Las Vegas less channels found compared to HDHR5-4US

ATSC 3.0 Forum
smokey7722
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2020 3:47 pm
Device ID: 10731A79 1080570D
Location: Las Vegas

Las Vegas less channels found compared to HDHR5-4US

Post by smokey7722 »

So I swapped in the new 4K kickstarter unit and ran a scan and it is missing the following channels found on the HDHR5-4US that it replaced.

3.1 NBC3
3.2 Estrell
3.3 Charge!
3.4 Stadium
33.2 My_LVTV

From what I can tell 3 and 33 are (NBC and CW) are both channels that were made available in ATSC 3.0 broadcasts here in Vegas. I did not see any new or modified channels compared to the old list as I took notice in case these missing channels were remapped to new channel numbers. All channels detected were displayed with no icon or the HD icon and I saw none with HEVC or anything else. Oddly 33.1, 33.3, 33.4 and 33.5 are all detected.

Any ideas on what I could try?
Last edited by smokey7722 on Thu Oct 15, 2020 5:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16086
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 35

Re: Las Vegas less channels found compared to HDHR5-4US

Post by nickk »

Hi,

Please turn on "send diagnostic information" on the Advanced tab in HDHomeRun Setup and then run a new channels scan.
When complete post back with your Device ID - I will take a look at the logs.

Nick

smokey7722
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2020 3:47 pm
Device ID: 10731A79 1080570D
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Las Vegas less channels found compared to HDHR5-4US

Post by smokey7722 »

Sure, let me get it plugged in again. I didn't want to put a splitter in place so I am swapping it with the old unit each time. I should have it in a few.

smokey7722
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2020 3:47 pm
Device ID: 10731A79 1080570D
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Las Vegas less channels found compared to HDHR5-4US

Post by smokey7722 »

nickk wrote: Thu Oct 15, 2020 5:48 pm Hi,

Please turn on "send diagnostic information" on the Advanced tab in HDHomeRun Setup and then run a new channels scan.
When complete post back with your Device ID - I will take a look at the logs.

Nick
Device ID is 1080570D. I flipped the check mark to send diagnostic info - didn't seem to do anything visually, was that all I had to do?

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9247
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 10802091 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36
x 15

Re: Las Vegas less channels found compared to HDHR5-4US

Post by signcarver »

As far as turning it on, yes... they also wanted a channel scan

smokey7722
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2020 3:47 pm
Device ID: 10731A79 1080570D
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Las Vegas less channels found compared to HDHR5-4US

Post by smokey7722 »

signcarver wrote: Thu Oct 15, 2020 6:00 pm As far as turning it on, yes... they also wanted a channel scan
Yup I did that after as well. I also did another scan with a 3.5db loss 2 port splitter (and brought the old HDHR5-4US online). Old one still picks up all channels as it should, new one does not. Both are online, both have diag info enabled and both have been scanned since enabling.

Mike1515
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2020 1:15 pm

Re: Las Vegas less channels found compared to HDHR5-4US

Post by Mike1515 »

I’m in Vegas also. With the 1017 firmware, I see all of those channels where they should be. However, I’m not getting any ATSC 3.0 channels.

I do get a 5001 and 5002 channel that can’t be tuned to. Using the GUI, I can see the 4 3.0 channels, but can’t get to them.

I’ve turned on send diagnostics also (ID 108019F0). I’ve also asked in the Las Vegas forum on AVS if anyone is actually seeing these channels. No answer yet.

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16086
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 35

Re: Las Vegas less channels found compared to HDHR5-4US

Post by nickk »

Mike1515 wrote: Sat Oct 17, 2020 1:21 pm I’m in Vegas also. With the 1017 firmware, I see all of those channels where they should be. However, I’m not getting any ATSC 3.0 channels.

I do get a 5001 and 5002 channel that can’t be tuned to. Using the GUI, I can see the 4 3.0 channels, but can’t get to them.

I’ve turned on send diagnostics also (ID 108019F0). I’ve also asked in the Las Vegas forum on AVS if anyone is actually seeing these channels. No answer yet.
Hi Mike,

Do you have a few minutes to jump back on IRC? I got distracted debugging the problem in Pittsburgh (now fixed).

