QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Downloads & Instructions
Post Reply
punch-card
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2016 4:58 pm

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by punch-card »

I tried to so a manual install on my QNAP, and I received an error.
It states look at the logs, and the only thing in the logs is where I tried stopping the homerundvr app, but stopping the app did not help.
Are there locations on the server that i can look at instead of the "GUI" log.

Image

Image

demonrik
Posts: 1293
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 10736454, 1073A35A, 1075C377

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

Rew452 wrote:
Wed Jul 08, 2020 2:10 pm
The app does run, just no information. One note though at the moment my SD Prime is not on the network, relocating. Not sure if this has a bering or not.
Rew
perfect - I think I know the issue - will fix quickly, but shouldn't cause issues with functionality.
Prime missing has no bearing on this.. basically the HTTP user on qnap isn't being allowed to run the record engine binary to get the status.

demonrik
Posts: 1293
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 10736454, 1073A35A, 1075C377

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

punch-card wrote:
Wed Jul 08, 2020 2:35 pm
I tried to so a manual install on my QNAP, and I received an error.
It states look at the logs, and the only thing in the logs is where I tried stopping the homerundvr app, but stopping the app did not help.
Are there locations on the server that i can look at instead of the "GUI" log.
To get a log please do following
  • Upload the qpkg to a folder on your NAS
  • SSH to your NAS with admin account, change director to that folder, and execute

    Code: Select all

    sh ./HDHomeRunDVR_1.0.0.qpkg
  • And it should log everything up until it fails.

punch-card
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2016 4:58 pm

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by punch-card »

Something weird going on, getting permission errors on busybox.
I have a firmware update I need to do, I will apply it tonight and try it again, unless you have seen this before.

[~] # ls -l
total 504
-rwx---rwx 1 nvr 513 507116 2020-07-08 16:12 HDHomeRunDVR_1.0.0.qpkg*
-rw-r--r-- 1 admin administrators 6526 2007-07-11 04:35 index_default.html
[~] # sh ./HDHomeRunDVR_1.0.0.qpkg
./HDHomeRunDVR_1.0.0.qpkg: line 62: /bin/echo: Permission denied
[~] # ls -l /bin/echo
lrwxrwxrwx 1 admin administrators 7 2020-07-01 20:04 /bin/echo -> busybox
[~] # tail /var/log/messages
-sh: /usr/bin/tail: Permission denied
[~] #

demonrik
Posts: 1293
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 10736454, 1073A35A, 1075C377

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

punch-card wrote:
Wed Jul 08, 2020 2:54 pm
Something weird going on, getting permission errors on busybox.
I have a firmware update I need to do, I will apply it tonight and try it again, unless you have seen this before.

[~] # ls -l
total 504
-rwx---rwx 1 nvr 513 507116 2020-07-08 16:12 HDHomeRunDVR_1.0.0.qpkg*
-rw-r--r-- 1 admin administrators 6526 2007-07-11 04:35 index_default.html
[~] # sh ./HDHomeRunDVR_1.0.0.qpkg
./HDHomeRunDVR_1.0.0.qpkg: line 62: /bin/echo: Permission denied
[~] # ls -l /bin/echo
lrwxrwxrwx 1 admin administrators 7 2020-07-01 20:04 /bin/echo -> busybox
[~] # tail /var/log/messages
-sh: /usr/bin/tail: Permission denied
[~] #
that's weird - definitely do the firmware update and see.. looks like something is broken in permissions overall. make sure your user has admin rights

demonrik
Posts: 1293
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 10736454, 1073A35A, 1075C377

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

I think I've got it.

The problem is 2 fold, but ultimately comes down to the httpdusr that runs the apache server not being able to execute the record engine binary
So the answer I employed on Synology and Asustor was to add the http users group and allow user and group to execute the binary.
But on QNAP the httpdusr doesn't belong to any group.. and nominally that should mean it runs as an administrator, but not necessarily. And because I then don't actually set the group on the binary when it downloads either.. then the httpdusr is crowded out from executing the binary.

