No Internet, No App????

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
TimeBandit
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2021 1:42 pm

Re: No Internet, No App????

Post by TimeBandit »

BigLou1122 wrote: Sat Jan 16, 2021 9:03 am Funny, because the app worked on my old Galaxy S5 phone, but not on any newer devices.?? OTA TV should work without internet.
Okay everyone, I can see that some of you out there don’t get the connection (excuse the pun) between no-Internet (WAN outage) equals no local content like live OTA streaming from the local net tuner or DVR recording. Not picking on the above poster, but I’ll try to break it down into layman’s terms ---> the act of opening/launching the app is the weak-link here. Without real Internet, it just won't even open - period.
Think of the HDHomerun App like a “Live App”, it still has to ALWAYS go do a quick “Internet run” to get some last-minute data/code/rendering needed to finally open the App. Sounds dumb, but there’s a reason – it’s called React (as mentioned back on post #4 - that no one reads), which is that "live" Internet piece of their App.

Now my personal thoughts on this, as a consumer … MAJOR disappointment! Simply a “bad call” to use a Internet-dependent App to host Intranet-content, considering a failure to launch the App results in denial of service accessing local LAN content not coming from said Internet (I.e. OTA streaming and/or previous recordings). A quick read-up on React’s FAQ’s … I did not realize Apps could be written/authored so quick and “lightweight”. So right now, the HDHomerun App is purely Internet-dependent, because it leverages these “React” back-end technologies, which must be contacted each and every time one opens the App.
I get it, SiliconDust chose that direction to get “something” viable out there on the market now, and React enables quick and easy app development (as opposed to a real local App that completely downloads and runs on your streaming device). However, I guess this was a calculated risk, in that yes they did indeed get an App out there fast, it does the job... yet this development route then shackles that app to an online-only existence, and so here we are, my ISP is down, obviously I can't stream my favorite services, that's a given, yet not even own the HDExtend tuner when it's right here capturing OTA content to my own LAN !!
:x

According to the SiliconDust remarks so far (and seriously thank you for coming onto this thread and letting us know you are indeed addressing this issue), it sounds like they are possibly maybe still developing a “normal” local App (one that fully loads and runs on our streaming devices naively), and that should then solve this so-called offline DOS problem. But until then, well … I’d split an extra coax line directly into the back of your main TV (bypassing everything) so there is at least one device in your house to get the local new channel up.
Last edited by TimeBandit on Fri Jan 22, 2021 4:19 pm, edited 2 times in total.

titantractor271
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2021 9:27 am

Re: No Internet, No App????

Post by titantractor271 »

I've been only have listening to this post, but I kind of agree with the concern of no-internet - no-app. Is it only the SD Homerun application that does not work? Would I still be able to control the tuner through the APIs and stream my channels without internet? Would my DLNA TV be able to tune the various streams and drive the tuner? I hope so... I may do some testing. I'll go into listen mode for a while.... :(

Note: My guess is the HomeRun application is seeking to get the images for all the shows and without it, it shuts down.

rpcameron
Posts: 987
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 9:55 am
x 3

Re: No Internet, No App????

Post by rpcameron »

titantractor271 wrote: Fri Jan 22, 2021 3:09 pm I've been only have listening to this post, but I kind of agree with the concern of no-internet - no-app. Is it only the SD Homerun application that does not work? Would I still be able to control the tuner through the APIs and stream my channels without internet? Would my DLNA TV be able to tune the various streams and drive the tuner? I hope so... I may do some testing. I'll go into listen mode for a while.... :(

Note: My guess is the HomeRun application is seeking to get the images for all the shows and without it, it shuts down.
It's just this app. Other apps (Channels, Tvheadend, MythTV, etc.) all work fine without the internet.

Also, no, the HDHomeRun app is not just getting images. It needs to download the entire user interface code at each launch. That is why their app will not function without internet connectivity: it has no UI without it.

TimeBandit
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2021 1:42 pm

Re: No Internet, No App????

Post by TimeBandit »

rpcameron wrote: Fri Jan 22, 2021 3:38 pm It's just this app. Other apps (Channels, Tvheadend, MythTV, etc.) all work fine without the internet.
Also, no, the HDHomeRun app is not just getting images. It needs to download the entire user interface code at each launch. That is why their app will not function without internet connectivity: it has no UI without it.
Speaking out loud ... I can't help but wonder why such a paradigm like React, does not also have some type of local caching mechanism that stores the last known-good rendering instructions, which could be then referenced again if the servers cannot be reached - given the local JSX has not changed that is.

jasonl
Expert
Posts: 15486
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm
x 38

Re: No Internet, No App????

Post by jasonl »

The app used to do that, but then there would be problems where it would take several days and multiple app restarts to actually retrieve and display UI changes, so it was disabled and the app always loads it fresh. I think I remember SD at some point finding and fixing something that was at least partially responsible, but they haven't re-enabled caching, so either it didn't fully resolve the issue or it just hasn't gotten high enough up the priority list to put in the time to test every platform the app runs on to make sure it's completely fixed.

titantractor271
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2021 9:27 am

Re: No Internet, No App????

Post by titantractor271 »

rpcameron wrote: Fri Jan 22, 2021 3:38 pm It's just this app. Other apps (Channels, Tvheadend, MythTV, etc.) all work fine without the internet.
Thanks! That's good news as I would like to plan for power outages.
rpcameron wrote: Fri Jan 22, 2021 3:38 pm Also, no, the HDHomeRun app is not just getting images.
thx.

xbakesx
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 9:03 am

Re: No Internet, No App????

Post by xbakesx »

Point 1: Just more noise. This is very annoying behavior and if you need more people to complain to prioritize it higher, count me in.

Point 2: I get the work around is very simple: use VLC or something that doesn't act this way... That's great except you'd never know the app requires internet until you hit the problem... Then guess who can't go download VLC? Now you're sunk and the simple work around doesn't work.

In conclusion: up vote, please fix soon 😁

cx1
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 9:13 am

Re: No Internet, No App????

Post by cx1 »

If you are on Win10 the Movies & TV app will play the channels. Browse to the folder in Windows Explorer under your drives. Right click and open with.

That aside this is idiotic to require and break functionality of a LAN device when no internet is present.

Post Reply