QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Downloads & Instructions
Post Reply
gregeeh
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 8:27 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by gregeeh »

Hi all,

I have just installed this package and it is working great. thank you.

A small question, if I click on a Record Engine Log in the Dashboard is shows the log, but selecting the tabs, Error, Status, Playback etc. does not just display those selected errors. Or, is that not the expected behaviour?

TIA

Greg

demonrik
Posts: 1346
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 10736454, 1073A35A, 1075C377, 108042A1
x 8

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

gregeeh wrote: Sat Apr 11, 2020 4:23 pm Hi all,

I have just installed this package and it is working great. thank you.

A small question, if I click on a Record Engine Log in the Dashboard is shows the log, but selecting the tabs, Error, Status, Playback etc. does not just display those selected errors. Or, is that not the expected behaviour?

TIA

Greg
Not Implemented yet... so yeah, expected behavior.
Hopefully someday I'll get the time/motivation to finish it.

gregeeh
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 8:27 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by gregeeh »

Not Implemented yet... so yeah, expected behavior.
Hopefully someday I'll get the time/motivation to finish it.
Fair enough, and thanks for all your efforts creating this great app. :D

gregeeh
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 8:27 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by gregeeh »

Hi,

I'm trying to find a way to delete recordings older than x days and was wondering if I made a cron job on the NAS to delete the files folder if that would produce any bad effects. Yes, Kodi will not be happy as it does not know about the deletions but I have a way to clean up the database following the deletions.

Thoughts please.

TIA

Greg

demonrik
Posts: 1346
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 10736454, 1073A35A, 1075C377, 108042A1
x 8

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

gregeeh wrote: Sun Apr 12, 2020 9:08 pm Hi,

I'm trying to find a way to delete recordings older than x days and was wondering if I made a cron job on the NAS to delete the files folder if that would produce any bad effects. Yes, Kodi will not be happy as it does not know about the deletions but I have a way to clean up the database following the deletions.

Thoughts please.

TIA

Greg
For the most part you should be ok doing it.
Make sure if checking folder that you check contents first - particularly Movies, Sports, etc..

gregeeh
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 8:27 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by gregeeh »

For the most part you should be ok doing it.
Make sure if checking folder that you check contents first - particularly Movies, Sports, etc..
Thanks. I was first going to check all folders for any *.mpg files greater than x days, if so delete them.
Then check for any empty folders and if so delete them.

BTW - Is there anyway of changing the recorded files format? eg: MKV, TS, MOV etc.

TIA

Greg

demonrik
Posts: 1346
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 10736454, 1073A35A, 1075C377, 108042A1
x 8

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

NEW PACKAGE AVAILABLE
  • Updated Engine to latest release 20200521
To move to new package - simply do manual install of new package

new QPKG HDHomeRunDVR-0.10.7.qpkg available in the usual locationsGoogle Drive, DropBox, OneDrive

Code is available on github
https://github.com/Silicondust/dvr_install

demonrik
Posts: 1346
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 10736454, 1073A35A, 1075C377, 108042A1
x 8

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

NEW PACKAGE AVAILABLE
Big change here - apologies it took so long. Some good news and some bad.. And heads up - you will need to do work to upgrade

Main goal of this release has been to
(a) minimize the support headaches of permissions
(b) streamline the install process for better user experience, and minimize code
(c) remove/reduce duplication with SDs existing interfaces (i.e. recordings)
(d) refactor as much as possible to maximize reuse of scripts and code between the various NAS installers

So good news first
  • Have changed to be similar to the docker image I created and on starting the engine, the script now gets the latest record engine from SDs servers and runs that. This will mean once SD make available a new version of the record engine you will not need to wait for me to release a new QPKG. Just simply stop and start the engine and it will pick it up.
  • To also make it easier, I've added some parameters to the config file I manage for the engine that you can edit. You want to look at BetaEngine parameter, and set this to 1 and it will download from both the beta and the release URLs and then compare to see which is newer and use that.. if BetaEngine is set to anything but 1 it will only download the latest full release.
  • The QPKG now creates a 'hdhomerundvr' user to run the engine under. this user will be removed on uninstalling the package. You can change the user to run as by editing the config file once more and changing the 'RunAs' parameter to the username you want to run as.
  • The QPKG now creates a HDHomeRunDVR share by default and not a standard folder, and then adds the administrators and http groups to it, as well as the new user created above.
  • Installing and Removing the QPKG is logged to /tmp/hdhomerundvr_install.log which should help us understand when things go wrong
  • UI Page now opens direct to the dashboard
  • Since I've reduced the code/scripts considerably and rolling update means less need to do QPKG updates I am finally updating this to version 1.0.0
So now bad news, or things removed
  • Recordings management has been completely removed. This broke recently, and was hitting issues with permissions quite a bit. Also since the SD page for your record engine lists the recordings properly - is better to simply point you there.. and that is possible by clicking the first link for the record engine in the HDHR list in the dashboard.
  • Engine start/stop from the DVR Manager UI has been removed. Running in to permissions issues a lot, and some crazy thing happening on Synology directly was causing the wrappers to get out of whack with the UI.. You can start/stop the service for HDHomeRunDVR via the command line or the App Center anyway, so removing doesn't remove capability, just duplication and simplifies support.
  • Removed the log file management.. Since SD added the cleanup of the log files automatically by the record engine, this features wasn't needed and it cleans up the interface.
  • Wrappers are no longer needed and removed
  • IMPORTANT That change of user means you need to ensure the user has permissions to your existing recordings. Simply add the new user 'hdhomerundvr' to your recordpath share or change the RunAs user once upgraded and you should be good
To move to new package - simply do manual install of new package. But beware of the user/permissions thing above.