The answer is a pain.. It means I have to have the binary world executable.. so is a security risk, but the only way I can make this work unless I change the whole status/versioning thing which I was already considering, but might accelerate now.

Anyway - new version 1.0.1 inbound

punch-card
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2016 4:58 pm

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by punch-card »

demonrik,

I not sure if it is matters, so I ssh'ed in as my personal account and some commands were working.
I am going to reboot the NAS tonight before I apply the new firmware, so I don't introduce too many changes at once.

Image

Thanks for looking into this.
Mike

punch-card
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2016 4:58 pm

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by punch-card »

After rebooting QNAP, it was back to "normal". I see some errors at the end of the script, any concerns?

[~] # sh ./HDHomeRunDVR_1.0.0.qpkg
Install QNAP package on TS-NAS...
./
./built_info
./qinstall.sh
./package_routines
./qpkg.cfg
20+1 records in
20+1 records out
483286 bytes (472.0KB) copied, 0.001048 seconds, 439.8MB/s
471+1 records in
471+1 records out
483286 bytes (472.0KB) copied, 0.001992 seconds, 231.4MB/s
HDHomeRunDVR 0.10.7 is already installed. Setup will now perform package upgrading.
Firmware check is fine.
HDHomeRun RECORD stopped
HDHomeRunDVR: Checking if hdhomerundvr exists
id: hdhomerundvr: No such user
HDHomeRunDVR: User hdhomerundvr doesn't exist
HDHomeRunDVR: Creating user
HDHomeRunDVR: Checking if a RecordPath already is set and exists
HDHomeRunDVR: Parsing /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf
HDHomeRunDVR: Existing config file found
HDHomeRunDVR: Copying file to preserve during update
package_routines: line 45: /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf: Permission denied
HDHomeRunDVR: Checking if backup conf exists and restore
HDHomeRunDVR: no backup file, so generate one
HDHomeRunDVR: Patching UI Vars file with QPKG path and Version
HDHomeRunDVR: Setting Conf file group writable
HDHomeRunDVR: Linking the Web UI
HDHomeRunDVR: Removing Old Web Link
HDHomeRunDVR: Creating New Web Link
Link service start/stop script: HDHomeRunDVR.sh
Set QPKG information in /etc/config/qpkg.conf
Updating the UI vars.php
HDHR_LOG_PREFIX Ensuring permissions are correct on UI
** Validating the Config File is available and set up correctly
Config is missing
[~] #

Rew452
Posts: 244
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 1:18 pm

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by Rew452 »

Hi demonrik,

V1.01 seems to work!

Rew

JWylds
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2020 5:02 am

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by JWylds »

Hey All...

Hoping someone can help, or if I am just not gonna get it to work.... BUT

Installed qpkg on QNAP TS212P. HDHomerun 1.0.1 Everything installs, all goes through, I can get the DVR to work. BUT unable to open the UI on the QNAP. SO no utilities...

Just gives me a screen with - 10.0.0.1 Failed to connect

Any ideas??

demonrik
Posts: 1293
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 10736454, 1073A35A, 1075C377

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

punch-card wrote:
Wed Jul 08, 2020 7:14 pm
After rebooting QNAP, it was back to "normal". I see some errors at the end of the script, any concerns?
...
package_routines: line 45: /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf: Permission denied
Fixed in 1.0.1 - shoudln't cause an issue though.
...
Config is missing
I need to check on that.. doesn't look like my error..
But overall - nothing looks concerning.
Rew452 wrote:
Wed Jul 08, 2020 7:18 pm
V1.01 seems to work!
:D yay!
JWylds wrote:
Thu Jul 09, 2020 5:06 am
Installed qpkg on QNAP TS212P. HDHomerun 1.0.1 Everything installs, all goes through, I can get the DVR to work. BUT unable to open the UI on the QNAP. SO no utilities...

