Synology SPK for DVR Record Engine

Downloads & Instructions
Post Reply
demonrik
Posts: 1412
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 108042A1, 10814D8E
x 21

Re: Synology SPK for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

TimodReynolds wrote: Fri Jul 16, 2021 5:38 am I'm having an issue with recording. The DVR manager is not able to find the tuners and says I have 0 channels. When I visit the IP address of the tuner (HDHR5-4K) i have no problems and there appears to be nothing wrong with the tuner (all channels show up) and more importantly, I am able to watch live TV through the HD homerun software and there are more than zero channels. Also, it appears I can start a recording when using the HDHomeRun windows 10 app and tell it to record right now but not if I schedule it?

This is on my Synology NAS running DSM 6 and using DVR manager 1.0.2. The tuner is on record engine 20210624. I feel like an upgrade in the recording engine might have caused this but I don't know for sure. All I know is that my system stopped recording things within the last few months.
What do you get when you click on the diagnostics (gear icon top right of UI)?
In particular does the account or connectivity sections report anything?

2 main issues are usually
A firewall or network config blocking route from NAS to the tuners/internet.
Or
No tuners registered with DVR service.. maybe has expired.

demonrik
Posts: 1412
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 108042A1, 10814D8E
x 21

Re: Synology SPK for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

demonrik wrote: Fri Jul 16, 2021 6:41 am
TimodReynolds wrote: Fri Jul 16, 2021 5:38 am ....
....
Just posting back we solved @TimodReynolds issue
But something for SD folks to look at.

Their tuner for some reason had an extra response in the discover URL for his Tuner

Code: Select all

{"FriendlyName":"HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K",
"ModelNumber":"HDHR5-4K",
"FirmwareName":"hdhomerun5_atsc3",
"FirmwareVersion":"20210624",
"DeviceID":"1080A7AB",
"DeviceAuth":"XXX",
"BaseURL":"http://192.168.1.6:80",
"LineupURL":"http://192.168.1.6:80/lineup.json",
"TunerCount":4}
{"mode":"full",
"isActive":false}
This was resulting in requests to the servers responding with no entry for tuners.
No idea why a tuner would be 'full' or what it was full of..
A reset of the tuner removed this addition to the discover and everything now works

TimodReynolds
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 7:28 pm

Re: Synology SPK for DVR Record Engine

Post by TimodReynolds »

Turns out it's not working. I tried setting a recording for 1 PM after my conversation with @demonrik it still cant find tuners:

When I look at discover.json it says:
{"FriendlyName":"HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K","ModelNumber":"HDHR5-4K","FirmwareName":"hdhomerun5_atsc3","FirmwareVersion":"20210624","DeviceID":"1080A7AB","DeviceAuth":"Azi830F-e_LIt8aD8MZFV6cj","BaseURL":"http://192.168.1.6:80","LineupURL":"http://192.168.1.6:80/lineup.json","TunerCount":4}

But when the recording is supposed to happen this is what i get out:

20210716-17:59:50 Status: Resource: nbk=0 dmk=723
20210716-17:59:50 Status: Recording: Clifford the Big Red Dog S03E24 20200910 [20210716-1730] from 1080A7AB (126MB)
20210716-17:59:50 Status: Starting: Sesame Street S50E24 20200425 [20210716-1800]
20210716-17:59:50 Recording: stream from 1080A7AB closed - retrying Clifford the Big Red Dog S03E24 20200910 [20210716-1730]
20210716-17:59:50 Recording: stream from 1080A7AB closed - retrying Sesame Street S50E24 20200425 [20210716-1800]
20210716-17:59:51 Recording: no tuners available to record Clifford the Big Red Dog S03E24 20200910 [20210716-1730]
20210716-17:59:51 Recording: no tuners available to record Sesame Street S50E24 20200425 [20210716-1800]
20210716-18:00:00 Recording: event Sesame Street S50E24 20200425 [20210716-1800] existing file state = start
20210716-18:00:00 Recording: next timer event in 0h30m30s
20210716-18:00:41 Recording: sending request to 1080A7AB at 192.168.1.6 for Sesame Street S50E24 20200425 [20210716-1800]
20210716-18:00:44 Recording: stream from 1080A7AB closed - retrying Sesame Street S50E24 20200425 [20210716-1800]
20210716-18:00:45 Recording: no tuners available to record Sesame Street S50E24 20200425 [20210716-1800]
20210716-18:01:50 Status: Resource: nbk=0 dmk=722
20210716-18:01:50 Status: Starting: Sesame Street S50E24 20200425 [20210716-1800]

demonrik wrote: Fri Jul 16, 2021 10:58 am
demonrik wrote: Fri Jul 16, 2021 6:41 am
TimodReynolds wrote: Fri Jul 16, 2021 5:38 am ....
....
Just posting back we solved @TimodReynolds issue
But something for SD folks to look at.

