Synology SPK for DVR Record Engine

Downloads & Instructions
Post Reply
signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8728
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: Synology SPK for DVR Record Engine

Post by signcarver » Thu Aug 30, 2018 11:57 am

I believe you need another 3 posts before you can PM (but please don't spam just to get up to that level).

Since you stated such and tried, perhaps that would be enough for demonrik to go and pm you the info (its generally frowned upon to pm without permission) but you would not be able to respond.

demonrik
Posts: 1189
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 10736454, 1073A35A, 1075C377

Re: Synology SPK for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik » Thu Aug 30, 2018 2:26 pm

dochockey wrote:
Thu Aug 30, 2018 11:43 am
Sure. How do I PM you? I clicked on your name, but "contact" is ghosted out.
am travelling until sunday. will pm instructions over the weekend

sccrgoalie1
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 11:45 am

Re: Synology SPK for DVR Record Engine

Post by sccrgoalie1 » Fri Sep 07, 2018 5:14 pm

I having trouble getting this working. I installed the 0.4.2-20180817.spk yesterday and got it up and running. All was working fine. Today I'm getting DVR failure when trying to play anything, no recordings are found, and no logs are being created.

The only changes I made since yesterday were rebooting the NAS and updating the file station app.

I doubled checked the permissions of the share for the group http has read/write permissions. I've rebooted via the DVR manager, and still get DVR failure.

I set permissions of the directory via chown -R http /volume1/HDHomeRunDVR/* and chmod -R 777 "/volume1/HDHomeRunDVR/"

I can see on the DVR manager that the record path is /volume1/HDHomeRunDVR
the config file is /volume1/@appstore/HDHomeRunDVR/etc/HDHomeRunDVR.conf
the port is 59090

If someone from Silicondust sees this my device ID is 1070A3D6.

sccrgoalie1
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 11:45 am

Re: Synology SPK for DVR Record Engine

Post by sccrgoalie1 » Fri Sep 07, 2018 5:35 pm

sccrgoalie1 wrote:
Fri Sep 07, 2018 5:14 pm
I having trouble getting this working. I installed the 0.4.2-20180817.spk yesterday and got it up and running. All was working fine. Today I'm getting DVR failure when trying to play anything, no recordings are found, and no logs are being created.

The only changes I made since yesterday were rebooting the NAS and updating the file station app.

I doubled checked the permissions of the share for the group http has read/write permissions. I've rebooted via the DVR manager, and still get DVR failure.

I set permissions of the directory via chown -R http /volume1/HDHomeRunDVR/* and chmod -R 777 "/volume1/HDHomeRunDVR/"

I can see on the DVR manager that the record path is /volume1/HDHomeRunDVR
the config file is /volume1/@appstore/HDHomeRunDVR/etc/HDHomeRunDVR.conf
the port is 59090

If someone from Silicondust sees this my device ID is 1070A3D6.
I just restarted the package from Package Center and now it's working...

crzipilot
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 8:26 am

Re: Synology SPK for DVR Record Engine

Post by crzipilot » Tue Sep 11, 2018 9:26 am

Hello,

Just bought a Quatro, Live TV was working. Without reading everything etc, I attempted to install the DVR for synology DC1513+ from the silicondust package. I then saw this package here and installed that through the package center on the synology. With the DVR installed I get the Unknown channel message. I stop the dvr in the package center and live tv plays.

Anyone have any insight? I changed permissions on the share folder. I believe I followed the instructions on the going from SD install to this install, etc.........

What is supposed to be contained inside the .conf file?

This really is a little frustrating and would think it would be a little easier to setup.

device ID is 1074B693

Thanks

demonrik
Posts: 1189
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 10736454, 1073A35A, 1075C377

Re: Synology SPK for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik » Tue Sep 11, 2018 9:55 am

crzipilot wrote:
Tue Sep 11, 2018 9:26 am
Hello,

Just bought a Quatro, Live TV was working. Without reading everything etc, I attempted to install the DVR for synology DC1513+ from the silicondust package. I then saw this package here and installed that through the package center on the synology. With the DVR installed I get the Unknown channel message. I stop the dvr in the package center and live tv plays.

Anyone have any insight? I changed permissions on the share folder. I believe I followed the instructions on the going from SD install to this install, etc.........

What is supposed to be contained inside the .conf file?

This really is a little frustrating and would think it would be a little easier to setup.

device ID is 1074B693

Thanks
My guess is you didn't reboot the NAS between the installs of the DVR, thus you may have had 2 instances running. And since they are both on the same machine confusion occurs.
So first things first - you need to turn off all engines.
You can stop the SPK one from the App Center
Then for the SD one you can either reboot.. OR ssh to the NAS and execute

Code: Select all

sudo /volume1/HDHomeRun/hdhomerun_record stop
That should stop all engines.

