ATSC 3.0 in Austin, Texas

ATSC 3.0 Forum
unwiredben
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 10:28 pm
x 2

Re: ATSC 3.0 in Austin, Texas

Post by unwiredben »

With the latest firmware (20201018), I only get KEYE (42.1) as HEVC in the scan via the device's web server. It looks like it's scanning with default PLP values and not seeing data for KXAN, KNVA, and KBVO which are also on the RF 31 mux. Those channels can only be tuned when the device is set to PLP0+1, so the scan system isn't checking all the valid PLP combinations.

b3nw
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 6:41 pm

Re: ATSC 3.0 in Austin, Texas

Post by b3nw »

similar issues here.

Can tune 42.1 on Plex, but get no sound. HDHomeRun Windows app just provides an error "Resource Error"

Tried to set it PLP0+1 which just seems to have broken both Plex and HDHomeRun on Windows. derp.

MayorOfBassdropolis
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2020 1:22 pm
Location: Austin TX

Re: ATSC 3.0 in Austin, Texas

Post by MayorOfBassdropolis »

Austin suburbs here - same experience. 42.1 KEYE-CD CBS has picture, but no audio. config_gui shows ATSC3.
config_gui also shows the 3 other channels in the dropdown for frequency 31 (14.1 KBVO-CD, 36.1 KXAN-CD, and 54.4 KXAN-CD) but all show "no data"

I don't see any settings or indicators for PLP mode - maybe I'm missing a setting?

tornadotj
Posts: 790
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 11:31 am

Re: ATSC 3.0 in Austin, Texas

Post by tornadotj »

Same here, no sound on KEYE in Plex.

I think I'm going to need to install a far larger antenna out here in Johnson City, I'm only getting KEYE. (Luckily I'm not an Austin suburb yet, like Dripping)

MayorOfBassdropolis
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2020 1:22 pm
Location: Austin TX

Re: ATSC 3.0 in Austin, Texas

Post by MayorOfBassdropolis »

MayorOfBassdropolis wrote: Tue Oct 20, 2020 1:26 pm Austin suburbs here - same experience. 42.1 KEYE-CD CBS has picture, but no audio. config_gui shows ATSC3.
config_gui also shows the 3 other channels in the dropdown for frequency 31 (14.1 KBVO-CD, 36.1 KXAN-CD, and 54.4 KXAN-CD) but all show "no data"

I don't see any settings or indicators for PLP mode - maybe I'm missing a setting?
I should add - using Plex to watch TV.

Signal strength ~67%
Signal quality ~90%
Symbol quality 100%

plnota
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2020 6:19 pm
Location: DFW
x 2

Re: ATSC 3.0 in Austin, Texas

Post by plnota »

MayorOfBassdropolis wrote: Tue Oct 20, 2020 1:26 pm I don't see any settings or indicators for PLP mode - maybe I'm missing a setting?
You'll need to update to the ATSC3 Beta version of the GUI: viewtopic.php?f=133&t=74266

PatBoersma
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2020 7:27 am
Device ID: 10800CCE
Location: Austin, TX

Re: ATSC 3.0 in Austin, Texas

Post by PatBoersma »

I have the same problem with only 42.1 showing as HEVC. Using the HDHomeRun Config GUI, manually tuning to channel 31 and enabling PLP 0 and 1 allowed for all 4 channels to come in, but I did not see a way to save this setting. When rescanning the channels, it reverted back to normal. As far as sound on channel 42.1, it only worked using the LG version of the HDHomeRun app on my CX. The LG version of the Plex app, and Shield versions of both apps did not have sound.

I saw mention in the Pittsburgh thread that SD was planning on releasing a new firmware update on 10/19 to address a PLP issue, it appears that's been delayed. Hopefully that will correct this.

MayorOfBassdropolis
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2020 1:22 pm
Location: Austin TX

Re: ATSC 3.0 in Austin, Texas

Post by MayorOfBassdropolis »

New firmware update today, no change.

unwiredben
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 10:28 pm
x 2

Re: ATSC 3.0 in Austin, Texas

Post by unwiredben »

I updated to the latest firmware as of today, 20201021b, and updated found no HEVC channels. Manually trying RF 31 showed no signal, so I'm guessing the broadcaster is offline right now.

tornadotj
Posts: 790
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 11:31 am

Re: ATSC 3.0 in Austin, Texas

Post by tornadotj »

It quit showing on mine too.

b3nw
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 6:41 pm

Re: ATSC 3.0 in Austin, Texas

Post by b3nw »

Model: HDHR5-4K
Device ID: 1080F---
Firmware: 20201023

Also no longer seeing any HEVC channels.

unwiredben
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 10:28 pm
x 2

Re: ATSC 3.0 in Austin, Texas

Post by unwiredben »

Just tried it again, and not seeing anything on RF 31 still.

PatBoersma
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2020 7:27 am
Device ID: 10800CCE
Location: Austin, TX

Re: ATSC 3.0 in Austin, Texas

Post by PatBoersma »

I'm hoping for another firmware update soon to see if it's the latest version or if the networks temporarily stopped broadcasting in 4K. I do see those channels back on ATSC 1.0, 42.1 is under CH 34

ronintexas
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 8:06 am
Device ID: 10807D4D
Location: Leander, TX
x 1

Re: ATSC 3.0 in Austin, Texas

Post by ronintexas »

A rescan of channels picked up channels 5000 and 5001 - but trying to access them shows "no video", and channel 31 is showing no channels...

tornadotj
Posts: 790
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 11:31 am

Re: ATSC 3.0 in Austin, Texas

Post by tornadotj »

When I lived in Dallas, I would get channels show up on 5000+ sometimes, but there was never anything there.

Post Reply