Their tuner for some reason had an extra response in the discover URL for his Tuner

Code: Select all

{"FriendlyName":"HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K",
"ModelNumber":"HDHR5-4K",
"FirmwareName":"hdhomerun5_atsc3",
"FirmwareVersion":"20210624",
"DeviceID":"1080A7AB",
"DeviceAuth":"XXX",
"BaseURL":"http://192.168.1.6:80",
"LineupURL":"http://192.168.1.6:80/lineup.json",
"TunerCount":4}
{"mode":"full",
"isActive":false}
This was resulting in requests to the servers responding with no entry for tuners.
No idea why a tuner would be 'full' or what it was full of..
A reset of the tuner removed this addition to the discover and everything now works

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9768
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 10A05954 10802091 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36
x 20

Re: Synology SPK for DVR Record Engine

Post by signcarver »

Did you by chance reboot the tuner again and if so did you restart the DVR as there can be an up to 2 hour delay between syncing if things change? Have you played with setting of the max record streams (RecordStreamsMax) as I think someone else was getting that error when it was set to 0 and it wasn't obvious.

I would check the logs of the tuner to make sure it got the request.

TimodReynolds
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 7:28 pm

Re: Synology SPK for DVR Record Engine

Post by TimodReynolds »

I've tried resetting everything. Sadly that doesnt appear to help. Also its always been set to 16 max streams

Here's also another thing I see when watching live:

20210717-00:22:51 Recording: starting new file Live channel 9.2 606fde77
20210717-00:22:51 Recording: sending request to 1080A7AB at 192.168.1.6 for Live channel 9.2 606fde77
20210717-00:22:54 Recording: stream from 1080A7AB closed - retrying Live channel 9.2 606fde77
20210717-00:22:55 Recording: no tuners available to record Live channel 9.2 606fde77

TimodReynolds
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 7:28 pm

Re: Synology SPK for DVR Record Engine

Post by TimodReynolds »

OK, so I stopped the SPK. Then I updated and ran the official hdhomerun setup to get the DVR running the "normal" way. Oddly the SPK is still not running but if I can still go to the HDHomerunDVR Manager at http://192.168.1.5/HDHomeRunDVR/# and now it shows:

DeviceID: 1080A7AB
FWName: hdhomerun5_atsc3
FWVer: 20210624
Tuners: 4 tuners
Channels: 52 Channels

previously it showed no tuners and 0 channels.

So presumably that's a good sign. I think it's working. Dare I try and start the Synology SPK ?


edit:
that only lasted a few minutes and it went back to showing no tuners and no channels. Whether i installed the SPK or not. I've installed my old 2 tuner device and its working well and recording:

HDHomeRun CONNECT
DeviceID: 104505F8
FWName: hdhomerun4_atsc
FWVer: 20210624
Tuners: 2 tuners
Channels: 63 Channels

while the 4k one is doing this:
(blank)
DeviceID: 1080A7AB
FWName:
FWVer:
Tuners: unknown tuners
Channels: 0 Channels
Last edited by TimodReynolds on Fri Jul 16, 2021 7:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DornoDios
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2020 9:33 pm
Device ID: 107C3D26
x 2

Re: Synology SPK for DVR Record Engine

Post by DornoDios »

signcarver wrote: Thu Jul 15, 2021 4:39 pm But for the life of me since this is on the Synology thread, I can't see why one would have deleted through the app to make space (its a bit different situation with a scribe, servio, and possibly flex but the flex is so much easier to "pop" the drive since its external, as there isn't files system access to such) because if you delete the files (not through app) they would record again...
I deleted the files through Windows Explorer in Windows 10. Both drives in my NAS are mapped to Windows 10 as network connected drives. It's much easier to delete the files that way as you have said. I can get rid of the last 10 nightly news episodes in a single action.

Apparently when the software records an episode it is automatically set to never record again unless you select "delete and re-record" or the program is flagged as new. One exception to this are the local news broadcasts. There may be other exceptions, but that is the only one I'm aware of.

