post by smokey7722 »

Just ran a channel scan for the hell of it again and 33.1 now shows up as HD only again. Enabled both PLP's and still HD only at the moment as well.

astonreyes
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2020 8:45 am
x 2

Re: Las Vegas less channels found compared to HDHR5-4US

Post by astonreyes »

Yeah, I'm experiencing the same overall. The 720p broadcasts, one of the channels for me also had an odd 1920x540 broadcast but the image was supposed to be in 16:9, etc.

Seems like the tech is so new all around, so things like broadcasters settling on the new standard is going to be a thing to situate for a while.

For now, I am strangely getting more channels than my previous 2 tuner HDHR, so that's good :)

smokey7722
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2020 3:47 pm
Device ID: 10731A79 1080570D
Location: Las Vegas
x 1

Re: Las Vegas less channels found compared to HDHR5-4US

Post by smokey7722 »

astonreyes wrote: Mon Oct 19, 2020 11:05 am Yeah, I'm experiencing the same overall. The 720p broadcasts, one of the channels for me also had an odd 1920x540 broadcast but the image was supposed to be in 16:9, etc.

Seems like the tech is so new all around, so things like broadcasters settling on the new standard is going to be a thing to situate for a while.

For now, I am strangely getting more channels than my previous 2 tuner HDHR, so that's good :)
I'm opposite. After the recent firmware updates and rescanning I am at 89 channels now on the 4K while I had 103 with 4US but its getting better over time and I am sure they will figure it all out. Seems every city has some weird implementation of ATSC3 so the SD guys have to tweak things to work around the inconsistencies.. And yea that 1920x540 they have a sample capture from Saturday that they found that.

1CallTech
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2020 3:12 pm
x 1

Re: Las Vegas less channels found compared to HDHR5-4US

Post by 1CallTech »

I'm in the Summerlin North neighborhood of Las Vegas and just received my HDHR5-4K today (Device ID: 10807688, Firmware: 20201018). I went ahead and turned on diagnostics and ran a channel scan for the heck of it since I'm seeing the same issues as everyone else. I can't get the channel scan to see any of the ATSC 3.0 channels, but can see 5000-5004 in the Config GUI. I'm even able to tune 5003: 33.1 KVCW (signal strength 83%) and watch it with VLC on my PC.

I also get a couple more channels (87 channels) with my old HDHomeRun CONNECT QUATRO (Device ID: 1072621A, Firmware:20200907) compared to the new HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K (85 channels found).

I can't get the PLPs to show up in the Config GUI like the astonreyes screen shots. I'm not sure it matters at this point, but thought I would mention it.

I'm looking forward to a fix!

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9259
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 10802091 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36
x 15

Re: Las Vegas less channels found compared to HDHR5-4US

Post by signcarver »

1CallTech wrote: Wed Oct 21, 2020 3:29 pm I can't get the PLPs to show up in the Config GUI like the astonreyes screen shots. I'm not sure it matters at this point, but thought I would mention it.
Make sure you are running the latest windows full software package.

1CallTech
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2020 3:12 pm
x 1

Re: Las Vegas less channels found compared to HDHR5-4US

Post by 1CallTech »

Thank you for the reply signcarver. I can only find one download option for the Config Tool (hdhomerun_tech_windows_20200225.exe). If you know the location of the full version and can share it, I would appreciate it.

There is some good news today! It found the new firmware version 20201021b this morning. After install, I did a channel scan and it is now finding 90 channels (only 85 were showing yesterday) that include 3 HEVC (3.1, 8.1 and 13.1). I expected 33.1 to show up with HEVC next to it, but it still shows HD. The issue I'm now having is trying to view those 3 new HEVC channels. The video jumps, skips and stops. I also get no sound. I'm trying to verify this is not a network issue on my end. The other channels that are just HD work fine.

