AC-4 Audio?

ATSC 3.0 Forum
Post Reply
RKCRLR
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2021 7:31 am

Will I have Audio with my Setup?

Post by RKCRLR »

I have a 2019 Shield Pro and Atmos (but not AC-4) capable receiver. I currently have a HDHomeRun Connect Quatro that I use for OTA reception and record using a dedicated TVHeadend server. I use Kodi (Matrix) and the TVHeadend client on the Shield for playback. The Shield is connected to my receiver with a HDMI cable. Everything is connected with Ethernet cables.
My understanding is the 2019 Shield TV Pro is capable of decoding AC-4 audio (can anyone confirm this?)

If I add a HDHomeRun Flex 4K to my system will I be able to record and playback ATSC 3.0 recordings (including audio) through Kodi on my Shield?

Thanks

Rak313
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2021 9:27 am

Re: AC-4 Audio?

Post by Rak313 »

Ive read through this entire thread. But I don't see a current list of TVs, or devices (that can successfully decode ATSC 3.0 audio) that was suggested early on in the thread.

Specifically I like to know about ipad, iphone, fire stick (eg firestick 4k), and Sony A80j 4k tv.

Dartman
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 12:29 pm

Re: AC-4 Audio?

Post by Dartman »

Your going to have to do some research on that as most markets aren't even doing test broadcasts yet. I THINK some of the new LG TVs support it and maybe some of the newest Sony sets.
My 2019 TCL 825 series does not support it but that is not surprising.

though
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2018 10:21 am
x 1

Re: AC-4 Audio?

Post by though »

Rak313 wrote: Sun Aug 08, 2021 9:38 am Ive read through this entire thread. But I don't see a current list of TVs, or devices (that can successfully decode ATSC 3.0 audio) that was suggested early on in the thread.

Specifically I like to know about ipad, iphone, fire stick (eg firestick 4k), and Sony A80j 4k tv.
You should be G2G with the newest Nvidia Shield.

Rak313
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2021 9:27 am

Re: AC-4 Audio?

Post by Rak313 »

I should give a little more background. i have the hdhomerun 4k. I live in Syracuse,NY which has one ATSC 3.0 transmitter with ABC, CBS, NBC as 3 subchannels. They are simulcasting their ATSC 1.0 feeds (1080i, and 720p - no 4k) on the ATSC 3.0 subchannels. I get it with 80%+ on the signal meter. I get sound on my 2015 windows 10 laptop. I don't get sound on my ipad air 2, nor my firestick (not the 4k version).

I cant figure out if the newest ipad pro, AC-4 is not listed on Apple tech spec page. So first question: is anyone using hdhomerun 4k, on ATSC 3.0 on an ipad pro successfully?

Firestick 4k also does not list AC-4 on its spec list. As has been pointed out dolby atmos is separate from AC-4. See https://developer.dolby.com/technology/ ... ital-plus/ .

The Sony A80j is a relatively new design. i don't own it, but am thinking of getting one. It advertises an ATSC 3.0 tuner, but someone suggested earlier in this thread that it does not decode AC-4 audio on streams.

Again, Im looking for someone who has succeeded in decoding ATSC 3.0 audio on the hdhomerun 4k.

Thanks.

As to research, this thread is about the only reference to: no sound and Ac-4, that I have found.

Rak313
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2021 9:27 am

Re: AC-4 Audio?

Post by Rak313 »

though wrote: Sun Aug 08, 2021 10:58 am
Rak313 wrote: Sun Aug 08, 2021 9:38 am Ive read through this entire thread. But I don't see a current list of TVs, or devices (that can successfully decode ATSC 3.0 audio) that was suggested early on in the thread.

Specifically I like to know about ipad, iphone, fire stick (eg firestick 4k), and Sony A80j 4k tv.
You should be G2G with the newest Nvidia Shield.
I’m a little confused about this whole subject. Does the newest Nvidia Shield decode the AC-4, and then re-encode it to something older TVs can decode, and place it on hdmi to the TV? While I’m pretty sure the Sony A80j TV will do E-AC-3 (dolby digital plus), I’m not so sure it will do AC-4 on a pass thru.

Thanks for the reply.

jrwalte
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2020 2:12 pm

Re: AC-4 Audio?

Post by jrwalte »

Atlanta just went live with its ATSC3 for the major networks today so now I'm in the same boat of trying to find a device that plays ac-4 hah. But even with 5 networks sharing the same RF channel, their quality is just as good if not better than their ATSC1 counterpart because they are all 1080p60 instead of 720p60 or 1080i30. So once they start getting their own RF channels and upping the bitrate, it will look great. They could easily achieve 1080p bluray quality before network content starts going to 2160p.

