Possible to add Streaming rate data to status.json output?

Want to write your own code to work with a HDHomeRun or work with the HDHomeRun DVR? We are happy to help with concepts, APIs, best practices.
Post Reply
wazer
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 11:10 am
x 1

Possible to add Streaming rate data to status.json output?

Post by wazer »

Hi wondering if any of the devs could add this, simple request :)

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9616
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 10802091 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36
x 30

Re: Possible to add Streaming rate data to status.json output?

Post by signcarver »

And why are you asking for such?

99% of the time such is irrelevant as it is too variable, not to mention different codecs being used to make such moot.

wazer
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 11:10 am
x 1

Re: Possible to add Streaming rate data to status.json output?

Post by wazer »

Because its annoying to see what is going on with 2 different pages when debugging my wireless network when it lags/sound is behind video.

Why not request such simple thing?

Whats the problem.

EddieP
Posts: 285
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2019 11:04 am

Re: Possible to add Streaming rate data to status.json output?

Post by EddieP »

I like the way Channels DVR does it they add it to the web ui.

ex ...

Activity
Watching ch744 CNNHD from 10.0.0.220: strength=84% quality=100% symbol=100% rate=3Mb/sec
Activity
Watching ch8.1 KGW from 10.0.0.220: strength=100% quality=97% symbol=100% rate=14.3Mb/sec sigerr=20%

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16659
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 87

Re: Possible to add Streaming rate data to status.json output?

Post by nickk »

Good idea. We will add it.

Nick

wazer
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 11:10 am
x 1

Re: Possible to add Streaming rate data to status.json output?

Post by wazer »

nickk wrote: Tue May 26, 2020 6:31 pm Good idea. We will add it.

Nick
Thanks can it be live like updated every X seconds?

Matt_D
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2021 11:05 pm

Re: Possible to add Streaming rate data to status.json output?

Post by Matt_D »

nickk wrote: Tue May 26, 2020 6:31 pm Good idea. We will add it.

Nick
Nick,

The 20200907 firmware update includes the note "All models: report network rate in status.json." While my HDHR5-4US devices provide the network rate, none of my HDHR3-CC devices provide the network rate in status.json. Is it possible to add this information to the HDHR3-CC models as well?

Use case: One of my HDHR3-CC units would frequently "hang" on a tuned channel. The tuner would remain locked, and say it's streaming to an IP, but the network rate would show zero. When tuning to that same channel on the device at the IP the HDHR3-CC was supposedly streaming to, it would use a different tuner, and the "hung" tuner would remain locked and "streaming" at 0 Mbps. I could "reset" the tuner by overriding the tuner lock, at which point the tuner functioned as normal. I never figured out what conditions would cause this, and a recent firmware update seems to have resolved the issue. However, it would still be handy to automate checking for a tuner in use that's supposedly streaming at zero bitrate. That's probably never a desired behavior, and if the issue returns and I don't notice it could cause me to miss scheduled recordings.

Post Reply