It is nice to see that they are still making changes and that progress has been made.
Last edited by 1CallTech on Thu Oct 22, 2020 7:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

smokey7722
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2020 3:47 pm
Device ID: 10731A79 1080570D
Location: Las Vegas
x 1

Re: Las Vegas less channels found compared to HDHR5-4US

Post by smokey7722 »

1CallTech wrote: Thu Oct 22, 2020 7:20 am Thank you for the reply signcarver. I can only find one download option for the Config Tool (hdhomerun_tech_windows_20200225.exe). If you know the location of the full version and can share it, I would appreciate it.

There is some good news today! It found the new firmware version 20201021b this morning. After install, I did a channel scan and it is now finding 90 channels (only 85 were showing yesterday) that including 3 HEVC (3.1, 8.1 and 13.1). I expected 33.1 to show up with HEVC next to it, but it still shows HD. The issue I'm now having is trying to view those 3 new HEVC channels. The video jumps, skips and stops. I also get no sound. I'm trying to verify this is not a network issue on my end. The other channels that are just HD work fine.

It is nice to see that they are still making changes and that progress has been made.
I just upgraded mine and tested and see 3.1, 8.1 and 13.1 as both HEVC and HD which 33.1 is HD only, just like you see. I came up with 96 channels out of 103 on my old 4US on this scan. Also remember the new HEVC channels use AC-4 audio which is not supported by a lot of clients yet. What client are you testing with?

1CallTech
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2020 3:12 pm
x 1

Re: Las Vegas less channels found compared to HDHR5-4US

Post by 1CallTech »

smokey7722 wrote: Thu Oct 22, 2020 7:29 am
1CallTech wrote: Thu Oct 22, 2020 7:20 am Thank you for the reply signcarver. I can only find one download option for the Config Tool (hdhomerun_tech_windows_20200225.exe). If you know the location of the full version and can share it, I would appreciate it.

There is some good news today! It found the new firmware version 20201021b this morning. After install, I did a channel scan and it is now finding 90 channels (only 85 were showing yesterday) that including 3 HEVC (3.1, 8.1 and 13.1). I expected 33.1 to show up with HEVC next to it, but it still shows HD. The issue I'm now having is trying to view those 3 new HEVC channels. The video jumps, skips and stops. I also get no sound. I'm trying to verify this is not a network issue on my end. The other channels that are just HD work fine.

It is nice to see that they are still making changes and that progress has been made.
I just upgraded mine and tested and see 3.1, 8.1 and 13.1 as both HEVC and HD which 33.1 is HD only, just like you see. I came up with 96 channels out of 103 on my old 4US on this scan. Also remember the new HEVC channels use AC-4 audio which is not supported by a lot of clients yet. What client are you testing with?
So far, I'm just using Windows 10 and running the HDHomeRun client downloaded from the Windows Store. Do we have a list of clients\devices that do support AC-4 audio yet?

1CallTech
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2020 3:12 pm
x 1

Re: Las Vegas less channels found compared to HDHR5-4US

Post by 1CallTech »

1CallTech wrote: Thu Oct 22, 2020 7:38 am
smokey7722 wrote: Thu Oct 22, 2020 7:29 am
1CallTech wrote: Thu Oct 22, 2020 7:20 am Thank you for the reply signcarver. I can only find one download option for the Config Tool (hdhomerun_tech_windows_20200225.exe). If you know the location of the full version and can share it, I would appreciate it.

There is some good news today! It found the new firmware version 20201021b this morning. After install, I did a channel scan and it is now finding 90 channels (only 85 were showing yesterday) that including 3 HEVC (3.1, 8.1 and 13.1). I expected 33.1 to show up with HEVC next to it, but it still shows HD. The issue I'm now having is trying to view those 3 new HEVC channels. The video jumps, skips and stops. I also get no sound. I'm trying to verify this is not a network issue on my end. The other channels that are just HD work fine.

It is nice to see that they are still making changes and that progress has been made.
I just upgraded mine and tested and see 3.1, 8.1 and 13.1 as both HEVC and HD which 33.1 is HD only, just like you see. I came up with 96 channels out of 103 on my old 4US on this scan. Also remember the new HEVC channels use AC-4 audio which is not supported by a lot of clients yet. What client are you testing with?
So far, I'm just using Windows 10 and running the HDHomeRun client downloaded from the Windows Store. Do we have a list of clients\devices that do support AC-4 audio yet?
I read that LG 4K TV's 2019 or newer running the HDHomeRun app should work with sound. I have the following 2019 and newer LG 4K TV's and they all display a picture but no sound when using the HDHomeRun app and the "Picture & Video" app pre-installed on the TV from LG.

