New: HDHomeRun app for LG TVs - ecf

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
ecf
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2020 12:20 pm

New: HDHomeRun app for LG TVs - ecf

Post by ecf »

Hey there, just wondering about the status of this - we're 8+ months out since this last post, and there hasn't been any update on being able to use DVR with the LG app. Still not working on my B9, live TV works just fine.

Edit: DVR works fine on our AppleTV connected to our other TV, so I'm sure it's not our RECORD setup.
NedS wrote: Thu Nov 19, 2020 3:15 pm
wtg wrote: Thu Nov 19, 2020 10:25 am
NedS wrote: Wed Nov 18, 2020 5:57 pm

The DVR service is already supported in the LG app.
Except a number of us have reported that it doesn't. Instead we receive the message "Your HD HomeRun DVR wasn't found."
Sorry, I got my mental notes all mixed up, probably thinking of the Apple TV app that just got DVR support. I will ask the dev team about the status of the LG DVR bug.

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 17173
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 109

Re: New: HDHomeRun app for LG TVs - ecf

Post by nickk »

Hi ecf,

I split your post off to a new thread so it doesn't get missed.

DVR already works with the LG app. What problem/symptom are you seeing?

Nick

ecf
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2020 12:20 pm

Re: New: HDHomeRun app for LG TVs - ecf

Post by ecf »

My B9 successfully finds my CONNECT 4K and allows me to watch live TV without issue, but going into the Recorded menu yields the error "Your HDHomeRun DVR wasn't found". When watching during the initialization of the LG app, the B9 only finds 1 device, the CONNECT 4K.

The HDHomeRun app on macOS, Windows, AppleTV, iOS and Android all on the same network as the B9 can see and use HDHomeRun Record v20210301 (running on a Debian box) without issue.

Edit: I should note that the earlier thread had multiple people reporting the same issue with DVR not working in the LG app last year, without a follow-up that this was fixed, per the comment I quoted.

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 17173
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 109

Re: New: HDHomeRun app for LG TVs - ecf

Post by nickk »

LG apps use multicast for discovery which may require a newer record engine. If you have multiple network interfaces or IP addresses on the Debian box you need at least the 20210624 release.

Can you please install the latest record engine on your Debian box.

Nick

ecf
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2020 12:20 pm

Re: New: HDHomeRun app for LG TVs - ecf

Post by ecf »

The https://info.hdhomerun.com/info/dvr:linux page only has the 20210301 version of RECORD available for download. Both the Debian/Ubuntu stable and beta links are 20210301. Is there an alternate source?

I don't have multiple network interfaces or IP addresses on the Debian box FYI (unless you consider localhost an additional IP).

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 17173
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 109

Re: New: HDHomeRun app for LG TVs - ecf

Post by nickk »


ecf
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2020 12:20 pm

Re: New: HDHomeRun app for LG TVs - ecf

Post by ecf »

I'm afraid that's not the case. When downloaded and executed, they report version number 20210301 even if 20210624 is in the URL of the download. Here's a transcript of a session just a few minutes ago where I downloaded from the link you provided and checked the version.

Code: Select all

$ mkdir testdir
$ cd testdir/
$ wget https://download.silicondust.com/hdhomerun/hdhomerun_record_linux
--2021-09-02 11:26:13--  https://download.silicondust.com/hdhomerun/hdhomerun_record_linux
Resolving download.silicondust.com (download.silicondust.com)... 2606:4700:20::ac43:45bb, 2606:4700:20::681a:5e, 2606:4700:20::681a:15e, ...
Connecting to download.silicondust.com (download.silicondust.com)|2606:4700:20::ac43:45bb|:443... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 302 Found
Location: https://download.silicondust.com/hdhomerun/hdhomerun_record_linux_20210624 [following]
--2021-09-02 11:26:13--  https://download.silicondust.com/hdhomerun/hdhomerun_record_linux_20210624
Reusing existing connection to [download.silicondust.com]:443.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: 1488204 (1.4M) [application/octet-stream]
Saving to: ‘hdhomerun_record_linux’

hdhomerun_record_li 100%[===================>]   1.42M  --.-KB/s    in 0.1s    

2021-09-02 11:26:13 (13.8 MB/s) - ‘hdhomerun_record_linux’ saved [1488204/1488204]

$ chmod 755 hdhomerun_record_linux 
$ ./hdhomerun_record_linux version
HDHomeRun RECORD version 20210301
Copyright © 2005-2021 Silicondust USA Inc. <www.silicondust.com>. All rights reserved.

ecf
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2020 12:20 pm

Re: New: HDHomeRun app for LG TVs - ecf

Post by ecf »

I tried one more time to download it, and received 20210624. A quick fix on your end, or perhaps a CDN caching or load balancing issue somewhere down the line?

However, the LG app on my B9 still does not detect RECORD 20210624. macOS and AppleTV clients tested have no issue finding the upgraded RECORD server.

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 17173
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 109

Re: New: HDHomeRun app for LG TVs - ecf

Post by nickk »

I just tested on my linux machine and it worked:

Code: Select all

# wget https://download.silicondust.com/hdhomerun/hdhomerun_record_linux
--2021-09-02 09:49:27--  https://download.silicondust.com/hdhomerun/hdhomerun_record_linux
Resolving download.silicondust.com (download.silicondust.com)... 172.67.69.187, 104.26.0.94, 104.26.1.94, ...
Connecting to download.silicondust.com (download.silicondust.com)|172.67.69.187|:443... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 302 Found
Location: https://download.silicondust.com/hdhomerun/hdhomerun_record_linux_20210624 [following]
--2021-09-02 09:49:27--  https://download.silicondust.com/hdhomerun/hdhomerun_record_linux_20210624
Reusing existing connection to download.silicondust.com:443.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: 1488204 (1.4M) [application/octet-stream]
Saving to: ‘hdhomerun_record_linux’

hdhomerun_record_linux                            100%[=============================================================================================================>]   1.42M  7.87MB/s    in 0.2s    

2021-09-02 09:49:28 (7.87 MB/s) - ‘hdhomerun_record_linux’ saved [1488204/1488204]

# chmod +x hdhomerun_record_linux 
# ./hdhomerun_record_linux version
HDHomeRun RECORD version 20210624
Copyright © 2005-2021 Silicondust USA Inc. <www.silicondust.com>. All rights reserved.
Suggest:
1) stop the record engine:
./hdhomerun_record_linux stop

2) delete any instances in tmp:
rm /tmp/hdhomerun_record*

3) try running again:
./hdhomerun_record_linux version

Note that the file actually contains binaries for different CPU architectures - it extracts the right one for your system to /tmp/ and runs it from there.
The beta adds arm64 support.

Nick

ecf
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2020 12:20 pm

Re: New: HDHomeRun app for LG TVs - ecf

Post by ecf »

Per my above note, I was able to get 20210624 on another attempt, did the upgrade, and have confirmed that version is running with my.hdhomerun.com.

However, the LG app on my B9 still does not detect RECORD 20210624. macOS and AppleTV clients tested have no issue finding the upgraded RECORD server.

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 17173
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 109

Re: New: HDHomeRun app for LG TVs - ecf

Post by nickk »

Could be a network switch blocking multicast or a firewall on the Debian system.

Are any switches con your network configurable?

Does the Debian system run a firewall like iptables?

Nick

ecf
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2020 12:20 pm

Re: New: HDHomeRun app for LG TVs - ecf

Post by ecf »

The Debian box is not running iptables or another firewall. It's plugged directly into the switch on our ISP's CPE, which we have no choice but to use.

Multicast is configured on the interface:

Code: Select all

2: eno1: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state UP group default qlen 1000
I am able to discover the Debian box via avahi over the network, so other multicast apps are working without issue on the Debian box.

In addition, we have other devices that use multicast on the network and connected to the ISP's CPE that work without issue.

For further testing, I installed HDHomeRun RECORD 20210720 on my Mac, which is connected to the same wireless network as the LG B9. my.hdhomerun.com detects both the Debian and macOS instances of RECORD as well as my CONNECT 4k. My Android phone also detects both HDHomeRun RECORD instances on the network as well as my CONNECT 4k. The LG still only detects the CONNECT 4K.

Is it possible that the B9 never got an update that newer LG TVs got that fixed whatever DVR issues were going on last year?

sdust
Posts: 154
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2021 3:39 am
x 9

Re: New: HDHomeRun app for LG TVs - ecf

Post by sdust »

Why don't you sniff network traffic from your TV on the DVR box with tcpdump?

ecf
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2020 12:20 pm

Re: New: HDHomeRun app for LG TVs - ecf

Post by ecf »

I'd be happy to run any tcpdump session Silicon Dust might need to help diagnose this, and send the specific results to Silicon Dust privately.

A tcpdump reveals that discovery/multicast requests from the LG B9 are successfully received and replied to by the Debian box, even though the LG B9 gives the "Your HD HomeRun DVR wasn't found" error.

ecf
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2020 12:20 pm

Re: New: HDHomeRun app for LG TVs - ecf

Post by ecf »

Is there anything that can be done for this? There's no evidence as far as I can see on the forum that anybody with an LG has the DVR working, I feel that I've done a whole lot of local troubleshooting that has yielded no evidence of issues outside of the LG app, and all of my other HDHomeRun devices and configs work fine on the same network with the DVR. Can an engineer be put on this? I'm happy to do intensive troubleshooting behind the scenes.

FYI, I found that running the command './hdhomerun_record_linux version' on a RECORD binary while a *different* version of the RECORD binary is already running and in memory will yield the version number not of the binary that is being executed via the command line, but of the binary that is already running. I have been able to replicate this in a few different linux configurations. This explains the confusion earlier. This may be something you wish to change to avoid further confusion.

Post Reply