new QPKG HDHomeRunDVR-1.0.0.qpkg available in the usual locations Google Drive, DropBox, OneDrive

Code is available on github
https://github.com/Silicondust/dvr_install

Rew452
Posts: 245
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 1:18 pm

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by Rew452 »

Hi demonrik
For those like myself that are not quite so savvy can you elaborate on;
IMPORTANT That change of user means you need to ensure the user has permissions to your existing recordings. Simply add the new user 'hdhomerundvr' to your recordpath share or change the RunAs user once upgraded and you should be good.

I enabled HdHomerundvr as a user and gave it r/w access to the the Multimedia dir were HDHomerunDVR dir yet the app still displays "unable to discover dvr status". What am I missing?

Thanks
Rew

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9315
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 10802091 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36
x 21

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by signcarver »

Though I'm not sure if it is your issue on the qnap, in linux, users are typically case sensitive, particularly with things such as this and yours, as posted, didn't follow what demonrik said. There are some that always convert to lowercase when creating a user and then might do the same whenever you try to access.

Rew452
Posts: 245
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 1:18 pm

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by Rew452 »

Thanks, my user name is actually lower case. I did the caps out of habit so I don't think that is the problem.

Rew

Beerman
Posts: 1527
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 7:05 pm
x 2

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by Beerman »

Rew452 wrote: Wed Jul 08, 2020 12:39 pm Hi demonrik
For those like myself that are not quite so savvy can you elaborate on;
IMPORTANT That change of user means you need to ensure the user has permissions to your existing recordings. Simply add the new user 'hdhomerundvr' to your recordpath share or change the RunAs user once upgraded and you should be good.

I enabled HdHomerundvr as a user and gave it r/w access to the the Multimedia dir were HDHomerunDVR dir yet the app still displays "unable to discover dvr status". What am I missing?

Thanks
Rew
I had the same problem on my qnap and ended up manually removing my HdHomeRunDVR and reinstalling and it's working now. Not sure why (I'm not very good with these things) but the logs look good and it was discovered. Just to be sure, I'm not suggesting you do this, just that this worked for me, probably by luck only.

Rew452
Posts: 245
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 1:18 pm

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by Rew452 »

Thanks Beerman, That's an idea but will wait to do for now until demonrik responds.

One other thing, my Prime is not on the network right now, relocating it. Not sure if that could be a factor.

Rew

demonrik
Posts: 1346
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 10736454, 1073A35A, 1075C377, 108042A1
x 8

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

Rew452 wrote: Wed Jul 08, 2020 12:39 pm Hi demonrik
For those like myself that are not quite so savvy can you elaborate on;
IMPORTANT That change of user means you need to ensure the user has permissions to your existing recordings. Simply add the new user 'hdhomerundvr' to your recordpath share or change the RunAs user once upgraded and you should be good.

I enabled HdHomerundvr as a user and gave it r/w access to the the Multimedia dir were HDHomerunDVR dir yet the app still displays "unable to discover dvr status". What am I missing?

Thanks
Rew
Actually I think I have a bug there..
But everything else is ok right? just the status..

Rew452
Posts: 245
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 1:18 pm

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by Rew452 »

demonrik wrote: Wed Jul 08, 2020 1:20 pm
Rew452 wrote: Wed Jul 08, 2020 12:39 pm Hi demonrik
For those like myself that are not quite so savvy can you elaborate on;
IMPORTANT That change of user means you need to ensure the user has permissions to your existing recordings. Simply add the new user 'hdhomerundvr' to your recordpath share or change the RunAs user once upgraded and you should be good.

I enabled HdHomerundvr as a user and gave it r/w access to the the Multimedia dir were HDHomerunDVR dir yet the app still displays "unable to discover dvr status". What am I missing?

Thanks
Rew
Actually I think I have a bug there..
But everything else is ok right? just the status..
The app does run, just no information. One note though at the moment my SD Prime is not on the network, relocating. Not sure if this has a bering or not.
Rew

Post Reply