QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Downloads & Instructions
Post Reply
demonrik
Posts: 1377
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 10736454, 1073A35A, 1075C377, 108042A1
x 17

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

Heads up if you install latest 4.5.1.1456 firmware
For some reason QNAP basically flags unsigned applications in the App Center, and now only allows you to REMOVE the application.. so no ability to stop/start the HDHomeRunDVR package :(

Here's the workaround.. is not great, but works.
Hopefully they will fix the issue and I can drop this, if they don't I'll add to OP.

Workaround is to start/stop via Qboost
Open Qboost and you should have dialog presented like
Image
then select the dots over on the bottom right to drop down the list of apps, e.g.
Image
The right column has a bunch of icons for actions.. These are what we care about, i.e.
Image
The top one above has a play icon to start it, while others have a stop symbol to stop them.
Use these to control the app when a new engine is made available.

OR you can use new command console..
SSH to the NAS as admin and you can select app management, find the app, and the start/stop/restart from the console.
Or as other priviledged user use the command qpkg_service to start/stop the service, e.g.

Code: Select all

qpkg_service start HDHomeRunDVR

Rew452
Posts: 247
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 1:18 pm

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by Rew452 »

New firmware 4.5.1.1465 corrects this issue, 2020/10/24
It still flags the apps without digital-signature but again peovides for Stop/Start.

Rew

demonrik
Posts: 1377
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 10736454, 1073A35A, 1075C377, 108042A1
x 17

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

Rew452 wrote: Fri Oct 30, 2020 2:16 pm New firmware 4.5.1.1465 corrects this issue, 2020/10/24
It still flags the apps without digital-signature but again peovides for Stop/Start.

Rew
thanks for the heads up - will make it a little easier :)

likeaw
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 11:13 am

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by likeaw »

QNAP had released firmware 4.5.1.1480. I updated my NAS to this version as well as the latest HDHomeRunDVR engine so could try my 4k tuner. Lost my recording schedule for some reason and was giving me log error that could not create directory. See Log:

20201111-23:59:30 Recording: current time = Wed Nov 11 23:59:30 2020 (correction of 1s)
20201111-23:59:30 Recording: event Rick Steves' Europe S10E12 20181222 [20201111-2300] already ended
20201111-23:59:30 Recording: event FOX 4 News at 6 20051004 [20201112-0000] creating new worker
20201111-23:59:30 Recording: event NOVA S42E05 20150218 [20201112-0200] in future
20201111-23:59:30 Recording: next timer event in 0h31m00s
20201111-23:59:30 Recording: sending request to 10463E3A at 10.10.10.40 for FOX 4 News at 6 20051004 [20201112-0000]
20201111-23:59:30 Recording: failed to create dir for FOX 4 News at 6 20051004 [20201112-0000]

BTW FOX 4 should be broadcasting in 4K here in DFW and need to read the posts Connect 4K on that part of board. Reboot may have fixed record at this point for channels other then FOX 4. Will continue to read other posts and check back with more data later. I have a Quattro as well as the 4K tuner. 8 tuners total...well 10 as have old Connect that I disconnected at this time.

BTW 2 QNAP TS431P took about 5-7 minutes to stop the DVR engine..(thought it was hung but waited it out) and reboot was about 15- 20 minutes (way too long). Seems like changing channels takes longer also. Guess that is the cost of progress.

demonrik
Posts: 1377
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 10736454, 1073A35A, 1075C377, 108042A1
x 17

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

likeaw wrote: Wed Nov 11, 2020 7:47 pm QNAP had released firmware 4.5.1.1480. I updated my NAS to this version as well as the latest HDHomeRunDVR engine so could try my 4k tuner. Lost my recording schedule for some reason and was giving me log error that could not create directory. See Log:

20201111-23:59:30 Recording: current time = Wed Nov 11 23:59:30 2020 (correction of 1s)
20201111-23:59:30 Recording: event Rick Steves' Europe S10E12 20181222 [20201111-2300] already ended
20201111-23:59:30 Recording: event FOX 4 News at 6 20051004 [20201112-0000] creating new worker
20201111-23:59:30 Recording: event NOVA S42E05 20150218 [20201112-0200] in future
20201111-23:59:30 Recording: next timer event in 0h31m00s
20201111-23:59:30 Recording: sending request to 10463E3A at 10.10.10.40 for FOX 4 News at 6 20051004 [20201112-0000]
20201111-23:59:30 Recording: failed to create dir for FOX 4 News at 6 20051004 [20201112-0000]

BTW FOX 4 should be broadcasting in 4K here in DFW and need to read the posts Connect 4K on that part of board. Reboot may have fixed record at this point for channels other then FOX 4. Will continue to read other posts and check back with more data later. I have a Quattro as well as the 4K tuner. 8 tuners total...well 10 as have old Connect that I disconnected at this time.

