Audio only streaming

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
Post Reply
sdust
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2021 3:39 am
x 1

Audio only streaming

Post by sdust »

Can I request an audio only stream from CONNECT 4K?

HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K
Model: HDHR5-4K
Firmware: 20210224

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16938
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 100

Re: Audio only streaming

Post by nickk »

Sure, if a channel in your area has audio only (or audio with slideshow video) you can request it and the HDHomeRun will deliver it.

Note that many MPEG2 decoders don't like getting one frame every 6 seconds - special handling is usually required.

Nick

sdust
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2021 3:39 am
x 1

Re: Audio only streaming

Post by sdust »

Apologies. I just realized how confusing my question was. I would like to get an audio only stream from a regular video+audio channel. I normally use ffmpeg to accomplish that by discarding the video part . HDHomerun devices are not cooperative in this effort since there is a lot of garbage in the stream at the beginning and ffmpeg gets confused. It would be nice if you could take care of these rough edges in otherwise great product.

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16938
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 100

Re: Audio only streaming

Post by nickk »

FFmpeg should handle the stream without issue.

Ignoring data until the sync point has to be done by the demux layer as the sync point for video will be different to the sync point for audio... ie the stream needs to be demuxed and the sync points for audio and video found independently. FFmpeg will handle this.

Auto-tuning will stream all PIDs related to the channel. You can manually request PIDs using the command line tool if you are always locked to a specific channel where you know the PID layout. For dynamic tuning best to use auto-tuning and filter out the video.

Nick

sdust
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2021 3:39 am
x 1

Re: Audio only streaming

Post by sdust »

Now we only need to match http functionality with the "command line tool" nobody uses. I am pulling in 10Mbps of data to extract 300kbps audio. ;)

The command line tool model is too deficient to be used remotely. It also doesn't offer locking capabilities comparable to local locking when serving http streams. No surprises nobody uses it since there is no way to make it work reliably when connecting remotely. I know local networks do not lose packets ( :D ) but software sometimes crashes and all kinds of other bad things happen in real life. There are also commercial products who do not live on home networks.

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16938
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 100

Re: Audio only streaming

Post by nickk »

sdust wrote: Wed Jun 09, 2021 9:59 am Now we only need to match http functionality with the "command line tool" nobody uses. I am pulling in 10Mbps of data to extract 300kbps audio. ;)

The command line tool model is too deficient to be used remotely. It also doesn't offer locking capabilities comparable to local locking when serving http streams. No surprises nobody uses it since there is no way to make it work reliably when connecting remotely. I know local networks do not lose packets ( :D ) but software sometimes crashes and all kinds of other bad things happen in real life. There are also commercial products who do not live on home networks.
The command line tool has the same locking capabilities as the http path.

Use http if you want http. Use the command line tool if you want RTP or UDP.

It sounds like you want http but with manual pid filtering which is not something we support today.
Also note that we don't support streaming directly from a HDHomeRun to outside the local network.

Nick

sdust
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2021 3:39 am
x 1

Re: Audio only streaming

Post by sdust »

nickk wrote: Wed Jun 09, 2021 2:16 pm
sdust wrote: Wed Jun 09, 2021 9:59 am Now we only need to match http functionality with the "command line tool" nobody uses. I am pulling in 10Mbps of data to extract 300kbps audio. ;)

The command line tool model is too deficient to be used remotely. It also doesn't offer locking capabilities comparable to local locking when serving http streams. No surprises nobody uses it since there is no way to make it work reliably when connecting remotely. I know local networks do not lose packets ( :D ) but software sometimes crashes and all kinds of other bad things happen in real life. There are also commercial products who do not live on home networks.
The command line tool has the same locking capabilities as the http path.
Nope. The connection can break and the lock remains. When streaming via http the lock is released immediately when streaming ends. It would be nice if it were possible to enhance the save command so it releases the lock at the end. Maybe bundling all commands to be executed would work too.

Use http if you want http. Use the command line tool if you want RTP or UDP.

It sounds like you want http but with manual pid filtering which is not something we support today.
Yes. Let me have audio only at least. Maybe using "a" instead of "v" could work? Like a45.1 instead of v45.1 when making http request for a stream?
Also note that we don't support streaming directly from a HDHomeRun to outside the local network.
Could you elaborate? Sounds like a non-techniical restriction. ;)

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16938
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 100

Re: Audio only streaming

Post by nickk »

sdust wrote: Fri Jun 11, 2021 11:25 pm Nope. The connection can break and the lock remains. When streaming via http the lock is released immediately when streaming ends. It would be nice if it were possible to enhance the save command so it releases the lock at the end. Maybe bundling all commands to be executed would work too.
The stream will stop and the lock will timeout in UDP mode as well.

The UDP stream will stop automatically when an ICMP port unreachable message is received indicating the remote application has closed. Unfortunately most software firewalls including Windows Firewall block when the port closes so the PC doesn't respond with the ICMP message as it should.

There is a second optional mode where the remote end send a keep alive UDP message periodically and the HDHomeRun will stop automatically if it stops getting keep alives. The hdhomerun_config save command uses this feature.

Once the stream stops the lock is maintained for a short period of time in case the remote app stopped the stream in order to reconfigure something (like changing channel). If no new commands are received the lock times out.

Note that HTTP will have a similar delay for a connection to be considered dead in the situation where the remote end disappears without further communication. This is basically what is happening in the UDP mode due to the firewall suddenly blocking communication when the app closes.
sdust wrote: Fri Jun 11, 2021 11:25 pmYes. Let me have audio only at least. Maybe using "a" instead of "v" could work? Like a45.1 instead of v45.1 when making http request for a stream?
One thing you could try today would be to start the http stream, then use hdhomerun_config to force-disable the lock and then set the pid filter.
sdust wrote: Fri Jun 11, 2021 11:25 pm
Also note that we don't support streaming directly from a HDHomeRun to outside the local network.
Could you elaborate? Sounds like a non-techniical restriction. ;)
It is not something we support. Our goal is high quality video within the home.

Post Reply