Just gives me a screen with - 10.0.0.1 Failed to connect

Any ideas??
Are you trying to open via the app center icon? or are you using direct URL i.e. http://MyNASIP/HDHomeRunDVR
10.0.0.1 is an odd address.. usually is the first device in the subnet which is typically a router, etc.. OR an internal network for containers, etc.

punch-card
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2016 4:58 pm

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by punch-card »

Did an update from 1.0.0 tp 1.0.1 here were results....
[~] # sh ./HDHomeRunDVR_1.0.1.qpkg
Install QNAP package on TS-NAS...
./
./built_info
./qinstall.sh
./package_routines
./qpkg.cfg
20+1 records in
20+1 records out
483310 bytes (472.0KB) copied, 0.000982 seconds, 469.4MB/s
471+1 records in
471+1 records out
483310 bytes (472.0KB) copied, 0.001921 seconds, 239.9MB/s
HDHomeRunDVR 1.0.0 is already installed. Setup will now perform package upgrading.
Firmware check is fine.
/etc/init.d/HDHomeRunDVR.sh: line 91: /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf: No such file or directory
HDHomeRunDVR: Checking if hdhomerundvr exists
HDHomeRunDVR: Checking if a RecordPath already is set and exists
HDHomeRunDVR: Parsing /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf
HDHomeRunDVR: No config file found
HDHomeRunDVR: Creating default share
HDHomeRunDVR: removing any left over hdhomerun binaries in /tmp
HDHomeRunDVR: Checking if backup conf exists and restore
HDHomeRunDVR: no backup file, so generate one
HDHomeRunDVR: Patching UI Vars file with QPKG path and Version
HDHomeRunDVR: Setting Conf file group writable
HDHomeRunDVR: Linking the Web UI
HDHomeRunDVR: Removing Old Web Link
HDHomeRunDVR: Creating New Web Link
Link service start/stop script: HDHomeRunDVR.sh
Set QPKG information in /etc/config/qpkg.conf
Updating the UI vars.php
HDHR_LOG_PREFIX Ensuring permissions are correct on UI
** Validating the Config File is available and set up correctly
Config File exists and is writable - is record path and port correct
** Installing the HDHomeRunDVR Record Engine
Lets remove any existing engine - we're going to take the latest always....
Checking it was deleted - if we can't remove it we can't update
Changing binary owner to hdhomerundvr
Starting the recordengine as hdhomerundvr
HDHomeRun RECORD started
[~] # logout

demonrik
Posts: 1293
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 10736454, 1073A35A, 1075C377

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

punch-card wrote:
Thu Jul 09, 2020 10:10 am
Did an update from 1.0.0 tp 1.0.1 here were results....
[~] # sh ./HDHomeRunDVR_1.0.1.qpkg
Install QNAP package on TS-NAS...
./
./built_info
./qinstall.sh
./package_routines
./qpkg.cfg
20+1 records in
20+1 records out
483310 bytes (472.0KB) copied, 0.000982 seconds, 469.4MB/s
471+1 records in
471+1 records out
483310 bytes (472.0KB) copied, 0.001921 seconds, 239.9MB/s
HDHomeRunDVR 1.0.0 is already installed. Setup will now perform package upgrading.
Firmware check is fine.
/etc/init.d/HDHomeRunDVR.sh: line 91: /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf: No such file or directory
HDHomeRunDVR: Checking if hdhomerundvr exists
HDHomeRunDVR: Checking if a RecordPath already is set and exists
HDHomeRunDVR: Parsing /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf
HDHomeRunDVR: No config file found
HDHomeRunDVR: Creating default share
HDHomeRunDVR: removing any left over hdhomerun binaries in /tmp
HDHomeRunDVR: Checking if backup conf exists and restore
HDHomeRunDVR: no backup file, so generate one
HDHomeRunDVR: Patching UI Vars file with QPKG path and Version
HDHomeRunDVR: Setting Conf file group writable
HDHomeRunDVR: Linking the Web UI
HDHomeRunDVR: Removing Old Web Link
HDHomeRunDVR: Creating New Web Link
Link service start/stop script: HDHomeRunDVR.sh
Set QPKG information in /etc/config/qpkg.conf
Updating the UI vars.php
HDHR_LOG_PREFIX Ensuring permissions are correct on UI
** Validating the Config File is available and set up correctly
Config File exists and is writable - is record path and port correct
** Installing the HDHomeRunDVR Record Engine
Lets remove any existing engine - we're going to take the latest always....
Checking it was deleted - if we can't remove it we can't update
Changing binary owner to hdhomerundvr
Starting the recordengine as hdhomerundvr
HDHomeRun RECORD started
[~] # logout
Looks like success to me

jumbleknot
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2020 9:45 am

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by jumbleknot »

