HDHomeRun App command-line channel setting

Want to write your own code to work with a HDHomeRun or work with the HDHomeRun DVR? We are happy to help with concepts, APIs, best practices.
Post Reply
TPeterson
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 8:29 pm
Location: San Carlos, CA
Contact:

HDHomeRun App command-line channel setting

Post by TPeterson » Mon Dec 30, 2019 1:32 pm

Hi, Nick!

I've learned that one can start the HDHomerun app with the following command:

start shell:appsfolder\EF712BA7.HDHomeRunDVR_23nna27hyxhag!App

But, unlike MSFT Edge, the app seems to ignore any parameters on that command line and simply restarts with the previously viewed channel. How about adding a check for a channel-setting parameter, say, something like:

start shell:appsfolder\EF712BA7.HDHomeRunDVR_23nna27hyxhag!App v9.3

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 15674
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am

Re: HDHomeRun App command-line channel setting

Post by nickk » Mon Dec 30, 2019 7:02 pm

That is plausible... I will float the idea internally.

Nick

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 15674
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am

Re: HDHomeRun App command-line channel setting

Post by nickk » Tue Dec 31, 2019 12:07 pm

Ok...

1) I added a launch alias to the app so you can launch the app from a PowerShell by invoking HDHomeRunApp.exe. This will be in the next release.

2) It requires a newish version of Windows 10 but I confirmed it can take parameters. Testing with /Channel 9.1 as a parameter resulted in the app detecting the request. The next step is to inform the UI of the request.

3) As a bonus I confirmed you can use PowerShell HDHomeRunApp.exe to message the running app, for example to change channel. This could enable some interesting features.

Nick

TPeterson
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 8:29 pm
Location: San Carlos, CA
Contact:

Re: HDHomeRun App command-line channel setting

Post by TPeterson » Tue Dec 31, 2019 12:28 pm

That sounds perfect, Nick. Thanks!

--Terry

Post Reply