QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Downloads & Instructions
Post Reply
demonrik
Posts: 1591
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 108042A1, 10814D8E
x 38

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

signcarver wrote: Tue Jul 14, 2020 8:35 pm looks like administrators group may not have write access to the folder but not sure "who" is running the script.
Actually thats ok - the folder should be readable, but you only want to have write access to the conf file.
The script runs by default as root on Qnap, and then reads the 'RunAs' from the config file and runs the engine as that user, or falls back to the executing owner IF the conf file is missing OR the 'RunAs' user is not specified.

And we only need the conf file writable once by the engine for the storage ID to persist between restarts, and the UI to manage the variables.

psuKinger
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2015 7:22 am
Device ID: 13254099; 13219F42

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by psuKinger »

Thanks and apologies on the delay. Monday was my son's 8th birthday and I was up against the wall in terms of getting the grill going before the grandparents showed. Tuesday was a loooong day in the office (due to new alternate work schedules related to COVID). And now it's Wednesday morning and I'm back.
demonrik wrote: Mon Jul 13, 2020 9:59 am But to get it to work you need to restart the engine.. See the original post, scroll down to "Starting and Stopping the Record Engine" on how to stop and then start the engine.
If you ssh to the NAS you can execute

Code: Select all

qpkg_service stop HDHomeRunDVR
qpkg_service start HDHomeRunDVR
Once done the engine should now be able to download the record engine and get going.
And if what I suspect is wrong with conf file - it should just work

So to that config file 'does not exist' concern
Generally - I try to NOT make things so every user has access to files, which means sometimes things like this happen where we need to patch up permissions. I could just use a sledgehammer approach and make it all writable, but thats unsecure, and I don't want to be the one responsible for opening up security holes.
My suspicion here is that for some reason your httpdusr is NOT part of the administrators group and therefore it can't read the config file.
Previous installer made the config file owner the httpdusr so this was not an issue
I logged into my NAS and did what the first post said:
App Center --> HDHomeRun 1.0.1 --> Blue "down arrow" next to "open" --> STOP --> Wait a few seconds --> Grey "START" button

I'm still having the same error. My dashboard still looks like this:
---------- OS and ENV VARIABLES --------------------------------------------------
Operating System = Linux NAS1TS431 4.2.8 #2 SMP Thu Aug 30 04:39:53 CST 2018 armv7l
HTTP_HOST = 192.168.0.200
SERVER_NAME = 192.168.0.200
SERVER_ADDR = 192.168.0.200
SERVER_SOFTWARE = Apache
SYS TEMP = /tmp
---------- PHP INFO -------------------------------------------------------------
php version = 5.6.36
php.ini file = /mnt/HDA_ROOT/.config/php.ini
php.ini date.timezone = Asia/Taipei
date_default_timezone_get() = Asia/Taipei
---------- DVRUI VARS -----------------------------------------------------------
DVRUI_DEBUG =
DVRUI_name = HDHomeRun DVR Manager
DVRUI_version = 1.0.1
DVRUI_TZ =
---------- PERMISSIONS ----------------------------------------------------------
style = 0755
style/style.css = 0644
---------- Config File ----------------------------------------------------------
Location = /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf Does Not Exist
RecordPath = Path not Set
RecordStreamsMax = 16
ServerPort = Path not Set
StorageID = StorageID not Set
---------- CONNECTIVITY CHECKS --------------------------------------------------
DVRUI_apiurl = http://api.hdhomerun.com/
Discover URL = http://api.hdhomerun.com/discover
Ping to api.hdhomerun.com success
curl extension = installed
curl returned = [ { "DeviceID": "13219F42", "LocalIP": "192.168.0.246", "ConditionalAccess": 1, "BaseURL": "http://192.168.0.246", "DiscoverURL": "http://192.168.0.246/discover.json", "LineupURL": "http://192.168.0.246/lineup.json" }, { "DeviceID": "13254099", "LocalIP": "192.168.0.109", "ConditionalAccess": 1, "BaseURL": "http://192.168.0.109", "DiscoverURL": "http://192.168.0.109/discover.json", "LineupURL": "http://192.168.0.109/lineup.json" } ]
checking alternative connection
stream returned = [ { "DeviceID": "13219F42", "LocalIP": "192.168.0.246", "ConditionalAccess": 1, "BaseURL": "http://192.168.0.246", "DiscoverURL": "http://192.168.0.246/discover.json", "LineupURL": "http://192.168.0.246/lineup.json" }, { "DeviceID": "13254099", "LocalIP": "192.168.0.109", "ConditionalAccess": 1, "BaseURL": "http://192.168.0.109", "DiscoverURL": "http://192.168.0.109/discover.json", "LineupURL": "http://192.168.0.109/lineup.json" } ]
---------- HDHR TUNERS-----------------------------------------------------------
tuner(0) id: 13219F42
tuner(0) model: HDHR3-CC
tuner(0) firmware: 20200521
tuner(0) baseurl: http://192.168.0.246
tuner(0) auth: jsxQ_04lhIbJGYwc95VJHpwH
tuner(1) id: 13254099
tuner(1) model: HDHR3-CC
tuner(1) firmware: 20200521
tuner(1) baseurl: http://192.168.0.109
tuner(1) auth: 5Wzlg7GHZ4uJqM6iQwcXloMj
---------- HDHR DVR ENGINES------------------------------------------------------
---------- HDHR Account -----------------------------------------------------------
curl extension = installed
curl returned = { "AccountEmail": "psukinger@hotmail.com", "AccountDeviceIDs": [ "13219F42", "13254099" ], "DvrActive": 1, "AccountState": "Active" }
------------ DVR Series ------------------------------------------------------
?DisplayGroupID=root
------------ DVR Recordings ------------------------------------------------------


demonrik wrote: Mon Jul 13, 2020 9:59 am we can check quickly the file with

Code: Select all

ls -la /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf
You should have something like

Code: Select all

-rw-rw-r-- 1 hdhomerundvr administrators 155 2020-07-08 16:05 /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf
The key parts are the '-rw-rw-r--' and the 'hdhomerundvr administrators'
This tells me that the hdhomerundvr owner has read and write performance (the first rw-) as does the administrators group (the second rw-) but here I also have it set so anyone can read it (the r--). But I suspect I have the UI seeking read/write access and it will fail if it can't get it.
So lets make sure you have a conf file and it's got permissions like above.

Will be interested to see if your httpduser is in a group or not

Code: Select all

id -G httpdusr
I would be more than happy to take a crack at this, but I think I might need to get up to speed on what I need to do. Is this all done "after I ssh in" (as I believe you say)? And if so, is this good directions on what I need to do to make that happen: https://www.qnap.com/en/how-to/knowledg ... as-by-ssh/
Install "PuTTY" here on my Win10 Desktop as that link shows, and then from inside the black command prompt in that link type in the text you show above?

demonrik
Posts: 1591
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 108042A1, 10814D8E
x 38

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

psuKinger wrote: Wed Jul 15, 2020 5:18 am Thanks and apologies on the delay. Monday was my son's 8th birthday and I was up against the wall in terms of getting the grill going before the grandparents showed. Tuesday was a loooong day in the office (due to new alternate work schedules related to COVID). And now it's Wednesday morning and I'm back.
...
I would be more than happy to take a crack at this, but I think I might need to get up to speed on what I need to do. Is this all done "after I ssh in" (as I believe you say)? And if so, is this good directions on what I need to do to make that happen: https://www.qnap.com/en/how-to/knowledg ... as-by-ssh/
Install "PuTTY" here on my Win10 Desktop as that link shows, and then from inside the black command prompt in that link type in the text you show above?
No worries
yes - install putty, and open session to your NAS and once logged in as an admin user you can type or copy and paste (right click in putty) in those commands.
you can copy the output from putty by highlighting with your mouse - it automatically puts it in the copy/paste buffer for you to paste here.

I suspect you have same issue as others - the old conf wasnt copied back..
So you may want to check out my post to @ppilot viewtopic.php?p=361388#p361388
But please do run those commands for me first - more data I have the better

psuKinger
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2015 7:22 am
Device ID: 13254099; 13219F42

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by psuKinger »

demonrik wrote: Wed Jul 15, 2020 8:35 am No worries
yes - install putty, and open session to your NAS and once logged in as an admin user you can type or copy and paste (right click in putty) in those commands.
you can copy the output from putty by highlighting with your mouse - it automatically puts it in the copy/paste buffer for you to paste here.

I suspect you have same issue as others - the old conf wasnt copied back..
So you may want to check out my post to @ppilot viewtopic.php?p=361388#p361388
But please do run those commands for me first - more data I have the better
I think my outcome for the first two is identical to ppilot's:
[~] # ls -la /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf
ls: /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf: No such file or directory
[~] # qpkg_service stop HDHomeRunDVR
/share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.sh: line 93: /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf: No such file or directory
[~] #

---

I followed up with the same follow-up request you made to the other poster:
[~] # ls -la /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR
drwxr-xr-x 3 admin administ 4096 Jul 13 11:23 ./
drwxrwxrwx 6 admin administ 4096 Jul 13 11:24 ../
-rw-r--r-- 1 admin administ 99 Jun 13 2019 .gitignore
-rw-r--r-- 1 admin administ 1750 Jul 13 11:23 .list
-rw-r--r-- 1 admin administ 2268 Jun 13 2019 .qpkg_icon.gif
-rw-r--r-- 1 admin administ 2553 Jun 13 2019 .qpkg_icon_80.gif
-rw-r--r-- 1 admin administ 2164 Jun 13 2019 .qpkg_icon_gray.gif
-rwxr-xr-x 1 admin administ 973 Jul 13 11:23 .uninstall.sh*
-rwxr-xr-x 1 admin administ 3576 Jul 8 18:57 HDHomeRunDVR.sh*
drwxr-xr-x 6 hdhomeru administ 4096 Jul 13 11:23 ui/
[~] #

----

Then I "checked the backup" as you indicated:
[~] # ls -l /tmp/HDHomeRunDVR.conf.backup
ls: /tmp/HDHomeRunDVR.conf.backup: No such file or directory
[~] #

I wasn't sure how to interpret "if it comes back with a response you can move back"... so I thought best to stop there for now and post what I found.

demonrik
Posts: 1591
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 108042A1, 10814D8E
x 38

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

psuKinger wrote: Wed Jul 15, 2020 11:59 am
demonrik wrote: Wed Jul 15, 2020 8:35 am No worries
yes - install putty, and open session to your NAS and once logged in as an admin user you can type or copy and paste (right click in putty) in those commands.
you can copy the output from putty by highlighting with your mouse - it automatically puts it in the copy/paste buffer for you to paste here.

I suspect you have same issue as others - the old conf wasnt copied back..
So you may want to check out my post to @ppilot viewtopic.php?p=361388#p361388
But please do run those commands for me first - more data I have the better
I think my outcome for the first two is identical to ppilot's:
[~] # ls -la /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf
ls: /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf: No such file or directory
[~] # qpkg_service stop HDHomeRunDVR
/share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.sh: line 93: /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf: No such file or directory
[~] #

---

I followed up with the same follow-up request you made to the other poster:
[~] # ls -la /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR
drwxr-xr-x 3 admin administ 4096 Jul 13 11:23 ./
drwxrwxrwx 6 admin administ 4096 Jul 13 11:24 ../
-rw-r--r-- 1 admin administ 99 Jun 13 2019 .gitignore
-rw-r--r-- 1 admin administ 1750 Jul 13 11:23 .list
-rw-r--r-- 1 admin administ 2268 Jun 13 2019 .qpkg_icon.gif
-rw-r--r-- 1 admin administ 2553 Jun 13 2019 .qpkg_icon_80.gif
-rw-r--r-- 1 admin administ 2164 Jun 13 2019 .qpkg_icon_gray.gif
-rwxr-xr-x 1 admin administ 973 Jul 13 11:23 .uninstall.sh*
-rwxr-xr-x 1 admin administ 3576 Jul 8 18:57 HDHomeRunDVR.sh*
drwxr-xr-x 6 hdhomeru administ 4096 Jul 13 11:23 ui/
[~] #

----

Then I "checked the backup" as you indicated:
[~] # ls -l /tmp/HDHomeRunDVR.conf.backup
ls: /tmp/HDHomeRunDVR.conf.backup: No such file or directory
[~] #

I wasn't sure how to interpret "if it comes back with a response you can move back"... so I thought best to stop there for now and post what I found.
Thanks - this is perfect.. disappointing, but gives me something to track down

ok - time to create a new file.