Hello demonrik,

For background, I have been running HDHomeRunDVR on my Windows 10 machine for a couple of years, but I am replacing this machine with my new QNAP TS-1253BU (Firmware version: 4.4.3.1354). So far for the migration to the QNAP I have a few file shares and container station running with a linuxserver/mariadb docker container for my Kodi setup, which transitioned over smoothly.

I attempted to install HDHomeRunDVR_1.0.1.qpkg a couple of times yesterday on my QNAP, but ran into some issues. So today I cleaned up the previous install attempts (even though uninstall removed the app, user, user group, and share, there was still a folder and files under /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/HDHomeRunDVR that I had to delete manually after SSH into QNAP), and tried again. I tried to document everything this time to see if you could help me understand what I am doing wrong.

Install screen shot
Image

Looked normal to me other than one question about the file path being "/share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/HDHomeRunDVR" instead of "/share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR". I can't find any directory there named .qpkg.

The install successfully created the file share and the user, but the user was disabled.
Image
Image

I went back in afterward and enabled the user in case that might be causing any issues.

But when I clicked Open on the HDHomeRun app, I got an error message that said "10.0.0.16 refused to connect"
Image

This is what happened when I tried to use the direct URL in Chrome
Image

I confirmed the QNAP had the web server enabled.

Then I found your post about the Apache.conf file, so I SSH back into the QNAP and made the change and restarted
Image

Then I went back into QTS desktop and tried to Open HDHomeRun again. This time I was prompted for a User Name and Password. I entered the QNAP admin user name and password, and I got a Forbidden error.
Image
Image

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

demonrik
Posts: 1293
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 10736454, 1073A35A, 1075C377

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

jumbleknot wrote:
Sun Jul 12, 2020 5:01 pm
I tried to document everything this time to see if you could help me understand what I am doing wrong.
From what I see it looks like the install went OK, but you have a webserver issue to resolve
Install screen shot
Looked normal to me other than one question about the file path being "/share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/HDHomeRunDVR" instead of "/share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR". I can't find any directory there named .qpkg.
any folders with a . are hidden. You need ls -a to see them
The install successfully created the file share and the user, but the user was disabled.
Image
Looks good, hdhomerun_record downloaded and a log.
So install worked and engine is running
I went back in afterward and enabled the user in case that might be causing any issues.
Disabled is ok.. What it means is no login possible with that username
This is what happened when I tried to use the direct URL in Chrome
Image

I confirmed the QNAP had the web server enabled.
But clearly something is up with it or your php installation.
The UI is linked into /share/Web/HDHomeRunDVR
this folder must be accessible to the 'http' user.
Have heard from one their user where their Web share was missing, and unfortunately Qnap blamed my installer which is total BS as I remove only the link on uninstall.
Anyway, check this hasn't happened to you.
Also check you don't have option to only or force secure connections. You can use https, but you need to ensure both login and webserver are configured correctly if you wish to click through on QTS Destop.
Then I found your post about the Apache.conf file, so I SSH back into the QNAP and made the change and restarted
This is only needed if you can browse directly to the URL but app won't open in QTS, but see comment above on using https
Recently Qnap added this as a checkbox tin WebStation 'Do not allow Web Server embedding in iFrames' which u can simply untick and apply so you don't have to edit anymore
Then I went back into QTS desktop and tried to Open HDHomeRun again. This time I was prompted for a User Name and Password. I entered the QNAP admin user name and password, and I got a Forbidden error.
You have https connection to the qnap, so it tries to open https link.
It shouldn't ask to login in again. Make sure webstation is configured to allow (not force) https

Check your web share and permissions on the link.. Then check https config.. Those are my main 2 suspects
Oh.. And just thought... Make sure your webstation ports (defaults are 80 and 8081) aren't mapped to any containers

Post Reply