New orders

ATSC 3.0 Forum
richoff
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2020 6:53 am

New orders

Post by richoff »

Hurry up and order the new hardware... some leftover from the first shipment

trad
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2020 8:34 am

Re: New orders

Post by trad »

And where do you find these units at?

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16974
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 113

Re: New orders

Post by nickk »


trad
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2020 8:34 am

Re: New orders

Post by trad »

Excellent, was waiting for these excited to try it out with my NAS/PLEX hopefully the video quality is better than my Tablo. Looking to replace my aging TiVo not sure how many years it’s got left 2 gen old now.

manicslothpdx
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2020 12:04 pm

Re: New orders

Post by manicslothpdx »

Does Tablo compress what it records? With Channels DVR and Plex, they save the raw stream from the HDHomeRun, so it's about as good as it gets (MPEG2 for ATSC 1.0 and HVEC for ATSC 3.0.)

trad
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2020 8:34 am

Re: New orders

Post by trad »

manicslothpdx wrote: Mon Oct 19, 2020 1:26 pm Does Tablo compress what it records? With Channels DVR and Plex, they save the raw stream from the HDHomeRun, so it's about as good as it gets (MPEG2 for ATSC 1.0 and HVEC for ATSC 3.0.)
With the tablo they transcode everything because they don’t output the native resolution/format. So you when you watch certain things you get “chatters” and graphics can look blocky. When it records you can set it to 10MB 1080p but quality still suffers when it’s output to devices.

xmguy
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2021 8:30 am
Device ID: 10815046, 1037F17E
Location: McMinnville, TN
x 3

Re: New orders

Post by xmguy »

Is there any difference in the dev version and the retail version besides the FW?

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 2181
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm
x 50

Re: New orders

Post by NedS »

xmguy wrote: Mon Feb 22, 2021 6:01 pm Is there any difference in the dev version and the retail version besides the FW?
Hardware is the same. Just the dev features, that get turned on in the firmware.

xmguy
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2021 8:30 am
Device ID: 10815046, 1037F17E
Location: McMinnville, TN
x 3

Re: New orders

Post by xmguy »

NedS wrote: Mon Feb 22, 2021 8:48 pm
xmguy wrote: Mon Feb 22, 2021 6:01 pm Is there any difference in the dev version and the retail version besides the FW?
Hardware is the same. Just the dev features, that get turned on in the firmware.
Any chance that firmware will come to the regular ones too?

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 2181
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm
x 50

Re: New orders

Post by NedS »

xmguy wrote: Mon Feb 22, 2021 10:19 pm
NedS wrote: Mon Feb 22, 2021 8:48 pm
xmguy wrote: Mon Feb 22, 2021 6:01 pm Is there any difference in the dev version and the retail version besides the FW?
Hardware is the same. Just the dev features, that get turned on in the firmware.
Any chance that firmware will come to the regular ones too?
Users of the normal CONNECT 4K can upgrade to the dev features for $100: https://shop.silicondust.com/shop/produ ... r5-4k-dev/

xmguy
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2021 8:30 am
Device ID: 10815046, 1037F17E
Location: McMinnville, TN
x 3

Re: New orders

Post by xmguy »

NedS wrote: Mon Feb 22, 2021 11:51 pm
xmguy wrote: Mon Feb 22, 2021 10:19 pm
NedS wrote: Mon Feb 22, 2021 8:48 pm

Hardware is the same. Just the dev features, that get turned on in the firmware.
Any chance that firmware will come to the regular ones too?
Users of the normal CONNECT 4K can upgrade to the dev features for $100: https://shop.silicondust.com/shop/produ ... r5-4k-dev/
Only Linux supported over IP?

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 2181
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm
x 50

Re: New orders

Post by NedS »

xmguy wrote: Tue Feb 23, 2021 5:33 am
NedS wrote: Mon Feb 22, 2021 11:51 pm
xmguy wrote: Mon Feb 22, 2021 10:19 pm

Any chance that firmware will come to the regular ones too?
Users of the normal CONNECT 4K can upgrade to the dev features for $100: https://shop.silicondust.com/shop/produ ... r5-4k-dev/
Only Linux supported over IP?
Current dev features should work on Windows 10, macOS, and most Linux desktop distributions.

Matt832
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2018 3:22 pm

Re: New orders

Post by Matt832 »

Wow, wish I saw the info on the Dev. version before I paid full price on AZ...

xmguy
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2021 8:30 am
Device ID: 10815046, 1037F17E
Location: McMinnville, TN
x 3

Re: New orders

Post by xmguy »

Matt832 wrote: Mon Mar 08, 2021 8:44 pm Wow, wish I saw the info on the Dev. version before I paid full price on AZ...
Full Price?

ronintexas
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 8:06 am
Device ID: 10807D4D
Location: Leander, TX

Re: New orders

Post by ronintexas »

I have a question - I currently have one of the HDHR5-4K tuners, and plan on buying a second tuner and setting up a DVR to record. 2TB isn't much, if I purchased two Servio units, are they seamless in integration? For example, how does it know which Servio to record to, and would all recording be shown as "one DVR" when finding the recordings?

I currently use Tablo DVRs (two 4-tuner models) with a 4-TB drive on each one, and the recordings are stored on the Tablo that recorded them, and you have to disconnect from one, and connect to the other to view the recordings.

Or would something like Plex work better? I often have 3-4 recordings happening at one time. Currently, the ATSC 3.0 isn't really "live" in my area (Austin, TX), they have one channel (KEYE-CBS) that broadcasts ATSC 3.0 (three other channels are slotted - but with "no data" showing on them), and often, they go dark for a few hours at a time. I would have to record almost exclusively ATSC 1.0 to ensure that the recording went through (the only real advantage of ATSC 3.0 at this point is AC-4 audio, which none of my TVs really take advantage of - I do have sound bars, but they aren't high-end home theater setups). A second ATSC 3.0 tower is going to go live shortly, but I don't know if they are going to repeat what is happening now with the current, or actually do something with it.

My wife is technically challenged, and she would need to know the app name to start, and keeping it really simple to find recordings. More than likely, I will keep the Tablo units live for the short term, as they are "working" now - I just hate the delay in tuning...and their channel guide is not always accurate.

Post Reply