Nick

smokey7722
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2020 3:47 pm
Device ID: 10731A79 1080570D
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Las Vegas less channels found compared to HDHR5-4US

Post by smokey7722 »

nickk wrote: Sat Oct 17, 2020 1:39 pm Hi Mike,

Do you have a few minutes to jump back on IRC? I got distracted debugging the problem in Pittsburgh (now fixed).

Nick
Let me know when/if you want me to as well, happy to jump on if you need more info.

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16086
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 35

Re: Las Vegas less channels found compared to HDHR5-4US

Post by nickk »

I am on IRC now...

Online
ebo
Posts: 592
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 6:58 pm
Device ID: 1016F746, 101C8CF9, 1041F134, 10532394
x 2

Re: Las Vegas less channels found compared to HDHR5-4US

Post by ebo »

smokey7722 wrote: Thu Oct 15, 2020 5:26 pm So I swapped in the new 4K kickstarter unit and ran a scan and it is missing the following channels found on the HDHR5-4US that it replaced.

3.1 NBC3
3.2 Estrell
3.3 Charge!
3.4 Stadium
33.2 My_LVTV

From what I can tell 3 and 33 are (NBC and CW) are both channels that were made available in ATSC 3.0 broadcasts here in Vegas. I did not see any new or modified channels compared to the old list as I took notice in case these missing channels were remapped to new channel numbers. All channels detected were displayed with no icon or the HD icon and I saw none with HEVC or anything else. Oddly 33.1, 33.3, 33.4 and 33.5 are all detected.

Any ideas on what I could try?
According to RabbitEars, the ones you're missing are all on KSNV, RF 22 (also 14 but very low power).
33.1 is on KTNV, RF 13.
33.3, 33.4 and 33.5 are on KLAS, RF 7.
All of those are ATSC 1. The ATSC 3 channel, KVCW (RF 29) has the major networks from that and the other 3 stations. You could use HDHomeRun Config GUI to see how well you're receiving KSNV on RF 22.

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16086
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 35

Re: Las Vegas less channels found compared to HDHR5-4US

Post by nickk »

For ATSC 3.0 channels can you please try installing the new 20201018 firmware and running a channel scan from the device webpage.

Nick

smokey7722
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2020 3:47 pm
Device ID: 10731A79 1080570D
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Las Vegas less channels found compared to HDHR5-4US

Post by smokey7722 »

nickk wrote: Sun Oct 18, 2020 9:04 am For ATSC 3.0 channels can you please try installing the new 20201018 firmware and running a channel scan from the device webpage.

Nick
I just checked and I don't see 20201018 on the device to upgrade? my.hdhomerun.com shows its out of date (20201017a) but I don't see a way to get the new firmware?

EDIT: Just power cycled it and it picked it up. Installed and rescanned. It picked up one less channel this time (99 vs 100) and no HEVC labeled in the lineup.
Last edited by smokey7722 on Sun Oct 18, 2020 10:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

Online
ebo
Posts: 592
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 6:58 pm
Device ID: 1016F746, 101C8CF9, 1041F134, 10532394
x 2

Re: Las Vegas less channels found compared to HDHR5-4US

Post by ebo »

I'm sure SD will fix the link soon. Meanwhile, Airey001 solved it in another thread.

Edit: I see from your edit that you got it. So to quote Emily Litella, "Never mind."
Last edited by ebo on Sun Oct 18, 2020 10:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9247
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 10802091 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36
x 15

Re: Las Vegas less channels found compared to HDHR5-4US

Post by signcarver »

easiest way is to restart the device as otherwise it can take up to 8 hours for it to check in and see that it has an update.

2nd easiest is to direct download the windows software package as the regular generic windows link isn't redirecting yet and the past few days I have seen such saying it's not secure (which seemed to have coincided with kodi not getting guide images)

https://download.silicondust.com/hdhome ... 201018.exe
Last edited by signcarver on Sun Oct 18, 2020 10:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply