How to setup/use Switch Digital Video Services

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
marks

How to setup/use Switch Digital Video Services

Post by marks »

Optimum mentions if I use Switched Digital Video I could access channels I am now missing as a CableCard customer. I am hoping to get my Stingray music cable channels back for example I am paying for but not able to use.
I am new to this, so How do I setup/use Switch Digital Video Services. i.e.What brand box is recommended. how do I connect it. Do I need to split my cable line to go to it? how do I use it with HD homerun Prime? etc

signcarver
Expert
Device ID: 10A05954 10802091 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: How to setup/use Switch Digital Video Services

Post by signcarver »

The tuning adapter has to be provided by your provider. I have never seen music channels requiring sdv as typically they are all put on one carrier... I have seen vod or ip based music channels with some providers so I can't say if getting the TA will provide those channels.

General recommendation is to use a splitter to split the cable signal between prime and TA. Communication between the TA and the prime is done via a USB cable. With Cisco hardware, you can usually daisychain the coax through the TA but I have seen them have issue on both high and low ends of the signal output. In Moto markets the TA drops the signal nearly as much as using a 4-way splitter so typically you should never use the coax output of a moto TA.

kyl416
Device ID: 1080DB11

Post by kyl416 »

signcarver wrote: Thu Feb 11, 2021 1:51 pmI have never seen music channels requiring sdv as typically they are all put on one carrier...
Optimum/Altice USA moved all the Stingray Music channels and a bunch of the SD duplicates to switched video:
https://www.tivocommunity.com/community ... eo.576654/