QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Downloads & Instructions
Post Reply
demonrik
Posts: 1343
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 10736454, 1073A35A, 1075C377, 108042A1
x 7

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

psuKinger wrote: Wed Aug 26, 2020 5:43 am
demonrik wrote: Mon Aug 24, 2020 1:56 pm That is very odd
BusyBox as of today is current v1.32
Mine is showing v1.24 (5yrs old) from last QTS update on my TS-651.
v1.01 is over 15yrs old!
Build date kinda matches last QTS update.. but still..

Which QNAP do you have?

The parameters are the same though.. so not sure whats going on.
Maybe we need to specify the existing group, otherwise it's trying to create and failing.
Try the following

Code: Select all

adduser -HDG hdhomerundvr hdhomerundvr
I have a QNAP TS-431+. I think I bought it in 2017? It's not *new* but it's only a few years old...
It looks like I'm running firmware version 4.4.3.1400 right now.

I used the command you suggested. When I did it didn't return anything. I don't know if that means it worked or it didn't? Here's a copy-paste from PuTTY:
----
[~] # adduser -HDG hdhomerundvr hdhomerundvr
[~] #
----
Can you check /etc/ passwd again?

psuKinger
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2015 7:22 am
Device ID: 13254099; 13219F42

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by psuKinger »

demonrik wrote: Wed Aug 26, 2020 6:44 am
Can you check /etc/ passwd again?
[EDIT/UPDATE right at the start - this post ends with my DVR record engine working again. I just wanted to cut to the chase right at the start now that I'm back in business! You and anyone else can read the steps I took to carry it over the finish line only if you want to... THANK YOU for all your help with this]


That should have been obvious... sorry for being a bit dense.

User "hdhomerundvr" now exists and is disabled... the "properties" show it as already have R/W access to my "Recordings" share, so that's good. I think I just need to enable it?

So I went off-roading here just a bit and tried to take a little action without you having to hold my hand. I clicked on:
Edit Account Profile - for the hdhomerundvr "user"
I unchecked the box that said "disable this account" and then clicked "OK"
I confirmed that the user hdhomerundvr now is "enabled" and has "R/W" to my "Recordings" share
I checked the program and still saw no DVR.

So I went to the app center, first confirmed that my Record Path for 1.0.4 is "/share/Recordings/HDHomeRunDVR", then I stopped and restarted the engine.
And: Voila.


THANK YOU FOR YOUR PATIENCE AND HELP!! I'm back in business. My wife will be thrilled. Sincerest thank-you's.

demonrik
Posts: 1343
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 10736454, 1073A35A, 1075C377, 108042A1
x 7

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

psuKinger wrote: Wed Aug 26, 2020 9:08 am
demonrik wrote: Wed Aug 26, 2020 6:44 am
Can you check /etc/ passwd again?
[EDIT/UPDATE right at the start - this post ends with my DVR record engine working again. I just wanted to cut to the chase right at the start now that I'm back in business! You and anyone else can read the steps I took to carry it over the finish line only if you want to... THANK YOU for all your help with this]
Yay - glad we got you up and running.
That should have been obvious... sorry for being a bit dense.

User "hdhomerundvr" now exists and is disabled... the "properties" show it as already have R/W access to my "Recordings" share, so that's good. I think I just need to enable it?

So I went off-roading here just a bit and tried to take a little action without you having to hold my hand. I clicked on:
Edit Account Profile - for the hdhomerundvr "user"
I unchecked the box that said "disable this account" and then clicked "OK"
I confirmed that the user hdhomerundvr now is "enabled" and has "R/W" to my "Recordings" share
I checked the program and still saw no DVR.

So I went to the app center, first confirmed that my Record Path for 1.0.4 is "/share/Recordings/HDHomeRunDVR", then I stopped and restarted the engine.
And: Voila.