BTW 2 QNAP TS431P took about 5-7 minutes to stop the DVR engine..(thought it was hung but waited it out) and reboot was about 15- 20 minutes (way too long). Seems like changing channels takes longer also. Guess that is the cost of progress.
failed to create dir can be a permissions issue or something else in the engine
If you got it working after - was it a recording of an existing series (i.e. you have previous 5recordings of the show) or a brand new series
i.e. you may still have the issue of creating folders in the recordpath for new shows

check 2 things
1. Open File Station, and select your record path folder in the explorer pane on the left. Right click and select Properties.. What are the owner and group set as? Select the Permissions Tab - what are the permissions?
Ideally you want hdhomerundvr as owner with administrators as group
2. open control panel -> privilege -> shared folders.. select your share for the recordpath and click on 'edit shared folder permission' on the right (middle icon typically). should list admin and hdhomerundvr both with read/write permissions.. fix if necessary

likeaw
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 11:13 am

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by likeaw »

demonrik wrote: Wed Nov 11, 2020 9:52 pm
likeaw wrote: Wed Nov 11, 2020 7:47 pm QNAP had released firmware 4.5.1.1480. I updated my NAS to this version as well as the latest HDHomeRunDVR engine so could try my 4k tuner. Lost my recording schedule for some reason and was giving me log error that could not create directory. See Log:

20201111-23:59:30 Recording: current time = Wed Nov 11 23:59:30 2020 (correction of 1s)
20201111-23:59:30 Recording: event Rick Steves' Europe S10E12 20181222 [20201111-2300] already ended
20201111-23:59:30 Recording: event FOX 4 News at 6 20051004 [20201112-0000] creating new worker
20201111-23:59:30 Recording: event NOVA S42E05 20150218 [20201112-0200] in future
20201111-23:59:30 Recording: next timer event in 0h31m00s
20201111-23:59:30 Recording: sending request to 10463E3A at 10.10.10.40 for FOX 4 News at 6 20051004 [20201112-0000]
20201111-23:59:30 Recording: failed to create dir for FOX 4 News at 6 20051004 [20201112-0000]

BTW FOX 4 should be broadcasting in 4K here in DFW and need to read the posts Connect 4K on that part of board. Reboot may have fixed record at this point for channels other then FOX 4. Will continue to read other posts and check back with more data later. I have a Quattro as well as the 4K tuner. 8 tuners total...well 10 as have old Connect that I disconnected at this time.

BTW 2 QNAP TS431P took about 5-7 minutes to stop the DVR engine..(thought it was hung but waited it out) and reboot was about 15- 20 minutes (way too long). Seems like changing channels takes longer also. Guess that is the cost of progress.
failed to create dir can be a permissions issue or something else in the engine
If you got it working after - was it a recording of an existing series (i.e. you have previous 5recordings of the show) or a brand new series
i.e. you may still have the issue of creating folders in the recordpath for new shows

check 2 things
1. Open File Station, and select your record path folder in the explorer pane on the left. Right click and select Properties.. What are the owner and group set as? Select the Permissions Tab - what are the permissions?
Ideally you want hdhomerundvr as owner with administrators as group
2. open control panel -> privilege -> shared folders.. select your share for the recordpath and click on 'edit shared folder permission' on the right (middle icon typically). should list admin and hdhomerundvr both with read/write permissions.. fix if necessary
Thanks for getting back with me so quickly. I think this is a 4K tuner issue. I ended up having to unplug it. I could not disable the problem channel on the 4K tuner as kept getting error on device I was watching. As long as it (Connect 4K) was online could not watch HEVC channel.

