Your HDHomeRun DVR wasn't found

Discussion of the new user interface for the HDHomeRun app.
Post Reply
Beerman
Posts: 1452
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 7:05 pm

Your HDHomeRun DVR wasn't found

Post by Beerman » Sat Jul 06, 2019 1:40 pm

On my Windows 10 machine, I started HDHomeRun and got a message that said, "Your HDHomeRun DVR wasn't found" but before this happened, there was the Account Information screen shown when I booted into HDHomeRun. I just chose, 'Continue' and then I got the message that the DVR wasn't found. Not sure what this is actually saying as HDHomeRun Record is showing all is fine. However, I don't see the recording button on the Live screen any longer.
I set a manual recording and it worked fine and then I deleted it and got the message "Your DVR is ready to record". I played live tv and then back to the Recorded tab and again got, "Your HDHomeRun DVR wasn't found"
What's up? Have I missed something?
Devices:
1321770E
132642E4

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 15557
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am

Re: Your HDHomeRun DVR wasn't found

Post by nickk » Sat Jul 06, 2019 2:01 pm

Everything looks to be working.

I wonder if the message is a false trigger relating to there not being any recordings... I will have a test set up on Monday.

Nick

Beerman
Posts: 1452
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 7:05 pm

Re: Your HDHomeRun DVR wasn't found

Post by Beerman » Sat Jul 06, 2019 2:09 pm

Last night's recordings were fine.
Should I see the red recording icon on the Live TV page?
I'll reboot the NAS and see if that makes any difference.

Dartman
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 12:29 pm

Re: Your HDHomeRun DVR wasn't found

Post by Dartman » Sun Jul 07, 2019 8:36 pm

Mine just updated to the latest Beta and I also had just removed all my test recordings of PBS drive time to a different drive so the only Folder it was actually recording to was empty. I have had the record button again recently even though it has never stopped recording every drive time that has happened with a few hickups since I set it just to make sure the DVR worked.
I moved ONE recording back to the folder it wanted, still no record button though it did show upcoming recordings in the task menu. SO I rebooted the machine, no record button but it now showed things in the recorded section, once I exited out of that the button showed up. So make sure you have something in the folder where it expects to see recordings and maybe you'll have to reboot and check on that folder and hopefully your record button will show up, or it probably will come back the next time it makes a scheduled recording and makes a new folder or just puts something in the empty one again.

Beerman
Posts: 1452
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 7:05 pm

Re: Your HDHomeRun DVR wasn't found

Post by Beerman » Mon Jul 08, 2019 5:34 am

Nothing has changed on my setup at all. I've done nothing different other than keep up with each new updated beta. It seems to still be recording things and all the tasks are showing as they should be.
I'll see how this weeks' recordings go but I believe Nick is looking into this.

jboymichelstein
Posts: 246
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 1:54 pm

Re: Your HDHomeRun DVR wasn't found

Post by jboymichelstein » Mon Jul 08, 2019 8:55 am

Same problem. New ui no matter if I do or do not have recordings. Turning off enable access to new features fixes it.

Beerman
Posts: 1452
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 7:05 pm

Re: Your HDHomeRun DVR wasn't found

Post by Beerman » Mon Jul 08, 2019 9:37 am

jboymichelstein wrote:
Mon Jul 08, 2019 8:55 am
Same problem. New ui no matter if I do or do not have recordings. Turning off enable access to new features fixes it.
Yes, that does. But I want that access so I'm good with the constant message.

wags1
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2017 6:27 am

Re: Your HDHomeRun DVR wasn't found

Post by wags1 » Mon Jul 08, 2019 4:10 pm

Just wanted to provide one more data point. This was working fine until the latest beta code was pushed. According to the settings screen I’m running Version 20190705d (beta). DVR is not found. Turning the beta off and reverting to the normal non-beta release restores DVR function. Symptoms are the same as what we saw with one of the beta releases about a month ago. Same symptoms on all of my FireTV devices and my Nvidia Shields.

wags1
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2017 6:27 am

Re: Your HDHomeRun DVR wasn't found

Post by wags1 » Tue Jul 09, 2019 7:10 pm

Problem has been resolved with Version 20190708 (beta). Thanks.

Beerman
Posts: 1452
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 7:05 pm

Re: Your HDHomeRun DVR wasn't found

Post by Beerman » Tue Jul 09, 2019 8:03 pm

wags1 wrote:
Tue Jul 09, 2019 7:10 pm
Problem has been resolved with Version 20190708 (beta). Thanks.
Mine now says, "Your HDHomeRun DVR is ready to record".

wags1
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2017 6:27 am

Re: Your HDHomeRun DVR wasn't found

Post by wags1 » Wed Jul 10, 2019 10:11 am

Beerman wrote:
Tue Jul 09, 2019 8:03 pm
wags1 wrote:
Tue Jul 09, 2019 7:10 pm
Problem has been resolved with Version 20190708 (beta). Thanks.
Mine now says, "Your HDHomeRun DVR is ready to record".
Yes, mine as well.

Post Reply