Feature Request

A place for people to discuss future hardware and software product news
Post Reply
linksys7
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2020 6:10 am

Feature Request

Post by linksys7 »

As a Feature request, how hard would it be to add a function to HDhomeRun Prime 3 or 6 that with the purchase of Connect Duo or Connect Quatro you could piggy back them to the Primes adding more tuners to your setup. Whether that be a cable connection or a software connection? Just curious....
Or you could just use the Connect's as is for OTA.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8854
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: Feature Request

Post by signcarver »

Not understanding your request as many have both primes and connects and you can have as many tuners as you wish.

Primes don't work for ota, but (us) connects do work with clear qam cable or ota... it is not possible to have the cablecard in the prime decode from another device.

gtb
Expert
Posts: 4045
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 1:00 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA USA

Re: Feature Request

Post by gtb »

signcarver wrote:
Mon Apr 13, 2020 7:15 am
it is not possible to have the cablecard in the prime decode from another device.
And as I recall the TA is bound to the CableCARD authentication. And the CableCARD ecosystem typically is spec'ed to only support/decode 6 concurrent streams, so a Prime 6 will have all the tuners it can use moving forward.

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 1070
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: Feature Request

Post by NedS »

linksys7 wrote:
Sun Apr 12, 2020 7:55 pm
As a Feature request, how hard would it be to add a function to HDhomeRun Prime 3 or 6 that with the purchase of Connect Duo or Connect Quatro you could piggy back them to the Primes adding more tuners to your setup. Whether that be a cable connection or a software connection? Just curious....
Or you could just use the Connect's as is for OTA.
Are you asking if the OTA models can act as cable tuners via cable card, or if the OTA models can act as additional tuners for channels that overlap between OTA and cable? The former isn't possible, but the latter is.

linksys7
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2020 6:10 am

Re: Feature Request

Post by linksys7 »

Ok, say you have a HDHomeRun Prime 3 with Cablecard hooked up. Then you take one of the Connect's and connect it via cable wire, usb, or software based to the Prime 3 and it would expand your tuners from 3 to 5 if your using say a Connect Duo. Obviously there is a limitation based on the Adapter Tuner, but if you all ready have a Prime 3, it would allow you to expand your system at lower cost. I'm just looking at the versatility of it.

And granted I'm nowhere close to knowing how the inner workings of them are but was just curious for knowledge purposes.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8854
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: Feature Request

Post by signcarver »

The connect can only tune Clear QAM cable or OTA... anything it tunes is already "seamlessly" added with SD's software. If the channel requires a CableCARD to decrypt, such would never be possible as it is against the rules imposed on CableCARD as a CableCARD is needed for each device (can't be shared) so you would need another Prime and CableCARD.

Now going back to the drawing board and making an entirely new device that "could" get a daughter card to expand tuners over it's initial capacity but the size of tuners these days that isn't really practical or cost saving as one could almost build/sell the 6 tuner device for the same price as a 3 tuner with such capability. For example it could be $150 for a 3 tuner, $200 for a 6 tuner, $200-$250 for a 3 tuner model that can add such daughter card, and another $150-200 for such daughter card. When the prime was made they also had a prime "6" but that was essentially 2 primes inside a single case and to be fully functional required 2 coax inputs and 2 cablecards (and 2 TAs if your provider uses SDV).

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 1070
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: Feature Request

Post by NedS »

linksys7 wrote:
Wed Apr 15, 2020 3:08 pm
Ok, say you have a HDHomeRun Prime 3 with Cablecard hooked up. Then you take one of the Connect's and connect it via cable wire, usb, or software based to the Prime 3 and it would expand your tuners from 3 to 5 if your using say a Connect Duo. Obviously there is a limitation based on the Adapter Tuner, but if you all ready have a Prime 3, it would allow you to expand your system at lower cost. I'm just looking at the versatility of it.

And granted I'm nowhere close to knowing how the inner workings of them are but was just curious for knowledge purposes.
That won't work.

linksys7
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2020 6:10 am

Re: Feature Request

Post by linksys7 »

Ok gotcha, thank you for the explanation. It was just something I had thought of and didn't know if it was possible. Thanx

Post Reply