Windows 10: built 1909: HDHomeRun Launches to a Black Screen

Discussion of the new user interface for the HDHomeRun app.
windrider
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 7:39 am

Windows 10: built 1909: HDHomeRun Launches to a Black Screen

Post by windrider » Mon Dec 02, 2019 9:56 am

Recently HDHomeRun has stopped working again. I'm running Windows 10 (1909). The Application launches to a black screen. I'm able to use the button in the upper left corner of the window, but have not found any way to get around the black screen.

The HDHomeRun App is working on Windows 7, and also on a Mac. My tuners are supplying channels to Windows Media Center, which is also working.

Any ideas how I can get around this problem?

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14734
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Windows 10: built 1909: HDHomeRun Launches to a Black Screen

Post by jasonl » Mon Dec 02, 2019 2:36 pm

Have you tried removing and reinstalling the app?

windrider
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 7:39 am

Re: Windows 10: built 1909: HDHomeRun Launches to a Black Screen

Post by windrider » Tue Dec 03, 2019 5:14 am

Yes, no affect so far.

I'm turning on diagnostic information. Also the App shows to be on 20191029 (1.1.278.0). I'm leaving the App running for a while.

What next?

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14734
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Windows 10: built 1909: HDHomeRun Launches to a Black Screen

Post by jasonl » Tue Dec 03, 2019 1:03 pm

Does the PC have a working internet connection?

Is there anything running that might interfere with loading data from the internet, like third-party firewall, antimalware, parental control, or security software?

windrider
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 7:39 am

Re: Windows 10: built 1909: HDHomeRun Launches to a Black Screen

Post by windrider » Tue Dec 03, 2019 1:34 pm

The machine does have a working internet connection, i.e. Firefox can open webpages. I do have have Kodi loaded, and I also use the Netflix App, as well as watch shows on Amazon Prime. (via Firefox) Those seem to be doing fine. My virus protection is the built in, "Microsoft Security Essentials." Keep in mind this was working fine just before the holiday. I use it every morning to watch news. Something changed recently. I had this problem in the past, and you all talked me through resolving the issue. Last time it was because the DVR was turned on for the trial. I had removed some folders which the DVR was configured to use and this caused some issues.

My tuners are HDTC-2US
Firmware: 20190621

The ID's should show up in your logs as 10508137 and 10512A4A. I turned on diagnostic this morning and left the App running for a few hours.

Maybe you can glean some incite from the diagnostic data.

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14734
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Windows 10: built 1909: HDHomeRun Launches to a Black Screen

Post by jasonl » Tue Dec 03, 2019 4:22 pm

There's nothing in the logs other than it trying to load the interface (the logs don't indicate success or failure on that, just that it was tried).

Do you have any browser addons installed in IE or Edge? Even if you never use them for browsing, some extensions can interfere with apps that use a web view, including the HDHomeRun app.

windrider
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 7:39 am

Re: Windows 10: built 1909: HDHomeRun Launches to a Black Screen

Post by windrider » Wed Dec 04, 2019 6:27 am

I checked IE. and disabled Office Document Cache Handler, and HP Smart Print. The Original non Chromium based IE was very new a short time ago, and I wasn't using it nearly enough to load or even want any plugins. Edge looks clean.

However I do have Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2015 with Update 2 loaded. It shows having received updates in July of 2019. I also noticed that I have Microsoft Web Deploy 3.6, version 3.1238.1962 . In addition there is also Microsoft Web Platform Installer version 5.0.50430.0. I believe these last two pieces are parts of Visual Studio. Could the older development suite be getting in the way somehow?

Maybe moving to the latest Visual Studio 2019 might update some components and get around the issue?

Is there some log info I can gather on my end that might help resolve this?

windrider
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 7:39 am

Re: Windows 10: built 1909: HDHomeRun Launches to a Black Screen

Post by windrider » Wed Dec 04, 2019 7:24 am

Jason,
here is a little more info on what my Visual Studio contains. I'll list a few pieces here for you to see what you think. At present I have a project I've been working on over the years, so updating this suite will cause some significant work in figuring out how to maintain some older libraries I rely on coding between VBS and VB, so I'm not looking forward to braking the suite. But perhaps its time to move forward anyway.

I do like using the HDHomeRun App. :O)

Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2015
Version 14.0.25123.00 Update 2
Microsoft .NET Framework
Version 4.8.03752

Installed Version: Community

Visual Basic 2015 00322-20000-00000-AA881
Microsoft Visual Basic 2015

Visual C# 2015 00322-20000-00000-AA881
Microsoft Visual C# 2015

Visual C++ 2015 00322-20000-00000-AA881
Microsoft Visual C++ 2015

Application Insights Tools for Visual Studio Package 7.18.00214.2
Application Insights Tools for Visual Studio

ASP.NET and Web Tools 2015.1 (Beta8) 14.1.11106.0
ASP.NET and Web Tools 2015.1 (Beta8)

ASP.NET Web Frameworks and Tools 2012.2 4.1.41102.0
For additional information, visit http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkID=309563

ASP.NET Web Frameworks and Tools 2013 5.2.40314.0
For additional information, visit http://www.asp.net/

Common Azure Tools 1.7
Provides common services for use by Azure Mobile Services and Microsoft Azure Tools.

