Android App: Getting Audio Only on several channels

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
Post Reply
begunfx
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 7:32 pm

Android App: Getting Audio Only on several channels

Post by begunfx »

Not sure what's going on but my wife and I are getting "Audio Only" on several TV channels. I can see the video fine when viewing on my Samsung Smart TV or through the HDHomeRun Mac App. This appears to only be an issue with the Android App. I'm running 20200907 firmware on both of my HDHomeRun Extend boxes. Also we're running the latest version of the Android app.

Any ideas or help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 1702
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm
x 76

Re: Android App: Getting Audio Only on several channels

Post by NedS »

We would like to get some diagnostic data:
  1. Please go to the http://my.hdhomerun.com/ site
  2. Click your HDHomeRun's device ID
  3. If it tells you that a firmware update is available, please install it
  4. Click System Status
  5. Check the Send diagnostic information box
  6. Go back one page
  7. Click Channel Lineup
  8. Click on Detect Channels
  9. After the scan finishes, open the HDHomeRun app
  10. Go into the app settings: the gear icon in the top right corner of the "Live/Recorded/Discover/Tasks" page
  11. Enable the option to "Send diagnostic information"
  12. Watch a problem channel for a few minutes

Reply back to this post and provide us the device ID of your HDHomeRun and we will check the logs. You can find the device ID at the top of the my.hdhomerun.com web page as well as on a label on the bottom of the HDHomeRun itself.

begunfx
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 7:32 pm

Re: Android App: Getting Audio Only on several channels

Post by begunfx »

Hi Ned. Thanks for the response. I followed all your steps (both of my hdhomerun extend boxes have up to date firmwares). I ran the channel scan. I also watched a channel that is audio only (it seems several have this problem). My box ids are: 1055C419 and 10583975.

Thanks!

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 1702
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm
x 76

Re: Android App: Getting Audio Only on several channels

Post by NedS »

Is app debugging enabled? We're not getting any data for the app (Step 11).

Post Reply