Set Record Path to what you need it to be - but here's the template

Code: Select all

cat > /share/CACHEDEV1-DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf
RecordPath=/share/HDHomeRunDVR
Port=59090
RecordStreamsMax=16
BetaEngine=1
RunAs=hdhomerundvr
and adjust permissions

Code: Select all

chown hdhomerundvr /share/CACHEDEV1-DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf
chgrp administrators /share/CACHEDEV1-DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf
chmod 664 /share/CACHEDEV1-DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf
Now stop/start the engine again


One more favor though...
Am trying to figure out why your setup and not my setup.
One thing is maybe the /tmp folder is full.
Can you run following command and report back"

Code: Select all

 df /tmp

jumbleknot
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2020 9:45 am

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by jumbleknot »

demonrik wrote: Tue Jul 14, 2020 9:51 pm yeah - but means it looks right..
so now we need to look at the far end..
can you run

Code: Select all

ls -la /share/Web/HDHomeRunDVR/
note the trailing / which will force the ls to look in to the folder
Thanks demonrik. I have run the command. The output is below:
Image

ppilot
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 7:33 pm

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by ppilot »

demonrik wrote: Tue Jul 14, 2020 9:48 pm
ppilot wrote: Tue Jul 14, 2020 8:03 pm Here you go:

Code: Select all

total 40
drwxr-xr-x  3 admin        administrators 4096 2020-07-13 10:12 ./
drwxrwxrwx 21 admin        administrators 4096 2020-07-13 21:49 ../
-rw-r--r--  1 admin        administrators   99 2019-06-13 16:30 .gitignore
-rwxr-xr-x  1 admin        administrators 3576 2020-07-08 15:57 HDHomeRunDVR.sh*
-rw-r--r--  1 admin        administrators 1750 2020-07-13 10:12 .list
-rw-r--r--  1 admin        administrators 2553 2019-06-13 16:30 .qpkg_icon_80.gif
-rw-r--r--  1 admin        administrators 2268 2019-06-13 16:30 .qpkg_icon.gif
-rw-r--r--  1 admin        administrators 2164 2019-06-13 16:30 .qpkg_icon_gray.gif
drwxr-xr-x  6 hdhomerundvr administrators 4096 2020-07-13 10:12 ui/
-rwxr-xr-x  1 admin        administrators  973 2020-07-13 10:12 .uninstall.sh*
So the conf file is missing!!!
Not sure how...

Before installing the script looks for existing conf file and moves it to /tmp and then moves it back after install
Something must have caused the post install to fail and not move it back

To fix..
First check for the backup

Code: Select all

ls -l /tmp/HDHomeRunDVR.conf.backup
If it comes back with a response you can move back

Code: Select all

mv /tmp/HDHomeRunDVR.conf.backup /share/CACHEDEV1-DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf
Or you can create with following - remember to set RecordPath to whatever you want it to be ;)

Code: Select all

cat > /share/CACHEDEV1-DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf
RecordPath=/share/HDHomeRunDVR
Port=59090
RecordStreamsMax=16
BetaEngine=1
RunAs=hdhomerundvr
presss CTRL-D to save it

Once the file is there, we can fix up the permissions to be readable by all, writable by hdhomerundvr user and administrators

Code: Select all

chown hdhomerundvr /share/CACHEDEV1-DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf
chgrp administrators /share/CACHEDEV1-DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf
chmod 664 /share/CACHEDEV1-DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf
Considering this is my record path, what should my commands be?
Image

demonrik
Posts: 1591
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 108042A1, 10814D8E
x 38

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

ppilot wrote: Wed Jul 15, 2020 8:18 pm Considering this is my record path, what should my commands be?
Image
Hard from there to be sure where your share is created.
Generally QNAP creates all shares and maps to /share/SHARE_NAME..
so is typically safe to use /share/Multimedia/HDHomeRunDVR in your case

Code: Select all

cat > /share/CACHEDEV1-DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf
RecordPath=/share/Multimedia/HDHomeRunDVR
Port=59090
RecordStreamsMax=16
BetaEngine=1
RunAs=hdhomerundvr

demonrik
Posts: 1591
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 108042A1, 10814D8E
x 38

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

jumbleknot wrote: Wed Jul 15, 2020 5:34 pm Thanks demonrik. I have run the command. The output is below:
Image
well - that looks identical to what I have.. :(

something is up with your webserver/php config - but I don't know what.
apart from restoring default config for BOTH the Web Server -> Maintenance, and Web Server -> PHP

maybe check if something is up with denying the host, so check the Control Panel -> Security -> Allow/Deny List ?

psuKinger
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2015 7:22 am
Device ID: 13254099; 13219F42

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by psuKinger »

demonrik wrote: Wed Jul 15, 2020 1:51 pm ok - time to create a new file.

Set Record Path to what you need it to be - but here's the template

Code: Select all

cat > /share/CACHEDEV1-DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf
RecordPath=/share/HDHomeRunDVR
Port=59090
RecordStreamsMax=16
BetaEngine=1
RunAs=hdhomerundvr
I modified that to:
RecordPath=/share/Recordings/HDHomeRunDVR

As I have my Y: drive (mapped) to Recordings/HDHomeRunDVR. Here's what I got back.

[~] # cat > /share/CACHEDEV1-DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf
-sh: /share/CACHEDEV1-DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf: No such file or directory
[~] # RecordPath=/share/Recordings/HDHomeRunDVR
[~] # Port=59090
[~] # RecordStreamsMax=16
[~] # BetaEngine=1
[~] # RunAs=hdhomerundvr
[~] # login as: admin

Is this because I didn't update the record path correctly? Or is that the anticipated response and everything is ok? It doesn't seem like this went the way it should have?

demonrik
Posts: 1591
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 108042A1, 10814D8E
x 38

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

psuKinger wrote: Thu Jul 16, 2020 3:48 am
demonrik wrote: Wed Jul 15, 2020 1:51 pm ok - time to create a new file.

Set Record Path to what you need it to be - but here's the template

Code: Select all

cat > /share/CACHEDEV1-DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf
RecordPath=/share/HDHomeRunDVR
Port=59090
RecordStreamsMax=16
BetaEngine=1
RunAs=hdhomerundvr
I modified that to:
RecordPath=/share/Recordings/HDHomeRunDVR

As I have my Y: drive (mapped) to Recordings/HDHomeRunDVR. Here's what I got back.

[~] # cat > /share/CACHEDEV1-DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf
-sh: /share/CACHEDEV1-DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf: No such file or directory
[~] # RecordPath=/share/Recordings/HDHomeRunDVR
[~] # Port=59090
[~] # RecordStreamsMax=16
[~] # BetaEngine=1
[~] # RunAs=hdhomerundvr
[~] # login as: admin

Is this because I didn't update the record path correctly? Or is that the anticipated response and everything is ok? It doesn't seem like this went the way it should have?
uggh - my bad again.. I have to stop doing support for you guys on my phone (Trying to separate work/personal life during this COVID time - so after 9hrs on computer for work, I try not to boot it up again beyond 5pm)
It's not CACHEDEV1-DATA it should be CACHEDEV1_DATA

So please try again with

Code: Select all

cat > /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf
RecordPath=/share/Recordings/HDHomeRunDVR
Port=59090
RecordStreamsMax=16
BetaEngine=1
RunAs=hdhomerundvr

demonrik
Posts: 1591
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 108042A1, 10814D8E
x 38

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

ok - I believe I have root caused the issue with the missing config file

it's down to how the scripts in the package_routines are executed along with the default behaviour of the installer.
I was restoring the backup config file in pkg_install() but then the installer would remove it again just before pkg_post_install()

So have moved the routine and should now work with 1.0.2 QPKG (uploading to cloud shares as I type)

So apologies to everyone..
For those who haven't upgraded - the new QPKG should be good to go
For those who have and are broken..
The solution is to create a CONF file
I've uploaded a default file to the cloud drives also (in the QNAP folder).
Edit the RecordPath if required, upload to <some folder> on the NAS, shutdown the record engine, and copy the conf file to the HDHomeRunDVR QPKG location before starting the engine, i.e.

Code: Select all

qpkg_service stop HDHomeRunDVR
cp /share/<some folder>/HDHomeRunDVR.conf /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf
chown hdhomerundvr /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf
chmod 664 /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf
qpkg_service start HDHomeRunDVR
Note - some older QNAPs still use MD0_DATA - so confirm the location of the QPKG is /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA..... with

Code: Select all

/sbin/getcfg HDHomeRunDVR Install_Path -f /etc/config/qpkg.conf

demonrik
Posts: 1591
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 108042A1, 10814D8E
x 38

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

an alternative method if not comfortable with SSH seems a little extreme but is not so bad as you might think.

Completely remove the HDHomeRunDVR package by 'removing' from AppCenter in QTS
Don't worry - your recordings are all safe.. nothing important is deleted.

Now install the 1.0.2 QPKG using manual install as before.
It should create a brand new config file, share, user, etc...