The next step is pretty easy since you never really used the DVR from the SD installer.
But lets clean up just to be safe.
First uninstall the SPK from the app center..
Next open up your Control Panel and Open 'Shared Folder'
Delete the shares for HDHomeRun and HDHomeRunDVR

Now - all should be prestine and ready... Reinstall the SPK and enjoy.

crzipilot
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 8:26 am

Re: Synology SPK for DVR Record Engine

Post by crzipilot » Tue Sep 11, 2018 10:27 am

Let me try and will see what happens. Thanks

crzipilot
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 8:26 am

Re: Synology SPK for DVR Record Engine

Post by crzipilot » Tue Sep 11, 2018 11:07 am

I have to be doing something wrong. I stopped the SD dvr, I uninstalled SPK, I deleted the HDHomeRun and HDHomeRunDVR directories.

I redownloaded the SPK, and installed it through the Package center. On my PC I click on the HD app, and it plays, but it says No DVR configured. I go back and look at the Synology. and there isn't a HDHomeRunDVR subdirectory to be found or a HDHomeRun subdirectory. So I'm thinking I'm missing a step in the install?

the DVR app does come up,,,and I check the log it has this.

HDHomeRun RECORD 20180403beta1 Linux 6a8fd1a5-db6a-3586-3880-9d50a1115ef7

20180911-18:02:20 System: file limit = 4096

20180911-18:02:20 Recording: RecordPath[0] = '/volume1/HDHomeRunDVR/'

20180911-18:02:20 Recording: RecordPath /volume1/HDHomeRunDVR/ = ext

20180911-18:02:20 System: LocalIP: 192.168.1.35 255.255.255.0

20180911-18:02:20 System: website port = 59090

20180911-18:02:20 Recorded: RecordPath '/volume1/HDHomeRunDVR/' (ext)

20180911-18:02:20 Recorded: directory /volume1/HDHomeRunDVR/ with 0 subdirs and 0 recordings

20180911-18:02:20 Recording: discover on 192.168.1.255

20180911-18:02:20 Status: Resource: nbk=0 dmk=20

20180911-18:02:20 Status: ticks = 14445685

20180911-18:02:20 Recording: discover on 192.168.1.255

20180911-18:02:20 Recording: discover - no tuners detected

20180911-18:02:20 Recording: event download failed

20180911-18:02:20 Recording: disk space available = 14053GB

20180911-18:02:20 Recording: current time = Tue Sep 11 18:02:20 2018 (correction of 0s)

20180911-18:02:20 Recording: no timer events planned

demonrik
Posts: 1189
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 10736454, 1073A35A, 1075C377

Re: Synology SPK for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik » Tue Sep 11, 2018 11:15 am

crzipilot wrote:
Tue Sep 11, 2018 11:07 am
I have to be doing something wrong. I stopped the SD dvr, I uninstalled SPK, I deleted the HDHomeRun and HDHomeRunDVR directories.

I redownloaded the SPK, and installed it through the Package center. On my PC I click on the HD app, and it plays, but it says No DVR configured. I go back and look at the Synology. and there isn't a HDHomeRunDVR subdirectory to be found or a HDHomeRun subdirectory. So I'm thinking I'm missing a step in the install?

the DVR app does come up,,,and I check the log it has this.

HDHomeRun RECORD 20180403beta1 Linux 6a8fd1a5-db6a-3586-3880-9d50a1115ef7

20180911-18:02:20 System: file limit = 4096

20180911-18:02:20 Recording: RecordPath[0] = '/volume1/HDHomeRunDVR/'

20180911-18:02:20 Recording: RecordPath /volume1/HDHomeRunDVR/ = ext

20180911-18:02:20 System: LocalIP: 192.168.1.35 255.255.255.0

20180911-18:02:20 System: website port = 59090

20180911-18:02:20 Recorded: RecordPath '/volume1/HDHomeRunDVR/' (ext)

20180911-18:02:20 Recorded: directory /volume1/HDHomeRunDVR/ with 0 subdirs and 0 recordings

20180911-18:02:20 Recording: discover on 192.168.1.255

20180911-18:02:20 Status: Resource: nbk=0 dmk=20

20180911-18:02:20 Status: ticks = 14445685

20180911-18:02:20 Recording: discover on 192.168.1.255

20180911-18:02:20 Recording: discover - no tuners detected

20180911-18:02:20 Recording: event download failed

20180911-18:02:20 Recording: disk space available = 14053GB

20180911-18:02:20 Recording: current time = Tue Sep 11 18:02:20 2018 (correction of 0s)

20180911-18:02:20 Recording: no timer events planned
It has installed perfectly..
You won't see the HDHomeRunDVR Folder until you make it a share. But don't worry you don't need to have it a share to make it work.
I need to compile an update on a post here viewtopic.php?p=309570#p309570 which will explain how to share it out if needed.

Anyway - it's installed..
However your issue is that it's not finding your Tuners.
..
20180911-18:02:20 Recording: discover on 192.168.1.255
20180911-18:02:20 Recording: discover - no tuners detected
..

so lots of Qs from here.
1. I assume you have paid for DVR and gotten a registration/authorisation email with a link to http://my.hdhomerun.com/dvr/register.html and an activation code
2. Make sure you have run the activation.

