Accessing Program Guide Remotely

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
themusj

Accessing Program Guide Remotely

Post by themusj »

Briefly, my 89 year old father contacted Covid and his health is not well. He lives in another state from me making the drive significant. I may have to spend some time away from home and was wondering if there was a way to connect to the HDHomerun DVR guide so I can maintain scheduling movies or shows while out of town. I work in IT, but not sure if this is a possibility.

Ideally I would like to use my Android tablet or iPhone to connect. I am not worried about watching any programs or recordings. Just want to make sure I can keep up with the scheduling.

I have a router and my HDHomerun application is running on a WD MyCloud Ultra Ext2.

Is this even remotely do-able {no pun intended}?

jasonl
Expert

Re: Accessing Program Guide Remotely

Post by jasonl »

Best wishes for your father.

I do it the long way. I have an OpenVPN server running on my router, and I connect to that from my laptop, RDP in to my desktop, open Kodi, and schedule using the unofficial Kodi add-on. I've done it on my phone in a pinch, but like anything more complex than Twitter, it works better with a bigger screen, keyboard, and mouse. I don't think there's a short way that doesn't involve tradeoffs I'm not willing to make, like opening a web server up to the internet. Remote access is better through third-party DVRs like Channels, Plex, and Emby.

elabra
Device ID: 101AD44A, 10430908, 104656E0, 104DE046, 131D89CA, 131F796F, 1045F491, 13254474, 108449D

Post by elabra »

jasonl wrote: Tue Feb 23, 2021 8:20 pm Best wishes for your father.