Recording DRM

A place for people to discuss future hardware and software product news
davefoc
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 7:19 pm

Re: Recording DRM

Post by davefoc »

I just found out that you can't record DRM protected programs. I did an experiment a few years ago that convinced me that this was working so I didn't check to make sure it was working now. Nuts. Not sure how I screwed up that experiment. The point of it was to prove HDHomeRun DVR would work for us. I must have been confused but I don't know how it happened.

I just took a look at the alternatives and none of them seem great. I am not looking for a science project. Right now I'm down to two solutions:
1. Keep our old Win 7 WMC machine limping along until HDHomerun DVR software can record DRM protected material.
2. Try getting WMC to run under Win 10 on our new machine. It seems more straightforward than it has been in the past to do that.

Any other suggestions? Thanks

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9132
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: Recording DRM

Post by signcarver »

#1 is the only thing that can work for recording DRM protected channels with a prime... the 2nd would use such an old version of windows 10 that windows 7 would still be better. From your other post make sure you know what DRM is as you may have been referring to encrypted channels and not DRM protected channels.

simas
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 6:30 pm

Re: Recording DRM

Post by simas »

GhostPeter wrote: Wed Jul 22, 2020 5:54 am
NedS wrote: Tue Jul 21, 2020 4:32 pm Proof of concept was already done on this earlier this year.
5 years in and just now you have a proof of concept?

This is laughable. Be honest with your paying customers.
So you have been paying monthly fees for your Prime to Silicondust all these years??? Really?? or you have some parallel universe in which newly offered DVR service stated DRM recording out of the box now ?? Neither is really, Prime did not come with any monthly fees nor DVR service ever stated current support for DRM recording.

I understand the impatience (and share it) however people should just stop with made up fantasies of what they are entitled to...

SD was very clear and upfront regarding what they product do and do not (at least yet). you are welcome to use the products or not use it, leaving the childish insults and victim play somewhere else.

you are entitled to your opinion , you are just not entitled to your own facts..

mcewinter
Posts: 672
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 4:36 pm
Device ID: 131044D3, 103188F3
Location: Chicago

Re: Recording DRM

Post by mcewinter »

simas wrote: Thu Jul 30, 2020 11:26 am
GhostPeter wrote: Wed Jul 22, 2020 5:54 am
NedS wrote: Tue Jul 21, 2020 4:32 pm Proof of concept was already done on this earlier this year.
5 years in and just now you have a proof of concept?

This is laughable. Be honest with your paying customers.
So you have been paying monthly fees for your Prime to Silicondust all these years??? Really?? or you have some parallel universe in which newly offered DVR service stated DRM recording out of the box now ?? Neither is really, Prime did not come with any monthly fees nor DVR service ever stated current support for DRM recording.

I understand the impatience (and share it) however people should just stop with made up fantasies of what they are entitled to...

SD was very clear and upfront regarding what they product do and do not (at least yet). you are welcome to use the products or not use it, leaving the childish insults and victim play somewhere else.

you are entitled to your opinion , you are just not entitled to your own facts..
I don't think people are being impatient as much as they are discouraged. DRM Recording implementation has been a loooooooooong time in the making. There's no denying that.

bruiserker
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 12:27 pm

Re: Recording DRM

Post by bruiserker »

mcewinter wrote: Fri Jul 31, 2020 4:46 am
simas wrote: Thu Jul 30, 2020 11:26 am
GhostPeter wrote: Wed Jul 22, 2020 5:54 am

5 years in and just now you have a proof of concept?

This is laughable. Be honest with your paying customers.
So you have been paying monthly fees for your Prime to Silicondust all these years??? Really?? or you have some parallel universe in which newly offered DVR service stated DRM recording out of the box now ?? Neither is really, Prime did not come with any monthly fees nor DVR service ever stated current support for DRM recording.

I understand the impatience (and share it) however people should just stop with made up fantasies of what they are entitled to...

SD was very clear and upfront regarding what they product do and do not (at least yet). you are welcome to use the products or not use it, leaving the childish insults and victim play somewhere else.

you are entitled to your opinion , you are just not entitled to your own facts..
I don't think people are being impatient as much as they are discouraged. DRM Recording implementation has been a loooooooooong time in the making. There's no denying that.
I paid over $100 to their first kickstarter for a WMC replacement, and all I've gotten was a crappy UI that fairly recently (in relation to the campaign) played DRM channels, and no ability to record DRM. Oh, and basically told I'm an idiot for preferring a grid guide instead of their super smart way of finding programming.

I'm using Win7, EPG123, and Schedules Direct. I'll continue with this until no longer viable, but I refuse to give SD another red cent.

