Recording two different tv series with same name

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
Post Reply
Sion
Posts: 424
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 12:18 pm

Recording two different tv series with same name

Post by Sion »

I am using HDHR DVR to record re-runs of the 1980's MacGyver tv show, as well as re-runs and new episodes of the 2016-present series by the same name.
HDHR DVR puts recordings for both shows into the same folder.
How can I change this behavior?
I use Plex to organize and watch most of my Media, and it needs the series folder to have a year in it (e.g. 'MacGyver (2016)' ) in order to differentiate the two shows. Otherwise it thinks I just have multiple copies of the same episode.
Any suggestions here?

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9259
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 10802091 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36
x 15

Re: Recording two different tv series with same name

Post by signcarver »

You can't change such behavior. My suggestion is to not use plex for such. If you must, run a script to move the shows to a folder name of your choosing.

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 1538
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm
x 48

Re: Recording two different tv series with same name

Post by NedS »

Sion wrote: Fri Oct 09, 2020 8:06 am I am using HDHR DVR to record re-runs of the 1980's MacGyver tv show, as well as re-runs and new episodes of the 2016-present series by the same name.
HDHR DVR puts recordings for both shows into the same folder.
How can I change this behavior?
I use Plex to organize and watch most of my Media, and it needs the series folder to have a year in it (e.g. 'MacGyver (2016)' ) in order to differentiate the two shows. Otherwise it thinks I just have multiple copies of the same episode.
Any suggestions here?
The user can't change this at the moment, but we can probably change that behavior. I will bring it up internally.

Sion
Posts: 424
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 12:18 pm

Re: Recording two different tv series with same name

Post by Sion »

NedS wrote: Fri Oct 09, 2020 12:21 pm The user can't change this at the moment, but we can probably change that behavior. I will bring it up internally.
That would be great. It's probably going to be pretty common going forward, with all the re-boot shows that the TV industry is doing (e.g. Magnum PI, Hawaii 5-O, and a few others).

Sion
Posts: 424
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 12:18 pm

Re: Recording two different tv series with same name

Post by Sion »

signcarver wrote: Fri Oct 09, 2020 8:57 am You can't change such behavior. My suggestion is to not use plex for such. If you must, run a script to move the shows to a folder name of your choosing.
Curious what do you use organize, view, search, etc., your media? Kodi has the same problem, not surprisingly. My media is on a Synology NAS, so I want something compatible with that, and can run clients on Android and XBox.

I guess the other option is not to use the HDHR DVR and just use Plex as a DVR...

Post Reply