100 Base-TX high-speed network

A place for people to discuss future hardware and software product news
two.bits.11
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 10:48 pm

100 Base-TX high-speed network

Postby two.bits.11 » Sun Jan 20, 2019 9:21 am

I know this would be enough for six simultaneous HD streams, but what about six UHD streams? Does anyone know the bitrate of the UHD streams provided by the cable companies? This scenario may not be possible now, but will be over the next few years.

gtb
Expert
Posts: 3792
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 1:00 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA USA

Re: 100 Base-TX high-speed network

Postby gtb » Sun Jan 20, 2019 9:28 am

... but what about six UHD streams?
(true) UHD content will not be transmitted over linear QAM (with the random exception of stunts), so this is the wrong question.

two.bits.11
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 10:48 pm

Re: 100 Base-TX high-speed network

Postby two.bits.11 » Mon Jan 28, 2019 5:17 am

What would be the correct question?

My original question asked if anyone knew the bitrate of cable UHD streams. Will six cable UHD streams will fit within 100Mbps?

It does not matter if this is considered (true) UHD, so this is the wrong answer.

Possible Correct answer
If we think about this critically, each RF channel can handle a little under <insert bitrate>. Six <insert bitrate> streams would add up to <insert bitrate> total. Although this is over the theoretical max of 100Mbps, in reality cable UHD streams will be closer to <insert bitrate>. This would leave plenty of headroom with a theoretical max throughput of 100Mbps.

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 15180
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am

Re: 100 Base-TX high-speed network

Postby nickk » Mon Jan 28, 2019 9:43 am

Hi,

The maximum bandwidth of a CableCARD is 200Mbps.

For normal HD cable channels Everything is moving to h264 720p.
MPEG2 720p typical-max is around 12Mbps. h264 720p typical-max is around 4.5Mbps.

We have not seen UHD content on CableCARD. It is likely UHD content will be delivered via IP rather than CableCARD.

Nick

two.bits.11
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 10:48 pm

Re: 100 Base-TX high-speed network

Postby two.bits.11 » Mon Jan 28, 2019 8:44 pm

Thank you

Kendog52361
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2015 4:50 pm

Re: 100 Base-TX high-speed network

Postby Kendog52361 » Fri Feb 01, 2019 6:02 pm

Hi,

The maximum bandwidth of a CableCARD is 200Mbps.

For normal HD cable channels Everything is moving to h264 720p.
MPEG2 720p typical-max is around 12Mbps. h264 720p typical-max is around 4.5Mbps.

We have not seen UHD content on CableCARD. It is likely UHD content will be delivered via IP rather than CableCARD.

Nick
Since that UHD content would like be using ATSC 3.0, in some way, and the local broadcasters are likely to be switching to ATSC 3.0 in/around 2020, and feeding that ATSC 3.0 feed to the cable companies, can the Prime 6 and/or the Prime 3 handle that feed? If it doesn't, currently, can it be updated via a software update to do so? Presumably most people who buy new Primes will want to use them for several years, and if the local broadcasters switch to ATSC 3.0, and the cable companies just feed that through to their customers rather than transcoding it, we would want our Prime tuners to be able to receive and tune it rather than have to buy a new tuner after only a year or two.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 7806
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F

Re: 100 Base-TX high-speed network

Postby signcarver » Fri Feb 01, 2019 7:11 pm

Prime is cable only... nothing to do with atsc 3.0 (or any other version of atsc)

You will need a different/unannounced tuner for atsc 3.0

Kendog52361
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2015 4:50 pm

Re: 100 Base-TX high-speed network

Postby Kendog52361 » Tue Feb 05, 2019 6:10 pm

Prime is cable only... nothing to do with atsc 3.0 (or any other version of atsc)

You will need a different/unannounced tuner for atsc 3.0
I'm aware that the Prime is cable only. My question was if the cable companies receive ATSC 3.0 from the broadcasters and feed it directly through to their customers, rather than re-modulate the signal from that ATSC 3.0 QAM to the Cable QAM, then can the Prime read it since it's coming from the cable broadcaster? If it can't, currently, than can it receive a software update to enable it to read that signal from the cable company. Or, are we simply out of luck and can't watch those channels no matter what unless we buy a second/third device to tune that. I fully understand if the Prime 3 can't read it and can't be updated to support that, but the Prime 6 is coming out "soon" and is likely to be expected to be used for many years.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 7806
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F

Re: 100 Base-TX high-speed network

Postby signcarver » Tue Feb 05, 2019 7:25 pm

You would be out of luck if they managed to do that but won't be an issue as that has nothing to do with what the cable company can and would put out. The closest thing would be they deliver such via ip which the prime wouldn't handle anyway.


Return to “Future Product Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest