DVR Service Trial - avoid annual commitment?

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
dogbreath

DVR Service Trial - avoid annual commitment?

Post by dogbreath »

I have been using the HDHomerun Duo with my Plex server for several months - for live and DVR recording thru Plex. Lately, the Plex DVR is unreliable, especially while time shifting a sporting event (watching 30 minutes behind during an active recording). Often lately, the FWD/skip ahead button doesn't work at all. I'm now willing to give the Homerun DVR a try, but see that it is $35 annual fee? I'd like to try it for a month at a time to make sure it works more reliable than Plex - is there a way to get this monthly (or a trial run)? I plan to use the same PC (always on) that I am running my plex server thru as my DVR... Thanks!

elabra
Device ID: 101AD44A, 10430908, 104656E0, 104DE046, 131D89CA, 131F796F, 1045F491, 13254474

Re: DVR Service Trial - avoid annual commitment?

Post by elabra »

dogbreath wrote: Wed Nov 11, 2020 10:45 am I have been using the HDHomerun Duo with my Plex server for several months - for live and DVR recording thru Plex. Lately, the Plex DVR is unreliable, especially while time shifting a sporting event (watching 30 minutes behind during an active recording). Often lately, the FWD/skip ahead button doesn't work at all. I'm now willing to give the Homerun DVR a try, but see that it is $35 annual fee? I'd like to try it for a month at a time to make sure it works more reliable than Plex - is there a way to get this monthly (or a trial run)? I plan to use the same PC (always on) that I am running my plex server thru as my DVR... Thanks!
I believe they will allow you to "return" the DVR within a month if it doesn't meet your needs. Please note that I do not work for SD so you should wait for an official confirmation that you can try it and rerturn it within a month from a SD employee on this forum.