What I've found so far for decoding AC4:

My shield 2019 pro will play ac-4, but currently it will only work on the HDHR app. My receiver sees it as DD+. It is Denon x4500H and I'm struggling to find if it natively supports AC-4.

I use Emby, and they just released a server beta that recognizes AC-4, but it can't transcode it yet and the Emby AndroidTV app will not pass ac-4 for the Shield to decode. So I get no audio on the Shield and the video is bugging. The app can become unresponsive. I can record an ATSC3 channel without a problem. I suspect the issue is software and server/client being updated to understand ac-4 is supported and to pass it, rather than trying to transcode it. I've submitted logs to Emby to help figure it out hopefully.

The only Emby app I've found successful to play live TV or recordings is my Samsung Galaxy Note 20. Go figure.

bgrubb1
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 12:32 am

Re: AC-4 Audio?

Post by bgrubb1 »

]I cant figure out if the newest ipad pro, AC-4 is not listed on Apple tech spec page. So first question: is anyone using hdhomerun 4k, on ATSC 3.0 on an ipad pro successfully?

It works fine, complete with Audio on my 2019 Ipad Pro
...Barry

Route66Fan
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2021 10:35 am
x 2

Re: AC-4 Audio?

Post by Route66Fan »

I am interested in knowing if there is a beta build of ffmpeg that supports AC4 that I could download & test out?

Lost Dog
Posts: 141
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 11:46 pm
x 2

Re: AC-4 Audio?

Post by Lost Dog »

Route66Fan wrote: Thu Sep 02, 2021 11:06 pm I am interested in knowing if there is a beta build of ffmpeg that supports AC4 that I could download & test out?
The ffmpeg branch is here:

https://github.com/richardpl/FFmpeg/tree/ac4

Not sure if there are pre-compiled packages or not. I've compiled them on linux and it wasn't too painful. The biggest problem is many applications need to be built with ffmpeg so just installing it does not solve the problem (for a few things that make external calls to ffmpeg it does).

Looks like the code has not been worked on for several months however....

PeteTheRock
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2021 9:40 pm

Re: AC-4 Audio?

Post by PeteTheRock »

I have no sound on the ATSC 3.0 channels with HDHR app running on iPad 8th Gen. 10.2-inch. using the Flex 4K
Anybody else has this ?

Garyr
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2017 8:59 am

Re: AC-4 Audio?

Post by Garyr »

in Phoenix I cannot get channels 110.1 or 112.1 to come in on my 4k firestick. Other ATSC3.0 channels work great.

bobchase
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2020 12:25 pm
Device ID: 10810736
x 9

Re: AC-4 Audio?

Post by bobchase »

Garyr wrote: Mon Sep 06, 2021 11:17 am in Phoenix I cannot get channels 110.1 or 112.1 to come in on my 4k firestick. Other ATSC3.0 channels work great.
112.1 (NBC) is down due to an interstation connection problem.
110.1 (FOX) should come in for you as it is working for Silicon Dust tuners as well as the TV's.

jasonl
Expert
Posts: 15637
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm
x 32

Re: AC-4 Audio?

Post by jasonl »

bobchase wrote: Mon Sep 06, 2021 11:47 am
Garyr wrote: Mon Sep 06, 2021 11:17 am in Phoenix I cannot get channels 110.1 or 112.1 to come in on my 4k firestick. Other ATSC3.0 channels work great.
112.1 (NBC) is down due to an interstation connection problem.
110.1 (FOX) should come in for you as it is working for Silicon Dust tuners as well as the TV's.
I'm curious, what format are the video and audio in when bouncing from station to station?

bobchase
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2020 12:25 pm
Device ID: 10810736
x 9

Re: AC-4 Audio?

Post by bobchase »

jasonl wrote: Tue Sep 07, 2021 6:09 pm
bobchase wrote: Mon Sep 06, 2021 11:47 am
Garyr wrote: Mon Sep 06, 2021 11:17 am in Phoenix I cannot get channels 110.1 or 112.1 to come in on my 4k firestick. Other ATSC3.0 channels work great.
112.1 (NBC) is down due to an interstation connection problem.
110.1 (FOX) should come in for you as it is working for Silicon Dust tuners as well as the TV's.
I'm curious, what format are the video and audio in when bouncing from station to station?
121.1 is being sent out 1080p60
110.1 is being sent at 720p60

Post Reply