Which 4k TV can run the official full featured HDHomeRun app

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
boliek

Which 4k TV can run the official full featured HDHomeRun app

Post by boliek »

So to use the DVR recording programming features you need to be able to run the official full featured HDHomerun app. Which 4k TVs (ATSC 3.0) are capable (by themselves) of running that app? "Android TV" and "Fire TV" are indicated as capable of running the full featured app. Are those actual TVs (with Android or Fire firmware) or are they streaming devices attached to TVs (like Invidia)? I don't want to have to access to full features separately from the TV by using a Windows 10 or tablet or smart phone but want to simplify things by just using the TV and HDHomerun devices. I'm still learning about HDHomerun DVR and would like to know how best to simplify everything. I have come from the land of Windows 8.1 Windows Media Center to the new land of HDHomerun DVR and related products. Excuse my learning curve. Thanks!

foxbat121
Device ID: 131087C9, 13233B7C

Re: Which 4k TV can run the official full featured HDHomeRun app

Post by foxbat121 »

All Sony TVs are Android TVs. Some TCL, but not all, TVs are Android TVs.
Don't know anything about Fire TV.
LG TVs have HDHR app as well.
There are Roku TVs, mainly from TCL, IIRC, that can load HDHR app but the functionality of the app is limited and probably only going to work with OTA channels.
Samsung TVs not going to have any such app.
That's about it.

FoodLioon

Post by FoodLioon »

You are talking about ATSC 3.0 televisions.
There are only Sony, Samsung and LG 3.0 TVs so far.
LG would be your only hope. I haven't seen anyone comment about the HDHR app on LG 3.0 TVs though.
It is still early days for ATSC 3.0. Some 3.0 TVs are shipping without 3.0 enabled and need firmware updates to enable such.

sdust

Post by sdust »