JavaScript Language Service 2.0
JavaScript Language Service

JavaScript Project System 2.0
JavaScript Project System

Microsoft Azure Mobile Services Tools 1.4
Microsoft Azure Mobile Services Tools

NuGet Package Manager 3.4.4
NuGet Package Manager in Visual Studio. For more information about NuGet, visit http://docs.nuget.org/.

PreEmptive Analytics Visualizer 1.2
Microsoft Visual Studio extension to visualize aggregated summaries from the PreEmptive Analytics product.

SQL Server Data Tools 14.0.60311.1
Microsoft SQL Server Data Tools

TypeScript 1.8.31.0
TypeScript tools for Visual Studio

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14734
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Windows 10: built 1909: HDHomeRun Launches to a Black Screen

Post by jasonl » Wed Dec 04, 2019 11:34 am

VS shouldn't cause any issues, otherwise our dev team wouldn't be able to use the app :).

Do you know what date it stopped working? Was there a Windows Update at that time? Might be worth uninstalling or doing a system restore to get back before that and see if it works.

windrider
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 7:39 am

Re: Windows 10: built 1909: HDHomeRun Launches to a Black Screen

Post by windrider » Wed Dec 04, 2019 5:06 pm

The problem started thanksgiving week. I was off that week and noticed it one morning. The previous week it was fine. I did update my video drivers via nVidia's Gforce Experience. The video card is an nVidia 970 running version 441.41. (latest Release date: 11/26/2019)

I'll look at windows updates and see what got installed Nov 25 - 29.

Are there any known issues related to video drivers?

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14734
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Windows 10: built 1909: HDHomeRun Launches to a Black Screen

Post by jasonl » Wed Dec 04, 2019 5:44 pm

Nothing that I've heard recently. Driver issues would tend to cause problems with the video playback rather than the UI not loading, so if it was a driver problem you'd still see the guide and whatnot. The UI not loading tends to point more towards the browser or OS components.

windrider
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 7:39 am

Re: Windows 10: built 1909: HDHomeRun Launches to a Black Screen

Post by windrider » Thu Dec 05, 2019 9:17 am

I'm using process explorer this morning with regards to the app, and may have found something of interest. It appears that the virus scan engine got involved at this particular moment in time, and received a buffer overflow. It may be nothing.

I've narrowed the results of what the HDHomeRunView Process was doing right after launch, and can export it, and let you guys have a look. This is only one item below, but there are other points of interest to look at, especially for you guys with more of an incite as to what it's trying to do.

Is it possible for me to send you a snapshop of this log? It's in PML format, using Sysinternals Process Explorer. Microsoft has this tool freely available.

Event:

High Resolution Date & Time: 12/5/2019 9:20:12.9997552 AM
Event Class: File System
Operation: QueryInformationVolume
Result: BUFFER OVERFLOW
Path: C:\Program Files\WindowsApps\EF712BA7.HDHomeRunDVR_1.1.282.0_x64__23nna27hyxhag\HDHomeRunView.exe
TID: 8496
Duration: 0.0000048
VolumeCreationTime: 6/21/2009 1:27:30 PM
VolumeSerialNumber: 5652-D9F8
SupportsObjects: True
VolumeLabel: Sanϲ

Process:

Description: Antimalware Service Executable
Company: Microsoft Corporation
Name: MsMpEng.exe
Version: 4.18.1910.4 (WinBuild.160101.0800)
Path: C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows Defender\platform\4.18.1910.4-0\MsMpEng.exe
Command Line: "C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows Defender\platform\4.18.1910.4-0\MsMpEng.exe"
PID: 6080
Parent PID: 876
Session ID: 0
User: NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM
Auth ID: 00000000:000003e7
Architecture: 64-bit
Virtualized: False
Integrity: System
Started: 11/30/2019 9:04:08 AM
Ended: (Running)
Modules:

windrider
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 7:39 am

Re: Windows 10: built 1909: HDHomeRun Launches to a Black Screen

Post by windrider » Thu Dec 05, 2019 10:22 am

Jason,

This just in:

On the same workstation, I logged in as another user, and downloaded the App from the store, and it works. So on this workstation, the App works for one user, and has stopped for another.

Any ideas how to straighten out the Windows Store in the local profile for one user?

windrider
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 7:39 am

Re: Windows 10: built 1909: HDHomeRun Launches to a Black Screen

Post by windrider » Thu Dec 05, 2019 10:42 am

Ok, its working now:

Here what I think may have been the solution.

In Edge I cleared all browser info, cookies, and saved website data, cached data and files etc. etc. After having logged off and back in again, that might have been the missing step, because prior to having logged out, the clearing of web data still didn't seem to make a difference.

I was thinking the issue is probably profile specific, and especially since the Windows Store caters to each user individually. So just for grins, I thought to try out the App as another account, and this worked.

This may help someone else facing this. After you clear Edge, a "logout/Login" or "restart" may be what finally makes the difference. :D

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14734
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Windows 10: built 1909: HDHomeRun Launches to a Black Screen

Post by jasonl » Thu Dec 05, 2019 1:01 pm

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
In case I haven't mentioned it recently, Microsoft is the absolute worst.

Post Reply