THANK YOU FOR YOUR PATIENCE AND HELP!! I'm back in business. My wife will be thrilled. Sincerest thank-you's.
you don't need to enable the user - that's just about allowing login
It was the restart from app center with the user existing that fixed this for you.
I will update the scripts to use the same adduser command, clearly something in older busybox on some devices. and one thing I've found while googling through all this is that you can't rely on busybox versions on QNAP.. it varies massively.
Checked same command on my newer version - and is ok..
Thanks for persisting and not giving up.. helps us get more robust solution overall :)

Beerman
Posts: 1524
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 7:05 pm

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by Beerman »

demonrik wrote: Tue Aug 25, 2020 9:48 pm
Beerman wrote: Tue Aug 25, 2020 7:31 pm Not sure why but while my Snology HDHomeRunDVR is working superbly, my QNAP stopped working. When I try to access it, I get the error message: You don't have permission to access /HDHomeRunDVR/ on this server.
How are you trying to access
When I checked the system log, I see 3 ip address and only the first one is correct. I'm not sure how to remove the other 2 or how they got there. I am not sure but I think there was a power surge recently. I restarted the NAS and ran a check and all is fine. I then reinstalled the latest version and nothing has changed. What do I need to do to get this working again?

Image
Usually the multiple up addresses is because you have container station enabled and possibly running containers
I wouldn't worry about it

Check permissions on the share and make sure hdhomerundvr user has access
Stop the package and try removing logs, remove any hdhomerun_record in the record path and /tmp, remove /tmp/hdhomerundvr_install.log, and restart the package
Do you get a log file in record path?
Is there a hdhomerun_record file in the record path?
If /tmp/hdhomerundvr_install.log exists, please post contents
I'm trying like I always have, via browser (FF) but tried other browsers. I did everything you suggested and there is no log in the tmp directory.
Then I totally removed the program and reinstalled it and still no luck. It did create a hdhomerun_record file and a new log which shows:
HDHomeRun RECORD 20200701 Linux 3DFE92DE-5FD0-6C90-2E9F-41F496156819
20200826-20:29:19 System: file limit = 4096
20200826-20:29:19 Recording: RecordPath[0] = '/share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/HDHomeRunDVR/'
20200826-20:29:19 Recording: RecordPath /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/HDHomeRunDVR/ = ext
20200826-20:29:19 System: LocalIP: 10.0.3.1 255.255.255.0
20200826-20:29:19 System: LocalIP: 10.0.5.1 255.255.255.0
20200826-20:29:19 System: LocalIP: 192.168.1.71 255.255.255.0
20200826-20:29:19 System: website port = 59090
20200826-20:29:19 Recorded: RecordPath '/share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/HDHomeRunDVR/' (ext)
20200826-20:29:19 Status: Resource: nbk=0 dmk=245
20200826-20:29:19 Status: ticks = 66122716
20200826-20:29:19 Recorded: directory /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/HDHomeRunDVR/ with 1 subdirs and 0 recordings
20200826-20:29:19 Recording: sending discover using local ip 10.0.3.1
20200826-20:29:19 Recording: sending discover using local ip 10.0.5.1
20200826-20:29:19 Recording: sending discover using local ip 192.168.1.71
20200826-20:29:19 Recorded: directory /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/HDHomeRunDVR/@Recently-Snapshot/ with 0 subdirs and 0 recordings
20200826-20:29:20 Recording: sending discover using local ip 10.0.3.1
20200826-20:29:20 Recording: sending discover using local ip 10.0.5.1
20200826-20:29:20 Recording: sending discover using local ip 192.168.1.71
20200826-20:29:20 Recording: discover response from 3DFE92DE-5FD0-6C90-2E9F-41F496156819 http://10.0.3.1:59090
20200826-20:29:20 Recording: discover response from 95B79A23-E970-01DF-757F-ED102A7ADFE8 http://192.168.1.132:59090
20200826-20:29:20 Recording: discover response from 1051B6AB http://192.168.1.188:80
20200826-20:29:20 Recording: discover response from 1070C7FD http://192.168.1.227:80
20200826-20:29:20 Recording: discover response from 1321770E http://192.168.1.70:80
20200826-20:29:20 Recording: discover response from 132642E4 http://192.168.1.235:80
20200826-20:29:20 Recorded: recorded sync to record-api.hdhomerun.com
20200826-20:29:20 Recording: event download from record-api.hdhomerun.com
20200826-20:29:20 Recording: 1051B6AB lineup request success (found 47 channels)
20200826-20:29:20 Recording: 1070C7FD lineup request success (found 33 channels)
20200826-20:29:20 Recording: 1321770E lineup request success (found 279 channels)
20200826-20:29:20 Recording: 132642E4 lineup request success (found 413 channels)
20200826-20:29:21 System: server time = Wed Aug 26 20:29:21 2020 (correction of 1s)
20200826-20:29:21 Recorded: recorded sync success
20200826-20:29:22 System: server time = Wed Aug 26 20:29:22 2020 (correction of 1s)
20200826-20:29:22 Recording: event download success
20200826-20:29:22 Recording: disk space available = 1024GB
20200826-20:29:22 Recording: current time = Wed Aug 26 20:29:22 2020 (correction of 1s)
20200826-20:29:22 Recording: no timer events planned


HDHomeRun RECORD 20200521 Linux EFC7F661-5DF5-2BC3-16F0-7B3CE02E74DE
20200826-20:30:31 System: file limit = 4096
20200826-20:30:31 Recording: RecordPath[0] = '/share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/HDHomeRunDVR/'
20200826-20:30:31 Recording: RecordPath /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/HDHomeRunDVR/ = ext
20200826-20:30:31 System: LocalIP: 10.0.3.1 255.255.255.0
20200826-20:30:31 System: LocalIP: 10.0.5.1 255.255.255.0
20200826-20:30:31 System: LocalIP: 192.168.1.71 255.255.255.0
20200826-20:30:31 System: website port = 59090
20200826-20:30:31 Recorded: RecordPath '/share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/HDHomeRunDVR/' (ext)
20200826-20:30:31 Status: Resource: nbk=0 dmk=245
20200826-20:30:31 Status: ticks = 66194125
20200826-20:30:31 Recorded: directory /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/HDHomeRunDVR/ with 1 subdirs and 0 recordings
20200826-20:30:31 Recording: sending discover using local ip 10.0.3.1
20200826-20:30:31 Recording: sending discover using local ip 10.0.5.1
20200826-20:30:31 Recording: sending discover using local ip 192.168.1.71
20200826-20:30:31 Recorded: directory /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/HDHomeRunDVR/@Recently-Snapshot/ with 0 subdirs and 0 recordings
20200826-20:30:31 Recording: sending discover using local ip 10.0.3.1
20200826-20:30:31 Recording: sending discover using local ip 10.0.5.1
20200826-20:30:31 Recording: sending discover using local ip 192.168.1.71
20200826-20:30:31 Recording: discover response from 95B79A23-E970-01DF-757F-ED102A7ADFE8 http://192.168.1.132:59090
20200826-20:30:31 Recording: discover response from EFC7F661-5DF5-2BC3-16F0-7B3CE02E74DE http://10.0.3.1:59090
20200826-20:30:31 Recording: discover response from 1051B6AB http://192.168.1.188:80
20200826-20:30:31 Recording: discover response from 1070C7FD http://192.168.1.227:80
20200826-20:30:31 Recording: discover response from 1321770E http://192.168.1.70:80
20200826-20:30:31 Recording: discover response from 132642E4 http://192.168.1.235:80
20200826-20:30:31 Recorded: recorded sync to record-api.hdhomerun.com
20200826-20:30:31 Recording: event download from record-api.hdhomerun.com
20200826-20:30:31 Recording: 1051B6AB lineup request success (found 47 channels)
20200826-20:30:31 Recording: 1070C7FD lineup request success (found 33 channels)
20200826-20:30:31 Recording: 1321770E lineup request success (found 279 channels)
20200826-20:30:31 Recording: 132642E4 lineup request success (found 413 channels)
20200826-20:30:32 System: server time = Wed Aug 26 20:30:32 2020 (correction of 0s)
20200826-20:30:32 Recorded: recorded sync success
20200826-20:30:34 System: server time = Wed Aug 26 20:30:34 2020 (correction of 1s)
20200826-20:30:34 Recording: event download success
20200826-20:30:34 Recording: disk space available = 1024GB
20200826-20:30:34 Recording: current time = Wed Aug 26 20:30:34 2020 (correction of 1s)
20200826-20:30:34 Recording: no timer events planned
The system log shows: 20200826-20:30:31 Recorded: RecordPath '/share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/HDHomeRunDVR/' (ext)

Thanks much for all your help!!!!

Beerman
Posts: 1524
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 7:05 pm

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by Beerman »

I did notice after I uninstalled and reinstalled that under Users, hdhomerundvr was set to 'disabled' but I enabled it and all the permissions are fine but obviously, that made no difference.

demonrik
Posts: 1343
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 10736454, 1073A35A, 1075C377, 108042A1
x 7

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

@Beerman
ok - it finally dawned on me what the problem you were reporting is..
i.e. you can't get to the DVR Manager web page with your browser?!

At least the engine looks like it's running, and you're getting logs and installing the binary
So it's a web server problem.

