HDHomeRun App video quality upgrade

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
clarkss12
Posts: 1319
Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 11:51 am
Device ID: 104CBEA5 ;1055A951
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

Re: Video quality upgrade

Post by clarkss12 »

Image
As you can see from attachment, I am running the latest update. So, I guess I must be using the GPU for transcoding. BUT, how can I verify it?? My testing showed no change in TV stream..
https://imgur.com/essiZSo

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 17008
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 112

Re: Video quality upgrade

Post by nickk »

clarkss12 wrote: Fri Jul 16, 2021 9:51 am Image
As you can see from attachment, I am running the latest update. So, I guess I must be using the GPU for transcoding. BUT, how can I verify it?? My testing showed no change in TV stream..
What kind of GPU?

Nvidia: high quality GPU decode. The option won't be displayed.
AMD: pre-Vega doesn't support deinterlacing. You should see the video quality option if AMD pre-Vega.
Intel: GPU decode but quality varies.

You can force CPU decode by uninstalling MPEG2 Video Extensions. The video quality option should then be displayed.

Edit - also note that you need to play a MPEG2 channel before the Video quality option will be displayed.

Nick

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 17008
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 112

Re: Video quality upgrade

Post by nickk »

iOS and Apple TV apps have been submitted to Apple.

Nick

clarkss12
Posts: 1319
Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 11:51 am
Device ID: 104CBEA5 ;1055A951
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

Re: Video quality upgrade

Post by clarkss12 »

I am testing on a Beelink L55 mini Windows 10 PC with an Intel HD Graphics 5500. I cannot find any MPEG2 Video Extensions on this PC.

clarkss12
Posts: 1319
Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 11:51 am
Device ID: 104CBEA5 ;1055A951
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

Re: Video quality upgrade

Post by clarkss12 »

Guess I have been making a wrong assumption. I was thinking that your app was converting the video stream as it recorded besides live streaming.

So, does the conversion only work on live stream??
My recordings still show that they are still interlaced.

Ken.F
Posts: 2406
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:20 am
Device ID: 1041A706, 1043EB32, 104BAD9E, 13168DC5, 1322A7AC
Location: West Rockhill, PA
x 14

Re: Video quality upgrade

Post by Ken.F »

clarkss12 wrote: Fri Jul 16, 2021 3:09 pm So, does the conversion only work on live stream??
My recordings still show that they are still interlaced.
I think it's just the player up-converting the video output to the display.

clarkss12
Posts: 1319
Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 11:51 am
Device ID: 104CBEA5 ;1055A951
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

Re: Video quality upgrade

Post by clarkss12 »

Ken.F wrote: Fri Jul 16, 2021 4:49 pm
clarkss12 wrote: Fri Jul 16, 2021 3:09 pm So, does the conversion only work on live stream??
My recordings still show that they are still interlaced.
I think it's just the player up-converting the video output to the display.
Yes, that does make sense........ As I think about it, the recordings are NOT going through the player (at least I think that is what is happening).

Thanks

ERamseth
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 6:15 am

Re: HDHomeRun App video quality upgrade

Post by ERamseth »

Please let ShieldTV (continue to) handle upscaling with its built in AI upscaling when possible. Even just the "enhanced" upscaling might be better than what can be achieved in software....

Edit: note that this means deinterlacing (but not upscaling/upconverting) any interlaced video. Non interlaced up to 60fps is already supported.

Post Reply