Black screen

Discussion of the new user interface for the HDHomeRun app.
Post Reply
jessie10133
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 7:16 pm

Black screen

Post by jessie10133 » Thu Jan 16, 2020 1:09 pm

I'm having a black screen on all the channels I can't use hdhomerun this problem is happening on all my devices shield pro 500gb,dell laptop win10,mibox

BillSili
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2017 6:11 am
Device ID: 13273C65

Re: Black screen

Post by BillSili » Thu Jan 16, 2020 1:17 pm

Same here, black screen, channels select but nothing. All devices, Shield, Sam tablets, Win10, AirTV player,,
There was a UI update today 20200116(UI) - Now it's broken. Jessie you can check tuner function with VLC, play network stream.
See https://imgur.com/D5QUSqV

ota
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2019 6:47 am

Re: Black screen

Post by ota » Thu Jan 16, 2020 1:39 pm

Ditto for Win10, Xbox

smchris
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2020 3:53 pm

Re: Black screen

Post by smchris » Thu Jan 16, 2020 4:10 pm

I keep fearing that Android HDHomeRun updates will destroy my access to the _original_ HDHomeRun. Has that happened? I can watch it in linux in my ThinkPad so the _device_ is working and broadcasting through my network. On my 12" Lenovo Android I was trying to watch noon news and I got the "Found 1 device", I could see channel selection, but no sound or video. Switched to a different Android and watched the news. The weird thing. Then I tried to watch the 5:00 news on _that_ Android and got the same "Found 1 device", channels but no sound or video. On the latter I had frozen auto updates, it was on 12/10, but it still acted the same. A few hours later. What on earth? Cold shutdown and restart does nothing.

yoemein
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2020 4:24 pm

Re: Black screen

Post by yoemein » Thu Jan 16, 2020 4:31 pm

My OTA was working fine early this morning for me. Later this afternoon, the HDHomerun app started to give me the black screen too. It found 1 device, all menus worked, and I could select channels from the list but got no video or audio. I tried this on all devices - Win10, Android (shield/galaxy s8), and IOS (iphone). Rebooted all devices, re-scanned channels (~40) but nothing helped. However, when I use the Plex Live/DVR function, I can watch live TV no problems.

kkid
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 7:24 am

Re: Black screen

Post by kkid » Thu Jan 16, 2020 4:52 pm

Yeah, new UI version 20200116 auto installed sometime today on win 10 computer shows no display on all channels. All menus show fine, just no channel display.
I don't have "early access" enabled. App version is 20190611.
This is using Prime tuner on Comcast cable which was working fine this morning.
Channels do display in VLC.
Please fix this quickly.

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 730
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: Black screen

Post by NedS » Thu Jan 16, 2020 5:04 pm

Sorry about that, devs are working on a fix now.

kkid
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 7:24 am

Re: Black screen

Post by kkid » Thu Jan 16, 2020 6:38 pm

That was quick. UI version 20200116b brought the display back.
Thanks for the quick fix guys.

BillSili
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2017 6:11 am
Device ID: 13273C65

Re: Black screen

Post by BillSili » Thu Jan 16, 2020 6:54 pm

Confirm, Android is back and Win 10. Thanks. 20200116b(UI)

yoemein
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2020 4:24 pm

Re: Black screen

Post by yoemein » Fri Jan 17, 2020 2:13 am

New UI version appears to have fixed my no video / no audio issue as well. Thanks !!!!

Post Reply