Recording and Playing back 3.0?

ATSC 3.0 Forum
Post Reply
xmguy
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2021 8:30 am
Device ID: 10815046, 1037F17E
Location: McMinnville, TN
x 5

Recording and Playing back 3.0?

Post by xmguy »

How can I record and playback ATSC 3.0 channels? I have Plex, but I can’t decode the audio, even if I direct play it from my PC to my Apple TV. If I buy the yearly DVR option for the HR app directly will it work? If not, does anyone know an app that does work with the AC-4 codec for record/playback to Apple TV/iPhone/iPad?

Thanks

tmm1
Posts: 277
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2015 12:03 pm
x 1
Contact:

Re: Recording and Playing back 3.0?

Post by tmm1 »

Try getchannels.com

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16726
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 87

Re: Recording and Playing back 3.0?

Post by nickk »

The HDHomeRun DVR and apps support record and playback of ATSC 3.0 content on Apple TV 4K devices and iPhone/iPad devices 2018 and newer.

Nick

NefCanuck
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 9:54 pm

Re: Recording and Playing back 3.0?

Post by NefCanuck »

nickk wrote: Fri Mar 26, 2021 10:04 am The HDHomeRun DVR and apps support record and playback of ATSC 3.0 content on Apple TV 4K devices and iPhone/iPad devices 2018 and newer.

Nick
Hi Nick, a quick question.

I tried to record both the ATSC 1.0 and 3.0 streams for a particular show using my PC and the Windows Store HD Homerun software (I have a laptop with a 4K screen) but when I try to select record all episodes, I only get the option for ATSC 1.0 recording although both are listed.

Is that a limitation of the Windows software?

NefCanuck

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9662
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 10A05954 10802091 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36
x 30

Re: Recording and Playing back 3.0?

Post by signcarver »

"All" only means "one" (of any given episode). However you can force it to a specific channel. It has been awhile since I checked but it used to be the engine would only record one of the same episode when starting at the same time even when recording oneoffs which would usually force another copy of an episode to be recorded even if you already had a copy.

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 2031
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm
x 53

Re: Recording and Playing back 3.0?

Post by NedS »

Being able to record multiple versions is something that is still being evaluated. From what I understand, even with a single ATSC 3.0 program listing, it's possible to have more than one "version" available, so it's definitely on the list to look at and plan for.

xmguy
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2021 8:30 am
Device ID: 10815046, 1037F17E
Location: McMinnville, TN
x 5

Re: Recording and Playing back 3.0?

Post by xmguy »

NedS wrote: Fri Apr 09, 2021 6:35 pm Being able to record multiple versions is something that is still being evaluated. From what I understand, even with a single ATSC 3.0 program listing, it's possible to have more than one "version" available, so it's definitely on the list to look at and plan for.
Does this mean perhaps being a lower quality version of a HD signal? I was under the assumption that what I saw is what is there. The modulation schemes, the layering, etc. What it shows, is what it is.

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 2031
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm
x 53

Re: Recording and Playing back 3.0?

Post by NedS »

xmguy wrote: Sun Apr 11, 2021 3:16 pm
NedS wrote: Fri Apr 09, 2021 6:35 pm Being able to record multiple versions is something that is still being evaluated. From what I understand, even with a single ATSC 3.0 program listing, it's possible to have more than one "version" available, so it's definitely on the list to look at and plan for.
Does this mean perhaps being a lower quality version of a HD signal? I was under the assumption that what I saw is what is there. The modulation schemes, the layering, etc. What it shows, is what it is.
The ATSC 3.0 spec allows a whole bunch of options that, as of today, have not been used in the wild. Currently, the HDHomeRun software will always attempt to access the highest quality version of a channel that it has available.

wayner
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 9:10 am

Re: Recording and Playing back 3.0?

Post by wayner »

SageTV may be able to record content from the Quad.

FYI - SageTV is PC based DVR software that has been around for a long time. SageTV was bought by Google, but then it was Open Sourced about 5 years ago. IMO it is still very good for recording and it has pretty much always supported earlier HDHR tuners.

https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/index.php

Post Reply