If you have done that.. then there is something preventing the DVR engine on the NAS from seeing your Tuners
This could be bad connections, badly configured switches (VLANs, etc.) or more.
The NAS is trying to search for devices on the 192.168.1.xxx network..

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8728
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: Synology SPK for DVR Record Engine

Post by signcarver » Tue Sep 11, 2018 11:21 am

I didn't check which NAS but often such issue is multiple NICs (ethernet ports) on the same subnet confusing the discovery process (this includes nics that may lie in overlapping subnets)

crzipilot
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 8:26 am

Re: Synology SPK for DVR Record Engine

Post by crzipilot » Tue Sep 11, 2018 11:50 am

yes I did pay for the DVR service. I got the activation code last night, clicked it, and it said it updated. However when you goto the my.hdhomerun, it sees my tuners by doesn't say anything about DVR. That maybe an issue?

As to not seeing the HDHomerunDVR until making it a share, I guess I don't follow. I would imagine if I'm logged in as admin, I would see whatever folder is there? ssh I put in cd /volume1/hdhomerundvr/ and it says nothing found?

I have to run a few errands but will attack this a little more when I get back....

Thanks

demonrik
Posts: 1189
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 10736454, 1073A35A, 1075C377

Re: Synology SPK for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik » Tue Sep 11, 2018 12:53 pm

crzipilot wrote:
Tue Sep 11, 2018 11:50 am
yes I did pay for the DVR service. I got the activation code last night, clicked it, and it said it updated. However when you goto the my.hdhomerun, it sees my tuners by doesn't say anything about DVR. That maybe an issue?
Yep - that is an issue..
There is clearly an issue with your NAS connecting to internet (hence not on my.hdhomerun.com) and the NAS not seeing your Tuner devices.
If you can see the tuners on my.hdhomerun.com you can get their IP address.
As @signcarver mentions you might have something getting misconfigured with the 4x NICs that are on that NAS. Could be it's reaching out on the wrong network, or something causing issues with the broadcast address if all are same subnet. e.g. the broadcast could go out on one NIC, come back on another and thus be disregarded since it doesn't match the address of the NIC that sent it. If you can try with one NIC connected only.
Try ping one of them from the NAS via SSH. e.g.

Code: Select all

sudo ping -RV <my-tuner-ip>
As to not seeing the HDHomerunDVR until making it a share, I guess I don't follow. I would imagine if I'm logged in as admin, I would see whatever folder is there? ssh I put in cd /volume1/hdhomerundvr/ and it says nothing found?
It's a stupid thing with synology.. The File Station app will not show a 'folder' on the system unless it's a share.
SSH should work - but remember it's going to be case sensitive - so /volume1/HDHomeRunDVR should work.
your record engine log is actually telling you it is found and usable.
[/quote]

crzipilot
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 8:26 am

Re: Synology SPK for DVR Record Engine

Post by crzipilot » Tue Sep 11, 2018 1:40 pm

Could it be simply the port is open, hence the DVR isn't allowed out to internet? I'm half way able to follow the techie side of this, but too deep I start to get lost. HA. So my router / internet setup is ubiquiti unify setup. I've made the synology a static IP as well as the HD Home run.. I have a 8 port and 48 port switch which the synology and hdhomerun are hooked into.

Not sure what your meaning by the 4 NICs? Synology has 1 ethernet plug into it to the switch, and same with the HD Homerun, or are you talking about the 4 tuners?

This is what came with the Ping.

admin@Hanger:/volume1/HDHomeRunDVR$ sudo ping -RV 192.168.1.219
Password:
Sorry, try again.
Password:
ping utility, iputils-s20160308

crzipilot
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 8:26 am

Re: Synology SPK for DVR Record Engine

Post by crzipilot » Tue Sep 11, 2018 1:42 pm

Found what you mean by the 4 NICS. Only have 1 being used......


Also looking at the port forwarding rules on the router. I guess the initial install of the HDHR it was assigned and setup ports for .35 but today it was sitting on .219 and I made that static......changing the port rules to .219 and rebooting / restarting. But looking at the logs it's looking for discovery on .255 IP. Shouldn't it be looking for the tuners at the IP of the HDHR?

demonrik
Posts: 1189
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 10736454, 1073A35A, 1075C377

Re: Synology SPK for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik » Tue Sep 11, 2018 2:14 pm

crzipilot wrote:
Tue Sep 11, 2018 1:42 pm
Also looking at the port forwarding rules on the router. I guess the initial install of the HDHR it was assigned and setup ports for .35 but today it was sitting on .219 and I made that static......changing the port rules to .219 and rebooting / restarting. But looking at the logs it's looking for discovery on .255 IP. Shouldn't it be looking for the tuners at the IP of the HDHR?
The engine doesn't know the IPs yet.. hence it broadcasts a discovery message out on .255 of the local network.

It is odd though.. if you have just 1 NIC connected to your network, and all the devices appear to be on the same network it should work.
Looks to me something is blocking the broadcast from your NAS through to your HDHR devices.
You need to look for things in your network blocking broadcasts

Post Reply