HDHomeRun QUATRO 4K for ATSC 3.0

ATSC 3.0 Forum
Post Reply
nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16069
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 31

HDHomeRun QUATRO 4K for ATSC 3.0

Post by nickk »


deadsoulz
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2018 12:16 pm

Re: HDHomeRun QUATRO 4K for ATSC 3.0

Post by deadsoulz »

Can't wait! I have my kickstarter order in. Hopefully Utah gets some ATSC 3.0 Channels up quickly. Make sure it works with Plex at Launch.
Last edited by deadsoulz on Wed Apr 22, 2020 10:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

LrngToFly
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2017 4:10 am

Re: HDHomeRun QUATRO 4K for ATSC 3.0

Post by LrngToFly »

Will SiliconDust eventually be supporting the Quatro 4K with their own Apple TV app?

I like my HDHomeRun. I use Apple TVs and Silicon Dust doesn't have their own app supporting their product on Apple TV. I said a couple of years ago that for my ATSC 3 solution, I will only purchase a product that the maker provides both the hardware and the software. I am going to stick with that proclamation. While Channels works fine, I want full support from the vendor. So I will look at someone else's solution should Silicon Dust not provide the full solution.
Last edited by LrngToFly on Wed Apr 22, 2020 11:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

ihermit2
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 10:41 am

Re: HDHomeRun QUATRO 4K for ATSC 3.0

Post by ihermit2 »

Not to be inflammatory. but, you should be aware you are skirting dangerously close to KS policies against new projects while not delivered on old.

Sammy2
Posts: 617
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 11:49 am

Re: HDHomeRun QUATRO 4K for ATSC 3.0

Post by Sammy2 »

ihermit2 wrote: Wed Apr 22, 2020 10:38 am Not to be inflammatory. but, you should be aware you are skirting dangerously close to KS policies against new projects while not delivered on old.
You're talking about the DRM not working on Prime STILL after, what is it? Five years now? Six?

mustang5o
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 2:49 pm

Re: HDHomeRun QUATRO 4K for ATSC 3.0

Post by mustang5o »

So the article mentioned the top 40 but adds additional markets that have been identified. If Omaha, NE is going to have some ATSC 3.0 channels to test this year I might be up for it. One more reason to look at dropping Cox cable TV. Still keep their internet since Century Link internet doesn't offer Gig where I'm at. That would mean giving up my HDHR Prime but that might be happening anyway.

Trip
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2010 6:49 am
Location: Alexandria, VA, USA
Contact:

Re: HDHomeRun QUATRO 4K for ATSC 3.0

Post by Trip »

What, exactly, is the difference between the developer version and the standard? I'm not really clear on that.

- Trip

Sammy2
Posts: 617
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 11:49 am

Re: HDHomeRun QUATRO 4K for ATSC 3.0

Post by Sammy2 »

Nick,

If I support this with something less than the $199 the unit costs will my support dollars be applied to a purchase when they come out?

BTW, I trust this much more than getting past CableLabs BS.

I'm lucky in that most all of my subscribed channels are not Copy Protected on Spectrum in my area so my Primes run SBS with my Quatros giving me 14 tuners in Emby but going ATSC 3.0 sounds good to me too!

ihermit2
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 10:41 am

Re: HDHomeRun QUATRO 4K for ATSC 3.0

Post by ihermit2 »

Sammy2 wrote: Wed Apr 22, 2020 10:40 am
ihermit2 wrote: Wed Apr 22, 2020 10:38 am Not to be inflammatory. but, you should be aware you are skirting dangerously close to KS policies against new projects while not delivered on old.
You're talking about the DRM not working on Prime STILL after, what is it? Five years now? Six?
I'm not trying to start discussion about any specific thing. There is a forum for discussing the DVR project.

Sammy2
Posts: 617
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 11:49 am

Re: HDHomeRun QUATRO 4K for ATSC 3.0

Post by Sammy2 »

Looks like you're going to hit the goal in 30 minutes..

Any Stretch Goal give-aways?

GGRussell
Posts: 1402
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 3:08 pm
Device ID: 131F5AA2 ; 1325E5E9

Re: HDHomeRun QUATRO 4K for ATSC 3.0

Post by GGRussell »

This happened at a good time for me. I will be dropping cable next few months to go OTA only. I was going to order a Quatro 4 anyway. I know ATSC3 won't be in my area this year, but this way I'll be ready when it does roll out.

Would be nice though to include one Year of guide at the $199 level and up
Last edited by GGRussell on Wed Apr 22, 2020 10:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

demonrik
Posts: 1337
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 10736454, 1073A35A, 1075C377, 108042A1
x 7

Re: HDHomeRun QUATRO 4K for ATSC 3.0

Post by demonrik »

Pledged.
Looking forward to getting my hands on the hardware :)

I see the KS just passed the goal as I typed

bodycount9
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 11:32 pm

Re: HDHomeRun QUATRO 4K for ATSC 3.0

Post by bodycount9 »

I was super excited when that email came about your ATSC 3.0 4k box. I was like FINALLY!!

Then I read it and was disappointed.

It's a four tuner but only two ATSC 3.0 tuners. So basically a two tuner box but we are paying for four tuners. ATSC 3.0 is backwards compatible with ATSC 1.0 so having 1.0 tuners limits the box. Why are there not four ATSC 3.0 tuners?

I'd be fine with two tuner ATSC 3.0 model if you made an extend with H265 compression attached. I'd buy that over the four tuner model instantly.

At this point in time I'm not going to back the kickstarter. If you come out with a four tuner model with all ATSC 3.0, I'd back that. Or an extend two tuner model with H265 compression.

Beerman
Posts: 1524
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 7:05 pm

Re: HDHomeRun QUATRO 4K for ATSC 3.0

Post by Beerman »

I ordered 1 unit as well. I'm relatively sure I will be dropping cable when Cox scrambles everything and it looks like I won't be interested in the Prime 6 but I sure hope this doesn't get deviled up and delayed like Prime 6. I'm told old to be that patient now! I already have to use the patience for waiting for 3.0 to show up in my city which isn't on any list at all yet.

Lost Dog
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 11:46 pm

Re: HDHomeRun QUATRO 4K for ATSC 3.0

Post by Lost Dog »

Having all four tuners ATSC3 would probably push the cost point up too high...

Still, with enough people maybe tuner cost can be driven down... Stretch goal?!?!

Post Reply