Unable to play channel: Protocol error

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
Post Reply
mmohrmann
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2021 4:59 am

Unable to play channel: Protocol error

Post by mmohrmann »

I have been using the HD homerun app on Windows 10 for months now, and yesterday it stopped playing and gave me this on the black screen 'Unable to play channel: Protocol error.' I thought maybe its windows or my machine, so I installed it on my mac and get the same error. I have unplugged the Scribe Quatro, waited 20 seconds, and plugged it back in. I have all the diagnostic boxes checked. The firmware is up to date. I have gone to the screen to detect channels and all the channels are all detected when I click the button. What else can I do? I have checked signal strength with the TV and the channels look great. Thank you in advance for your help with this.
HDHomerun SCRIBE QUATRO 152026AE
Version 20210210a

mmohrmann
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2021 4:59 am

Re: Unable to play channel: Protocol error

Post by mmohrmann »

Any ideas? I lost power for 3 days out here in Houston, so it definitely got a nice reset. Is there a hard reset button I can hit? Is there a way I can put in a ticket with support? I'm sad because I liked this so much and now I just have a $250 plastic box with lights on it. :?

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 1888
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm
x 63

Re: Unable to play channel: Protocol error

Post by NedS »

mmohrmann wrote: Sun Feb 21, 2021 7:03 am Any ideas? I lost power for 3 days out here in Houston, so it definitely got a nice reset. Is there a hard reset button I can hit? Is there a way I can put in a ticket with support? I'm sad because I liked this so much and now I just have a $250 plastic box with lights on it. :?
Please open a support ticket and mention your device ID and this thread. The SCRIBE is reporting issues with the hard drive for some reason. We will get it repaired or replaced ASAP.

https://www.silicondust.com/support/trouble-ticket/

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 1888
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm
x 63

Re: Unable to play channel: Protocol error

Post by NedS »

For anyone else having problems with a SCRIBE, please try updating the firmware to 20210223beta1 or later:

For Windows: https://download.silicondust.com/hdhome ... s_beta.exe

Install and then run the HDHomeRun Setup utility, and that will update the SCRIBE firmware.


For Mac: https://download.silicondust.com/hdhome ... c_beta.dmg

Installing the viewer software will automatically update the SCRIBE firmware.

Post Reply