6 tuner prime soon !!!

A place for people to discuss future hardware and software product news
Post Reply
ihermit2
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 10:41 am

Re: 6 tuner prime soon !!!

Post by ihermit2 » Wed May 08, 2019 2:20 am

Rickt1962 wrote:
Tue Apr 30, 2019 10:55 am
ihermit2 wrote:
Tue Apr 30, 2019 6:41 am
IN a perfect world cable cards and the need for the prime 6 would continue into the 4k content on cable and cable like providers. Satellite would be brought to heal and required to provide cable card access. And SD would not have their hardware all designed and specced out and be able to get us the bandwidth for 6 4k streams.

Unfortunately I'm pretty sure when the switch to 4k happens there will be "raisins" that cable will not be able to support cable card any more and we'll need new solutions and may finally have to give up the control of how and when we spend time on content. But I can keep dreaming.
Cable cards are not tuners. They send and receive encryption keys
I am aware fo this. However once a cable card is not in the equation I have to buy a new tuner anyway so I won't care what speed of interface is used on the Prime6.

rmalbers
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 7:43 am

Re: 6 tuner prime soon !!!

Post by rmalbers » Wed May 08, 2019 9:27 am

On the network interface topic: I would bet that the network interface is locked in when a give main CPU/etc chip is picked, they are basically one hardware package along with the basic support firmware provided by the manufacturer of the chip.

go45cvi
Posts: 759
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 11:37 am

Re: 6 tuner prime soon !!!

Post by go45cvi » Thu May 09, 2019 10:01 am

5 or 6 is better than the zero streams their current product line supports

NYPlayer
Posts: 3538
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 11:45 am
Device ID: 104112F4,104162C4,10438DAD,10438DF5,10701381,13147C7B,131A192A
Location: Portland OR, 97217

Re: 6 tuner prime soon !!!

Post by NYPlayer » Thu May 09, 2019 10:40 am

If it wasn't for the promise of DRM recording I wouldn't even need the Primes.... even the recording of XFINITY DRM Channels can be done legally with other options. I am just getting tired of unfulfilled promises and excuses. I am looking at best Options on using Silicondust just for OTA and other services for cable.... So yes I have lost interest in the Prime 6.

bruiserker
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 12:27 pm

Re: 6 tuner prime soon !!!

Post by bruiserker » Sat May 11, 2019 6:09 am

NYPlayer wrote:
Thu May 09, 2019 10:40 am
If it wasn't for the promise of DRM recording I wouldn't even need the Primes.... even the recording of XFINITY DRM Channels can be done legally with other options. I am just getting tired of unfulfilled promises and excuses. I am looking at best Options on using Silicondust just for OTA and other services for cable.... So yes I have lost interest in the Prime 6.
[removed by moderator - see forum rules]

JeffRand
Posts: 206
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2014 9:30 am
Device ID: 131C369D, 1321FB16

Re: 6 tuner prime soon !!!

Post by JeffRand » Sun May 12, 2019 5:31 am

I have lost interest in the Prime 6
Last edited by JeffRand on Sun May 12, 2019 9:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

Rickt1962
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 2:17 pm

Re: 6 tuner prime soon !!!

Post by Rickt1962 » Sun May 12, 2019 5:56 am

NYPlayer wrote:
Thu May 09, 2019 10:40 am
If it wasn't for the promise of DRM recording I wouldn't even need the Primes.... even the recording of XFINITY DRM Channels can be done legally with other options. I am just getting tired of unfulfilled promises and excuses. I am looking at best Options on using Silicondust just for OTA and other services for cable.... So yes I have lost interest in the Prime 6.
Would like a OTA box also but they haven't announced any plans on a ATSC 3.0 box . I did get a email trying to push soon to be outdated boxes

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 15524
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am

Re: 6 tuner prime soon !!!

Post by nickk » Sun May 12, 2019 9:15 am

Rickt1962 wrote:
Sun May 12, 2019 5:56 am
Would like a OTA box also but they haven't announced any plans on a ATSC 3.0 box . I did get a email trying to push soon to be outdated boxes
The new SCRIBE and SERVIO products will record from any HDHomeRun tuners on the network, including CableCARD tuners and future ATSC 3.0 tuners. The built-in ATSC 1.0 tuners on SCRIBE will also continue to work as ATSC 1.0 is expected to be around for years to come.

crashnburn
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 3:21 pm

Re: 6 tuner prime soon !!!

Post by crashnburn » Sat May 25, 2019 3:19 pm

Will the prime 6 support 4k? I assume no but figured I'd ask since I didn't see it mentioned in the product page.

Kendog52361
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2015 4:50 pm

Re: 6 tuner prime soon !!!