GetMatt
Posts: 1908
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 3:45 pm
Device ID: 1310683C, 13196816, 10733FC0

Re: Recording DRM

Post by GetMatt »

bruiserker wrote: Fri Aug 07, 2020 4:32 am
mcewinter wrote: Fri Jul 31, 2020 4:46 am
simas wrote: Thu Jul 30, 2020 11:26 am

So you have been paying monthly fees for your Prime to Silicondust all these years??? Really?? or you have some parallel universe in which newly offered DVR service stated DRM recording out of the box now ?? Neither is really, Prime did not come with any monthly fees nor DVR service ever stated current support for DRM recording.

I understand the impatience (and share it) however people should just stop with made up fantasies of what they are entitled to...

SD was very clear and upfront regarding what they product do and do not (at least yet). you are welcome to use the products or not use it, leaving the childish insults and victim play somewhere else.

you are entitled to your opinion , you are just not entitled to your own facts..
I don't think people are being impatient as much as they are discouraged. DRM Recording implementation has been a loooooooooong time in the making. There's no denying that.
I paid over $100 to their first kickstarter for a WMC replacement, and all I've gotten was a crappy UI that fairly recently (in relation to the campaign) played DRM channels, and no ability to record DRM. Oh, and basically told I'm an idiot for preferring a grid guide instead of their super smart way of finding programming.

I'm using Win7, EPG123, and Schedules Direct. I'll continue with this until no longer viable, but I refuse to give SD another red cent.
DRM playback of liveTV was first released on Win10 and Xbox in February 2017 which was 3-1/2 years ago. The Kickstarter was funded 5 years ago. I would not call that recent. They also specifically said in the Kickstarter that DRM playback was the biggest risk and may not be able to supported.

That being said looking back and seeing that we’ve been able to watch but not record DRM for 3-1/2 years a little discouraging. We have in the mean time dropped cable and hope when the new company came in (within the next month or two) that we could sign up again. I do not think that timing will likely work, though I could be wrong.

charles
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2009 12:33 pm

Re: Recording DRM

Post by charles »

I bet working with Cablelabs and other industry groups obstructionist to open standards and competition, not to mention the FCC, is a real chore. Admitting that would be burning bridges though :P

tecman4
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 5:44 am

Re: Recording DRM

Post by tecman4 »

Any update?
Is this not going to happen?
I hate to think I just wasted my kick starter money
My cable system has always been full DRM, so I have never been able to record

mcewinter
Posts: 672
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 4:36 pm
Device ID: 131044D3, 103188F3
Location: Chicago

Re: Recording DRM

Post by mcewinter »

tecman4 wrote: Tue Sep 22, 2020 1:16 pm Any update?
Is this not going to happen?
I hate to think I just wasted my kick starter money
My cable system has always been full DRM, so I have never been able to record
This is a valid question. Is DRM still tied to the advent of the Prime6? We know nothing has been officially announced if the Prime 6 is still on, but what about DRM?

jasonl
Expert
Posts: 15306
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Recording DRM

Post by jasonl »

DRM recording support was never tied to the release of the PRIME 6. DRM support is useful for the original PRIME as well as potential future projects (e.g.. DRM support for the ATSC 3 model if stations decide to shoot themselves in the balls and turn on DRM, or potential future CI+ models for the DVB world). The PRIME 6, on the other hand, makes no sense to release without DRM support. It's a one-way dependency.

mcewinter
Posts: 672
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 4:36 pm
Device ID: 131044D3, 103188F3
Location: Chicago

Re: Recording DRM

Post by mcewinter »

jasonl wrote: Fri Sep 25, 2020 10:34 pm DRM recording support was never tied to the release of the PRIME 6. DRM support is useful for the original PRIME as well as potential future projects (e.g.. DRM support for the ATSC 3 model if stations decide to shoot themselves in the balls and turn on DRM, or potential future CI+ models for the DVB world). The PRIME 6, on the other hand, makes no sense to release without DRM support. It's a one-way dependency.
They were somehow tied together in older announcements, albeit superficially, rather than technically. The future of Prime 6 being in question merely raised the question of the future of a DRM solution, but you're saying ATSC 3.0 may have the same prerequisite.

rpcameron
Posts: 956
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 9:55 am

Re: Recording DRM

Post by rpcameron »

I still remember the post from a couple years ago—not sure if it's been culled yet—where an SD employee (I believe it was Nick) mentioned that a version of DRM recording was in testing and working well. That was over a year ago, and still the idea of a WMC replacement is a shadow.

DRM was mentioned as a reached-goal for the DVR Kickstarter years ago—feels like a decade, but barely shorter—and there hasn't even been a whisper of this making to the hands of users. Is DRM recording ever going to happen, or should users still cling to their aged and EOLed WMC installations?!

I get not wanting to over-promise and under-deliver, but DRM recording was promised years ago, hinted at numerous times, and only tangentially mentioned after its initial bluster …

charles
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2009 12:33 pm

Re: Recording DRM

Post by charles »

The content providers (Cable, Networks) are going to do everything in their power not to let you have this. They want you to pay the rental fees for their boxes or subscription fees for their streaming services.

Post Reply