My original post stated that I deleted the files over the network, but I edited it to save space. That ended up causing it to take up more space because now I'm making another post. Lol.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9768
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 10A05954 10802091 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36
x 20

Re: Synology SPK for DVR Record Engine

Post by signcarver »

That's not the way it's supposed to be as it is supposed to record again unless deleted through app (default through app is not to record again) that way it will rerecord if you accidentally lose the file.

One other thing to look for is if the rule had an AfterOriginalAirdateOnly set which will only record episodes after that date (or recent/ current season which is originally aired in past 90 days) . I don't think that's your issue as you said you deleted and recreated the rule which should have got rid of that but there have been a few utilities out there allowing one to set such as new episodes only which set that date into the future as FirstAiring overrides other logic.

TimodReynolds
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 7:28 pm

Re: Synology SPK for DVR Record Engine

Post by TimodReynolds »

OK, great news :D Figured it out. Of course, it was my fault but it wasn't completely obvious at least. I just had to think back to the major changes I made during a recent upgrade. I recently upgraded my router and one key feature I wanted to take advantage of was pair-bonding (link aggregation) because my NAS also has that capability. Won't that be great those kinds of things always are so straightforward? I can get 2000 MBPS no problem, right?

Anyway, I guess I didn't match up the type of pair-bonding settings in the NAS with what the router was capable of. And somehow this caused interference with my NAS and the HDHomeRun tuners. I'm not exactly sure what it was doing to screw up my system but after looking closely at both of the pair-bonding settings available for my ASUS router and my Synology DS718+, I managed to select the correct setting on the NAS. After that everything works like a charm. Still get my theoretical 2000 MBPS too.
TimodReynolds wrote: Fri Jul 16, 2021 5:57 pm OK, so I stopped the SPK. Then I updated and ran the official hdhomerun setup to get the DVR running the "normal" way. Oddly the SPK is still not running but if I can still go to the HDHomerunDVR Manager at http://192.168.1.5/HDHomeRunDVR/# and now it shows:

DeviceID: 1080A7AB
FWName: hdhomerun5_atsc3
FWVer: 20210624
Tuners: 4 tuners
Channels: 52 Channels

previously it showed no tuners and 0 channels.

So presumably that's a good sign. I think it's working. Dare I try and start the Synology SPK ?


edit:
that only lasted a few minutes and it went back to showing no tuners and no channels. Whether i installed the SPK or not. I've installed my old 2 tuner device and its working well and recording:

HDHomeRun CONNECT
DeviceID: 104505F8
FWName: hdhomerun4_atsc
FWVer: 20210624
Tuners: 2 tuners
Channels: 63 Channels

while the 4k one is doing this:
(blank)
DeviceID: 1080A7AB
FWName:
FWVer:
Tuners: unknown tuners
Channels: 0 Channels

demonrik
Posts: 1412
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 108042A1, 10814D8E
x 21

Re: Synology SPK for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

TimodReynolds wrote: Mon Jul 19, 2021 5:19 pm OK, great news :D Figured it out. Of course, it was my fault but it wasn't completely obvious at least. I just had to think back to the major changes I made during a recent upgrade. I recently upgraded my router and one key feature I wanted to take advantage of was pair-bonding (link aggregation) because my NAS also has that capability. Won't that be great those kinds of things always are so straightforward? I can get 2000 MBPS no problem, right?

Anyway, I guess I didn't match up the type of pair-bonding settings in the NAS with what the router was capable of. And somehow this caused interference with my NAS and the HDHomeRun tuners. I'm not exactly sure what it was doing to screw up my system but after looking closely at both of the pair-bonding settings available for my ASUS router and my Synology DS718+, I managed to select the correct setting on the NAS. After that everything works like a charm. Still get my theoretical 2000 MBPS too.
Nice - glad you got it working.

DornoDios
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2020 9:33 pm
Device ID: 107C3D26
x 2

Re: Synology SPK for DVR Record Engine

Post by DornoDios »

signcarver wrote: Fri Jul 16, 2021 8:29 pm That's not the way it's supposed to be as it is supposed to record again unless deleted through app (default through app is not to record again) that way it will rerecord if you accidentally lose the file.
You are correct (as you know, lol).

Some episodes were watched and deleted through Kodi. I don't watch the show so I did not realize that. I had to check with a family member and they did indeed watch the show regularly for the first couple of months it was recording and deleted the episodes after watching them.

So the episodes that I deleted via File Explorer were still recording and the episodes that were skipped must be the ones that my family member watched and then deleted through Kodi.

Post Reply