Can ATSC 3.0 be upgraded in firmware?

A place for people to discuss future hardware and software product news
Post Reply
Phoenixfury
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 5:55 am

Can ATSC 3.0 be upgraded in firmware?

Post by Phoenixfury » Thu Apr 11, 2019 8:54 am

I saw on Cord Cutters News that **** is upgrading their DVR's to ATSC 3.0. I assume this is a firmware of sorts. Will this be possible with existing HDHomerun tuners?

JeffRand
Posts: 203
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2014 9:30 am
Device ID: 131C369D, 1321FB16

Re: Can ATSC 3.0 be upgraded in firmware?

Post by JeffRand » Thu Apr 11, 2019 9:07 am

Phoenixfury wrote:
Thu Apr 11, 2019 8:54 am
I assume this is a firmware of sorts.
No, not exactly. They are talking about extra hardware, a separate USB tuner that plugs into it. It is what I would call an add-on.

wellthatsnotgood
Posts: 519
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 6:55 pm

Re: Can ATSC 3.0 be upgraded in firmware?

Post by wellthatsnotgood » Thu Apr 11, 2019 7:29 pm

No, it's not possible. ATSC 3.0 uses a different modulation (OFDM vs 8VSB for 1.0). It will require a completely different chip to decode (well unless there's something using a software defined radio for ATSC 1.0, but I haven't heard of any commercial products using that).

Post Reply