UN6950ZUF (WebOS Version: 03.10.53)
UM6910PUA (WebOS Version: 04.80.30)
UM6910PUC (WebOS Version: 04.80.30)

It would be nice to see someone start a list of clients\devices\versions of things that do work. I'll put that on my Christmas list for Santa this year! ;)

astonreyes
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2020 8:45 am
x 2

Re: Las Vegas less channels found compared to HDHR5-4US

Post by astonreyes »

I'm experiencing the same as you guys.

But all in all, seems like there's progress :)

I'll play with my LG webOS tv that I also have and see if I'm able to get it to play the HVEC channels properly.

EDIT: so I just tested on my LG OLED65E9PUA and all 4 channels came with sound :) On top of that, 3.1 NBC showed up with the little HDR Notification, so it looks like that's up and running.

Only thing is, every other device/software I have has playback issues (stuttering and no audio). I tried my OnePlus 7 Pro which should have AC-4 Support since it has Dolby Atmos, my iPhone SE 2, the latest HDHR Windows 10 App, Channels DVR on multiple devices and configurations, etc.

So progress is much appreciated, but definitely hoping more Firmware updates result in getting a consistent experience across the board.

1CallTech
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2020 3:12 pm
x 1

Re: Las Vegas less channels found compared to HDHR5-4US

Post by 1CallTech »

astonreyes wrote: Thu Oct 22, 2020 3:01 pm I'm experiencing the same as you guys.

But all in all, seems like there's progress :)

I'll play with my LG webOS tv that I also have and see if I'm able to get it to play the HVEC channels properly.

EDIT: so I just tested on my LG OLED65E9PUA and all 4 channels came with sound :) On top of that, 3.1 NBC showed up with the little HDR Notification, so it looks like that's up and running.

Only thing is, every other device/software I have has playback issues (stuttering and no audio). I tried my OnePlus 7 Pro which should have AC-4 Support since it has Dolby Atmos, my iPhone SE 2, the latest HDHR Windows 10 App, Channels DVR on multiple devices and configurations, etc.

So progress is much appreciated, but definitely hoping more Firmware updates result in getting a consistent experience across the board.
After seeing your post that things work on your LG TV, I decided to give it another try. It installed the new firmware 20201022 this morning and I now have everything working on the following LG 4K TV's:

UN6950ZUF (WebOS Version: 03.10.53)
UM6910PUA (WebOS Version: 04.80.30)
UM6910PUC (WebOS Version: 04.80.30)

I get a stable picture and sound using both the HDHomeRun app and the "Picture & Video" app that was pre-installed on the TV from LG.

Now that this works, I have a new wish.

I wish there was a way for the HDHR5-4K to detect devices that can't utilize the ATSC 3.0 broadcast and put them on Tuner 2 or Tuner 3 with the old ATSC 1.0 broadcast for the 3.1, 8.1 and 13.1 channels. Currently, my work around is to turn off the HDHR5-4K and turn back on my old HDHomeRun CONNECT QUATRO. I have them both connected to WeMo outlets, so that makes this work around a little easier.

astonreyes
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2020 8:45 am
x 2

Re: Las Vegas less channels found compared to HDHR5-4US

Post by astonreyes »

Agreed,

I hope SiliconDust figures out a way to have a seamless fallback option for the Connect 4k.

Besides, it's not like the broadcasts right now are all that significant. From what I gather, only NBC is furthest along with Dolby AC-4 5.1 (confirmed as well on my end with the option to fallback to stereo) and HDR. But even NBC's broadcast is 1080p at the moment and not 4k.

The other 3 are either 1080p as well or even 720p in the case of ABC, and broadcasting stereo Dolby instead of 5.1.

But hey, such is the life of us early adopters.

Post Reply