Once done - 'stop' the record engine via the AppCenter
browse to the DVR Manager UI and update the RecordPath in the config file to what you need it to be.
Make sure you have added the user hdhomerundvr read/write permissions to your recordpath by opening up in QTS - Control Panel -> Shared Folders -> select (tick box) your share -> select 'Edit Shared Folder Permissions' icon on the right, then select Add and add the hdhomerundvr user by checking the read/write (RW) box and apply

Now 'start' the record engine again via the AppCenter

psuKinger
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2015 7:22 am
Device ID: 13254099; 13219F42

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by psuKinger »

demonrik wrote: Thu Jul 16, 2020 12:42 pm an alternative method if not comfortable with SSH seems a little extreme but is not so bad as you might think.

Completely remove the HDHomeRunDVR package by 'removing' from AppCenter in QTS
Don't worry - your recordings are all safe.. nothing important is deleted.

Now install the 1.0.2 QPKG using manual install as before.
It should create a brand new config file, share, user, etc...

Once done - 'stop' the record engine via the AppCenter
browse to the DVR Manager UI and update the RecordPath in the config file to what you need it to be.
Make sure you have added the user hdhomerundvr read/write permissions to your recordpath by opening up in QTS - Control Panel -> Shared Folders -> select (tick box) your share -> select 'Edit Shared Folder Permissions' icon on the right, then select Add and add the hdhomerundvr user by checking the read/write (RW) box and apply

Now 'start' the record engine again via the AppCenter
Thanks for all the work on this, and apologies that I'm apparently just a bit too daft to pull this off, as I'm pretty sure this part here is eluding me somehow:
----------
Once done - 'stop' the record engine via the AppCenter
browse to the DVR Manager UI and update the RecordPath in the config file to what you need it to be.
----------

What do you mean when you say "the DVR Manager UI"?
Because I can "stop" the application within QTS, but with it stopped I don't know how to edit the record path. I have to turn it back from grey to green by restarting it, and then "open" the HDHomeRunDVR app within QTS, and find the UI with a default record path other than "share/Recordings/HDHomeRunDVR", and I can change that path to be what I want, and click the button that says "update config file," but when I do so, exit, and come back, the config file isn't updated...
But I can't "open" the app and get to that UI if I first "stop" the record engine via the QTS app center...

I think your directions are saying: "stop the engine first, then edit the record file location." And I'm not having much luck with that... what am I doing wrong?

demonrik
Posts: 1591
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 108042A1, 10814D8E
x 38

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

psuKinger wrote: Thu Jul 16, 2020 3:51 pm
demonrik wrote: Thu Jul 16, 2020 12:42 pm an alternative method if not comfortable with SSH seems a little extreme but is not so bad as you might think.

Completely remove the HDHomeRunDVR package by 'removing' from AppCenter in QTS
Don't worry - your recordings are all safe.. nothing important is deleted.

Now install the 1.0.2 QPKG using manual install as before.
It should create a brand new config file, share, user, etc...

Once done - 'stop' the record engine via the AppCenter
browse to the DVR Manager UI and update the RecordPath in the config file to what you need it to be.
Make sure you have added the user hdhomerundvr read/write permissions to your recordpath by opening up in QTS - Control Panel -> Shared Folders -> select (tick box) your share -> select 'Edit Shared Folder Permissions' icon on the right, then select Add and add the hdhomerundvr user by checking the read/write (RW) box and apply

Now 'start' the record engine again via the AppCenter
Thanks for all the work on this, and apologies that I'm apparently just a bit too daft to pull this off, as I'm pretty sure this part here is eluding me somehow:
----------
Once done - 'stop' the record engine via the AppCenter
browse to the DVR Manager UI and update the RecordPath in the config file to what you need it to be.
----------

What do you mean when you say "the DVR Manager UI"?
Because I can "stop" the application within QTS, but with it stopped I don't know how to edit the record path. I have to turn it back from grey to green by restarting it, and then "open" the HDHomeRunDVR app within QTS, and find the UI with a default record path other than "share/Recordings/HDHomeRunDVR", and I can change that path to be what I want, and click the button that says "update config file," but when I do so, exit, and come back, the config file isn't updated...
But I can't "open" the app and get to that UI if I first "stop" the record engine via the QTS app center...

I think your directions are saying: "stop the engine first, then edit the record file location." And I'm not having much luck with that... what am I doing wrong?
Ahh.. I understand the confusion.
You can open the UI before you stop if your using the app center to open it.. just stop before you edit the recordpath.
You can also reach the UI via browsing to http://nas_ip_address/HDHomeRunDVR directly

Post Reply