Setting up channels with transmitterrs in opposite directions

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
robertgdodd

Setting up channels with transmitterrs in opposite directions

Post by robertgdodd »

I'm new to HDHomeRun and I need some help with setting up my channels. Where I'm located I have towers that are basically 180° apart. I have one antenna so this means I need to rotate my antenna when I want to view channels from either of the towers. Is there a way to manually setup my channel list so that I don't have to perform a "detect channels" in the "channel lineup" each time I rotate my antenna? Currently I'm just using the HDHomeRun software to scan and watch the channels. I am not using any 3rd party software, and I do not have a DVR.

Thanks in advance,

Rob.

nickk
Silicondust

Re: Setting up channels with transmitterrs in opposite directions

Post by nickk »

Hi,

The best approach for this situation is to have two antennas (one pointing in each direction) and two HDHomeRun units (one for each antenna).

On the HDHomeRun device webpage you can disable weak channels that were detected from the wrong direction.

Apps will automatically show all channels and use the right HDHomeRun unit to play them.

Nick

robertgdodd

Post by robertgdodd »

I don't want to offend you or sound rude, so please don't take my reply that way. I understand your suggestion is a better method but I was hoping to keep this low cost and simple.

So let's got back to my original question, is there anyway to manually setup my channel list? I would prefer NOT to use 3rd party software, 2 antennas, and 2 tuners, if this can be done with the HDHomeRun software. Can this be done with the factory software, or do I have to look into Nickk's suggestions?

Also when you says "Apps' will select.... What Apps re you referring to?

Thanks you for your feedback.

Rob.

nickk
Silicondust

Post by nickk »