Interpreting debugging values from the TCP interface

Want to write your own code to work with a HDHomeRun or work with the HDHomeRun DVR? We are happy to help with concepts, APIs, best practices.
mdlayher

Interpreting debugging values from the TCP interface

Postby mdlayher » Wed Aug 16, 2017 8:48 am

Hi all,

I've got an HDHomeRun Prime here at home that I absolutely love, and since I'm a programmer, I've decided to poke around at the device's TCP interface with Go, to fetch and parse some of the information that can be retrieved by hdhomerun_config.

https://github.com/mdlayher/hdhomerun

The eventual goal is to build a Prometheus exporter, so I can monitor my HDHomeRun along with many of the other network-connected devices in my home.

I'm having no problem fetching values from the device, but I am finding it difficult to discern the meaning of some of them. Thus far, I've been using the HDHomeRun Development Guide, but it appears it was last updated in 2011.

https://www.silicondust.com/hdhomerun/h ... opment.pdf

Let's start off with the output of "/oob/debug".

Code: Select all

$ hdhomerun_config 13252C05 get /oob/debug tun: ch=oob2048:75250000 lock=oob2048:75250000 ss=98 snq=100 dbg=-448/-2228
This appears to be the same output that is used for the CableCARD menu on the Prime's web UI. However, I'm curious as to how the web UI can produce a signal strength measurement in dBmV, and a quality with a unit of dB.

Also, does anyone have any idea what the two numbers in the "dbg" field mean?

Next, I have some questions about the tuner debug output (when tuned to a channel).

Code: Select all

$ hdhomerun_config 13252C05 get /tuner0/debug tun: ch=qam:141000000 lock=qam256:141000000 ss=100 snq=100 seq=100 dbg=-392/-3639 dev: bps=38809216 resync=0 overflow=0 cc: bps=38810720 resync=0 overflow=0 ts: bps=3382496 te=0 crc=0 net: pps=336 err=0 stop=0
The "tun" line makes sense to me, other than the "dbg" member again.