Post by Kendog52361 » Sat May 25, 2019 3:32 pm

crashnburn wrote:
Sat May 25, 2019 3:19 pm
Will the prime 6 support 4k? I assume no but figured I'd ask since I didn't see it mentioned in the product page.
Yes and no. Yes, in that it's codec and definition agnostic. It doesn't care whether it's SD, HD, 1080HD, or even 2K or 4K. However, since apparently a lot of 4K is going to be sent over IP, that is a problem. It's a problem because the Prime 6 apparently doesn't have support, nor have any known plans to add support for IP or IPTV capability.

So, to summarize, if it's sent over the traditional cable system, it's good to go, regardless of size (resolution), codec (MPEG2, MPEG4/H.264, HEVC/H.265). If it's sent over IP, then it's out of luck and can't receive the signal.

bruiserker
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 12:27 pm

Re: 6 tuner prime soon !!!

Post by bruiserker » Tue May 28, 2019 11:35 am

Will the Prime 6 be compatible with Win MCE? Only interested if I can keep using a decent UI.

gtb
Expert
Posts: 3985
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 1:00 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA USA

Re: 6 tuner prime soon !!!

Post by gtb » Tue May 28, 2019 12:13 pm

bruiserker wrote:
Tue May 28, 2019 11:35 am
Will the Prime 6 be compatible with Win MCE? Only interested if I can keep using a decent UI.
My recollection is WMC has a limitation such that it will only support 4 tuners of a specific type unless you use a third party "adjustment" tool. Other than that, even though the docs are a bit muddled about legacy support, I would be amazed if WMC would not work (well, until MS finally EoL's WMC (01/20 for Win7, 01/23 for Win8.1 with the Media Center pack)). As with much else, until it actually ships and someone confirms capabilities as shipped (and not as rumored or even planned (reality sometimes changes)) you should never make assumptions.

Ken.F
Posts: 2124
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:20 am
Device ID: 1041A706, 1043EB32, 104BAD9E, 13168DC5, 1322A7AC
Location: West Rockhill, PA

Re: 6 tuner prime soon !!!

Post by Ken.F » Tue May 28, 2019 12:26 pm

gtb wrote:
Tue May 28, 2019 12:13 pm
My recollection is WMC has a limitation such that it will only support 4 tuners of a specific type unless you use a third party "adjustment" tool.
Yes, WMC will only accept up to 4 CableCARD, 4 QAM, and 4 OTA tuners unless you make an "adjustment". TunerSalad (now freeware) is probably the easiest way to do it but EPG123 can also be used to increase the 4 tuner per type limit.
http://www.mychannellogos.com/tunersalad
http://epg123.garyan2.net

bruiserker
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 12:27 pm

Re: 6 tuner prime soon !!!

Post by bruiserker » Sat Jun 01, 2019 1:46 am

Ken.F wrote:
Tue May 28, 2019 12:26 pm
gtb wrote:
Tue May 28, 2019 12:13 pm
My recollection is WMC has a limitation such that it will only support 4 tuners of a specific type unless you use a third party "adjustment" tool.
Yes, WMC will only accept up to 4 CableCARD, 4 QAM, and 4 OTA tuners unless you make an "adjustment". TunerSalad (now freeware) is probably the easiest way to do it but EPG123 can also be used to increase the 4 tuner per type limit.
http://www.mychannellogos.com/tunersalad
http://epg123.garyan2.net
Guess I won't be moving to the 6 then. Not at least until M$ stops providing guide data and I'm forced to use EPG123. Thanks for the info.

GetMatt
Posts: 1820
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 3:45 pm
Device ID: 1310683C, 13196816, 10733FC0

Re: 6 tuner prime soon !!!

Post by GetMatt » Sat Jun 01, 2019 8:11 am

bruiserker wrote:
Sat Jun 01, 2019 1:46 am
Ken.F wrote:
Tue May 28, 2019 12:26 pm
gtb wrote:
Tue May 28, 2019 12:13 pm
My recollection is WMC has a limitation such that it will only support 4 tuners of a specific type unless you use a third party "adjustment" tool.
Yes, WMC will only accept up to 4 CableCARD, 4 QAM, and 4 OTA tuners unless you make an "adjustment". TunerSalad (now freeware) is probably the easiest way to do it but EPG123 can also be used to increase the 4 tuner per type limit.
http://www.mychannellogos.com/tunersalad
http://epg123.garyan2.net
Guess I won't be moving to the 6 then. Not at least until M$ stops providing guide data and I'm forced to use EPG123. Thanks for the info.
Why would that decision be dependent on guide data when you can utilize all 6 w/o paying for guide data by using tuner salad?

Post Reply