Could be your PHP settings or Web server settings got messed up.. maybe reset them via the QTS interface?

Beerman
Posts: 1524
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 7:05 pm

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by Beerman »

demonrik wrote: Wed Aug 26, 2020 2:34 pm @Beerman
ok - it finally dawned on me what the problem you were reporting is..
i.e. you can't get to the DVR Manager web page with your browser?!

At least the engine looks like it's running, and you're getting logs and installing the binary
So it's a web server problem.

Could be your PHP settings or Web server settings got messed up.. maybe reset them via the QTS interface?
Thanks again for your help. No luck so far though I feel I've checked everything. As long as it's working, I don't really feel it's imperative that I be able to access it. The Synology is the main unit for recording and it's working just fine.

ZacMan
Posts: 235
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 7:40 pm
Device ID: 10115FF2, 1033A485, 13106388, 13111AC9, 1060B7DD
Location: New Jersey

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by ZacMan »

Is there a qnap package for the latest DVR version?

demonrik
Posts: 1343
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 10736454, 1073A35A, 1075C377, 108042A1
x 7

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

ZacMan wrote: Sat Sep 19, 2020 12:24 pm Is there a qnap package for the latest DVR version?
if on latest QPKG, stop then start it to get the latest DVR.
There are no more package updates just for the DVR engine ;)

ZacMan
Posts: 235
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 7:40 pm
Device ID: 10115FF2, 1033A485, 13106388, 13111AC9, 1060B7DD
Location: New Jersey

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by ZacMan »

demonrik wrote: Sat Sep 19, 2020 12:44 pm
ZacMan wrote: Sat Sep 19, 2020 12:24 pm Is there a qnap package for the latest DVR version?
if on latest QPKG, stop then start it to get the latest DVR.
There are no more package updates just for the DVR engine ;)
OK I guess I’m going to have to read the instructions for the latest version. I hope I can figure it out I’m not a Qnap expert And my Linux knowledge is very limited.

speed13b
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat May 13, 2017 6:40 am

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by speed13b »

I stopped and started the DVR engine on my QNAP, but my.hdhomerun.com still shows an outdated engine (20200521). Am I missing an obvious step?

Thanks...

demonrik
Posts: 1343
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 10736454, 1073A35A, 1075C377, 108042A1
x 7

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

speed13b wrote: Tue Sep 22, 2020 5:33 am I stopped and started the DVR engine on my QNAP, but my.hdhomerun.com still shows an outdated engine (20200521). Am I missing an obvious step?

Thanks...
Which version of the QPKG are you using?
I've observed (more on synology than qnap) that sometimes on STOP of the engine (or maybe is on the START) the engine doesn't remove the old temporary extract engine in /tmp
Usually this is the culprit

Sometimes - another stop/wait a few secs/start will fix it

If not then you can ssh to your qnap as admin and execute the following to stop/clean/start and it should resolve. Please change <RecordPath> to your RecordPath, e.g. /share/HDHomeRunDVR

Code: Select all

qpkg_service stop HDHomeRunDVR
rm -f /tmp/hdho*
rm -f <RecordPath>/hdhomerun_record
qpkg_service start HDHomeRunDVR
let me know if this works

speed13b
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat May 13, 2017 6:40 am

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by speed13b »

Operator error on this one, I did not have the latest QPKG (1.0.4) installed, once I updated everything is fine and the DVR version shows current. Appreciate the reply, this was all on me :)

Thanks again...

jflo91
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2015 8:13 am

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by jflo91 »

I am running into an odd issue. with the latest updates, when I go to the HDHomeRun DVR UI web page (version 0.8.6b) it all seems to work... however, if I search and add a program to record, it does not actually add it.

I do see the loading indicator spin, but it does not actually add the program...

demonrik
Posts: 1343
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 10736454, 1073A35A, 1075C377, 108042A1
x 7

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

jflo91 wrote: Sun Oct 11, 2020 8:03 am I am running into an odd issue. with the latest updates, when I go to the HDHomeRun DVR UI web page (version 0.8.6b) it all seems to work... however, if I search and add a program to record, it does not actually add it.

I do see the loading indicator spin, but it does not actually add the program...
this is thread for the record engine installer not the DVRUI
unfortunately I just haven't had the time to update the DVRUI since feb. It needs some significant updates, hence been pushing it to the back burner.
I think thread has expired too :(
Hoping I can get some time on it soon

Post Reply