prime 6

A place for people to discuss future hardware and software product news
mcewinter
Posts: 675
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 4:36 pm
Device ID: 131044D3, 103188F3
Location: Chicago
x 1

Re: prime 6

Post by mcewinter »

jasonl wrote: Sat Jul 04, 2020 5:43 pm The rough ambitions were to release at the end of 2018, and for various and sundry reasons that didn't happen. They've already said they aren't going to announce any other timeframe until they're at a point where they know they can hit it, so figure that the first real word you hear will be when they announce when preorders will start.
I can understand that. Speaking for myself, it's rather frustrating when I had high hopes for a 6-tuner device during the height of Windows Media Center. The word ambition is being used pretty generously here.

JamesMitchell
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2020 3:45 am

Re: prime 6

Post by JamesMitchell »

I think the customers could use some updates on the issue during the releasing process if there's need for it. I don't understand the discretion.

rpcameron
Posts: 971
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 9:55 am
x 2

Re: prime 6

Post by rpcameron »

JamesMitchell wrote: Thu Jul 16, 2020 4:42 am I think the customers could use some updates on the issue during the releasing process if there's need for it. I don't understand the discretion.
It'll release when it's approved and built. It doesn't even have a final hardware design yet; and hasn't even been sent to CableLabs for certification.

crashnburn
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 3:21 pm

Re: prime 6

Post by crashnburn »

They will not make predictions because when issues pop up like they have, users complain that they did not live up to these predictions. Quite understandable with the issues they have encountered. I will get by with my prime box until it comes out.

jasondeanny
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2017 7:02 pm
Device ID: 132570C3, 10800737
Location: Brooklyn, NY
x 1

Re: prime 6

Post by jasondeanny »

Not that it means anything... but I did notice the Prime 6 web page removed the words "In Development".

Still waiting for my shipping notice e-mail from the Connect Quatro 4K Kickstarter... :?:

trakz
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat May 16, 2020 12:49 pm
x 2

Re: prime 6

Post by trakz »

...Prime 6 web page removed the words "In Development".
This is awesome! We can assume that the hardware is finalized (the RF issue got fixed!) and we're now moving on to the certification phase.

mcewinter
Posts: 675
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 4:36 pm
Device ID: 131044D3, 103188F3
Location: Chicago
x 1

Re: prime 6

Post by mcewinter »


trakz
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat May 16, 2020 12:49 pm
x 2

Re: prime 6

Post by trakz »

Scroll down - "in development"
Image

Not sure what you're looking at... but it's def been hidden in the source!

mcewinter
Posts: 675
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 4:36 pm
Device ID: 131044D3, 103188F3
Location: Chicago
x 1

Re: prime 6

Post by mcewinter »

Lol. It's right there on the page in green and white under the picture of the tuner.

"In Development
Keep an eye on this page for news!"
(Copied and pasted from the page) https://www.silicondust.com/product/hdhomerun-prime-6/

3ton
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 6:34 pm

Re: prime 6

Post by 3ton »

If you use chrome its not there. If you use I.E. it is there.

Ken.F
Posts: 2306
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:20 am
Device ID: 1041A706, 1043EB32, 104BAD9E, 13168DC5, 1322A7AC
Location: West Rockhill, PA

Re: prime 6

Post by Ken.F »

3ton wrote: Sat Aug 15, 2020 4:23 pm If you use chrome its not there. If you use I.E. it is there.
It's there in Firefox. I don't use Chrome but it is there in Chromium and Brave.

Rickt1962
Posts: 164
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 2:17 pm

Re: prime 6

Post by Rickt1962 »

3ton wrote: Sat Aug 15, 2020 4:23 pm If you use chrome its not there. If you use I.E. it is there.
Correct ! I wonder why ? Since I.E. in Windows 7 is no longer supported or used

goofnroxx
Posts: 92
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 10:30 am

Re: prime 6

Post by goofnroxx »

I see "In Development" using Chrome...

3ton
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 6:34 pm

Re: prime 6

Post by 3ton »

Rickt1962 wrote: Mon Aug 17, 2020 6:46 am
3ton wrote: Sat Aug 15, 2020 4:23 pm If you use chrome its not there. If you use I.E. it is there.
Correct ! I wonder why ? Since I.E. in Windows 7 is no longer supported or used
I used IE in win 10 to see it. I do not know why my chrome does not see it. It could be some extension. I use a bunch of extensions.

jasondeanny
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2017 7:02 pm
Device ID: 132570C3, 10800737
Location: Brooklyn, NY
x 1

Re: prime 6

Post by jasondeanny »

Sorry I started the speculation... Google Chrome doesn't show it but Edgium, Firefox and Opera do show it and also confirmed it's in the source even when looking in Google.

But I'm still waiting on the Quatro 4K. That hasn't changed. Impatient but understand a few bugs were found and shipping from overseas isn't exactly like a normal year... :D

Post Reply