Jjjordanov
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2019 5:28 pm

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by Jjjordanov »

Hi all,
I've been using the engine for an year without any issues. I "upgraded" QNAP's OS to 4.5.1.1540 yesterday and now the engine stops abruptly. If I start it manually it works for a while and then it stops again. The event log says:
Image

I don't use the latest versions if that matters:
Image

What should I do so I can record and watch normally?

demonrik
Posts: 1377
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 10736454, 1073A35A, 1075C377, 108042A1
x 17

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

Jjjordanov wrote: Fri Jan 15, 2021 9:51 pm Hi all,
I've been using the engine for an year without any issues. I "upgraded" QNAP's OS to 4.5.1.1540 yesterday and now the engine stops abruptly. If I start it manually it works for a while and then it stops again. The event log says:
Image

I don't use the latest versions if that matters:
Image

What should I do so I can record and watch normally?
you don't mention which QTS version you upgraded from.
Probably an older one which didn't have all this security setting.
Check in App Center/Settings that you have enabled "Allow installation of applications without a valid digital signature"
If that wasn't there before then the default is NO.. and the app center will see the old installed apps and stop them.

speed13b
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat May 13, 2017 6:40 am

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by speed13b »

I just upgraded QTS to version 4.5.1.1540 build 20210107, now I cannot access the DVR manager via Safari. I get the following:

"Forbidden

You don't have permission to access this resource."

I'm accessing via the NAS IP/HDHomeRunDVR/ It worked fine up until this upgrade, I've got the latest version of the DVR manager (1.0.4) installed. Web server is enabled, and allow install of apps without digital signature under settings. I tried deleting and reinstalling the 1.0.4 qpkg as well. I haven't been able to get the DVR UI through QTS for a long time, so accessing thru a web browser is my only option. I'm at a loss, any suggestions?

Thanks...

Jjjordanov
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2019 5:28 pm

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by Jjjordanov »

demonrik wrote: Fri Jan 15, 2021 10:29 pm
Jjjordanov wrote: Fri Jan 15, 2021 9:51 pm Hi all,
I've been using the engine for an year without any issues. I "upgraded" QNAP's OS to 4.5.1.1540 yesterday and now the engine stops abruptly. If I start it manually it works for a while and then it stops again. The event log says:

I don't use the latest versions if that matters:

What should I do so I can record and watch normally?
you don't mention which QTS version you upgraded from.
Probably an older one which didn't have all this security setting.
Check in App Center/Settings that you have enabled "Allow installation of applications without a valid digital signature"
If that wasn't there before then the default is NO.. and the app center will see the old installed apps and stop them.

Code: Select all

Information	2021-01-14	02:58:28	System	127.0.0.1	Firmware Update	Firmware Update	[Firmware Update] Updated system from version 4.4.2.1320(20200529) to 4.5.1.1540(20210107).
I allowed non-signature applications per your advice and will report if it works. How safe is it to update to the latest DVR? Known bugs? I wouldn't lose any scheduled tasks, would I?

EDIT:
Can I downgrade DVR engine if needed?

demonrik
Posts: 1377
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 10736454, 1073A35A, 1075C377, 108042A1
x 17

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

[/quote]
speed13b wrote: Sat Jan 16, 2021 7:28 am I just upgraded QTS to version 4.5.1.1540 build 20210107, now I cannot access the DVR manager via Safari. I get the following:

"Forbidden

You don't have permission to access this resource."

I'm accessing via the NAS IP/HDHomeRunDVR/ It worked fine up until this upgrade, I've got the latest version of the DVR manager (1.0.4) installed. Web server is enabled, and allow install of apps without digital signature under settings. I tried deleting and reinstalling the 1.0.4 qpkg as well. I haven't been able to get the DVR UI through QTS for a long time, so accessing thru a web browser is my only option. I'm at a loss, any suggestions?

Thanks...
That error implies that the web service doesn't have access to a file.
for QNAP that's the httpdusr
Typically this user can access administrator group enabled files
The user requires
  • read/execute access to the hdhomerun_record binary typically also in your RecordPath (from 1.0.0+) so it can get status and version
  • read/write access to your CONF file which is typically located at
    /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf
  • read access to the log files which are stored in your RecordPath
@beerman also reported similar problem with his install and we couldn't find the solution :(
Never fear - lets try some things
First - try reset the web server to default configuration via Control Panel / Applications/ Web Server
Also good time to restore the php.ini file as well
And check the ini file (via edit) that it doesn't have an entry for open_basedir

If that is all good..
The next thing to check is whether its something in the web server or the permissions I mentioned above.
A simple check is to browse to the vars.php file, e.g.
http://192.169.0.1/HDHomeRunDVR/vars.php
it should be blank - i.e. no forbidden error message.
If you get forbidden error again we've a web server issue
else if blank then we've a permissions issue.

demonrik
Posts: 1377
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 10736454, 1073A35A, 1075C377, 108042A1
x 17

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

Jjjordanov wrote: Sat Jan 16, 2021 4:36 pm I allowed non-signature applications per your advice and will report if it works. How safe is it to update to the latest DVR? Known bugs? I wouldn't lose any scheduled tasks, would I?

EDIT:
Can I downgrade DVR engine if needed?
With the 1.0.x installers the engine is fetched from SD on start.. so the engine is upgraded on next start always.
So with 1.0.x you can't really downgrade

However - you can downgrade to the older installers.. which has an engine build included.
The downside here is that there are likely features missing, or broken since the engine is old.

just performed the upgrade myself yesterday in response to your post.
No stop so far on my QNAP.

speed13b
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat May 13, 2017 6:40 am

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by speed13b »

demonrik wrote: Sat Jan 16, 2021 5:14 pm
speed13b wrote: Sat Jan 16, 2021 7:28 am I just upgraded QTS to version 4.5.1.1540 build 20210107, now I cannot access the DVR manager via Safari. I get the following:

"Forbidden

You don't have permission to access this resource."

I'm accessing via the NAS IP/HDHomeRunDVR/ It worked fine up until this upgrade, I've got the latest version of the DVR manager (1.0.4) installed. Web server is enabled, and allow install of apps without digital signature under settings. I tried deleting and reinstalling the 1.0.4 qpkg as well. I haven't been able to get the DVR UI through QTS for a long time, so accessing thru a web browser is my only option. I'm at a loss, any suggestions?

Thanks...
That error implies that the web service doesn't have access to a file.
for QNAP that's the httpdusr
Typically this user can access administrator group enabled files
The user requires
  • read/execute access to the hdhomerun_record binary typically also in your RecordPath (from 1.0.0+) so it can get status and version
  • read/write access to your CONF file which is typically located at
    /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/HDHomeRunDVR/HDHomeRunDVR.conf
  • read access to the log files which are stored in your RecordPath
@beerman also reported similar problem with his install and we couldn't find the solution :(
Never fear - lets try some things
First - try reset the web server to default configuration via Control Panel / Applications/ Web Server
Also good time to restore the php.ini file as well
And check the ini file (via edit) that it doesn't have an entry for open_basedir

If that is all good..
The next thing to check is whether its something in the web server or the permissions I mentioned above.
A simple check is to browse to the vars.php file, e.g.
http://192.169.0.1/HDHomeRunDVR/vars.php
it should be blank - i.e. no forbidden error message.
If you get forbidden error again we've a web server issue
else if blank then we've a permissions issue.
[/quote]

I tried everything and couldn't get it to work (some may have exceeded my technical abilities, not sure if I was doing it correctly). I ended up deleting the HDHomeRunDVR shared folder through control panel-priveleges-users and groups, deleting the app, and reinstalling the qpkg. Now it works fine, I was able to salvage the recordings in there so all is well. Not sure why it happened in the first place, but I'm back in business. Thanks!

Jjjordanov
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2019 5:28 pm

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by Jjjordanov »

demonrik wrote: Sat Jan 16, 2021 5:16 pm
Jjjordanov wrote: Sat Jan 16, 2021 4:36 pm I allowed non-signature applications per your advice and will report if it works. How safe is it to update to the latest DVR? Known bugs? I wouldn't lose any scheduled tasks, would I?

EDIT:
Can I downgrade DVR engine if needed?
With the 1.0.x installers the engine is fetched from SD on start.. so the engine is upgraded on next start always.
So with 1.0.x you can't really downgrade

However - you can downgrade to the older installers.. which has an engine build included.
The downside here is that there are likely features missing, or broken since the engine is old.

just performed the upgrade myself yesterday in response to your post.
No stop so far on my QNAP.
Alright, thank you! I'll stick to what I have, it currently works fine (after allowing non-signature apps) and I'm afraid if I upgrade and it doesn't go smoothly I can't go back easily.
Winters are very busy for me and I can't afford to spend time and "learn" it again. That's what I like about it - it works so flawlessly that I forget how to fix it when something is off :)

Maybe it was discussed in the thread earlier, but I want to ask - are you on payroll with SD, or in any way affiliated or are you volunteering for this project? I didn't see a beer/tip/donation jar neither here nor at github... Maybe simply putting there a BTC/ETH address?

Artemis Entreri
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2021 4:26 pm

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by Artemis Entreri »

What do you do if you don't have a CONF file and can't create one?

Post Reply