Inter-VLAN (IoT Network) issue.

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
Post Reply
malegigolo
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2020 6:40 am

Inter-VLAN (IoT Network) issue.

Post by malegigolo »

I've setup an IoT network on a different VLAN. I've put the HDHomeRun there.
Right now, I didn't put any firewall rules that block at this point. However, neither my Plex nor my HDHomeRun app can detect the HDHomeRun. I can access the web page without any problem.
From the HDHomeRun app, i'm having this error:
Unable to find HDHomeRUn tuner on local network. Please check that your HDHomeRun tuner and this device are both connected to your local network.

Is there a way to make it work across VLAN?

I'm running a Ubiquiti UDM Pro.
Clients - VLAN 1
IoT - VLAN 107

No custom firewall DROP rule.

foxbat121
Posts: 1788
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 3:48 pm
Device ID: 131087C9, 13233B7C

Re: Inter-VLAN (IoT Network) issue.

Post by foxbat121 »

VLAN's main purpose is to isolate traffic between the different VLANs. Looks like you get it work properly :)

You will have to make your PCs to join the same VLAN in order to see the broadcasting packets from the tuners. Then, why you make the VLAN in the first place? Yes, each VLAN can all go out to internet just fine. But devices on each VLAN can't detect or communicate directly as if the other side doesn't exist.

rpcameron
Posts: 955
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 9:55 am

Re: Inter-VLAN (IoT Network) issue.

Post by rpcameron »

Check this out: https://github.com/britannic/ubnt-bcast-relay

It was created originally for Sonos, but it may be what you're looking for to allow broadcast packets to be forwarded across subnets.

(Here's the original thread on the Ubiquiti forums: https://community.ui.com/questions/Mult ... c59444fd3f)

(Another thread you may find relevant: https://community.ui.com/questions/Atte ... ea240bd2fd)

Also remember that if you're using non-standard settings, you'll need to use a config.gateway.json file to augment your controller, as they won't survive provisioning. (https://help.ui.com/hc/en-us/articles/2 ... teway-json)

elabra
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 2:32 pm
Device ID: 101AD44A, 10430908, 104656E0, 104DE046, 131D89CA, 131F796F, 1045F491, 13254474
Location: Atlanta, Ga USA

Re: Inter-VLAN (IoT Network) issue.

Post by elabra »

rpcameron wrote:
Wed Aug 05, 2020 8:57 am
Check this out: https://github.com/britannic/ubnt-bcast-relay

It was created originally for Sonos, but it may be what you're looking for to allow broadcast packets to be forwarded across subnets.

(Here's the original thread on the Ubiquiti forums: https://community.ui.com/questions/Mult ... c59444fd3f)

(Another thread you may find relevant: https://community.ui.com/questions/Atte ... ea240bd2fd)

Also remember that if you're using non-standard settings, you'll need to use a config.gateway.json file to augment your controller, as they won't survive provisioning. (https://help.ui.com/hc/en-us/articles/2 ... teway-json)
But then again, if you are rebroadcasting packets out of the VLAN than why have it in the first place? Per the suggestion below, either put the PC that needs access to the tuners in the same VLAN or put the tuners in the same VLAN as the PC. Why complicate things and have the tuners in the VLAN?

I too have a VLAN for my IOT devices (smart home lights, thermostats, cameras and have thought about another VLAN for "media and entertainment" to contain tuners and DVR engine but never have had a real reason to do so and keep it with the rest of my other LAN servers.

Just my 2 cents and IMHO, :)

jasonvr
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 10:30 pm

Re: Inter-VLAN (IoT Network) issue.

Post by jasonvr »

I had an old thread on this and unfortunately it has aged out or something.

I'm running UBNT gear as well and got my HDHR running across VLANs, kinda. I installed the bcast-relay referenced above.

For reference, I have 2 VLANs that matter (I've got others, but they don't matter for this)
VLAN 10 is my core/trusted network where my phone, iPad, and laptop live
VLAN 30 is my AV network where the HDHR lives

Once I enabled the bcast relay for port 65001 between VLANs 10 and 30, the phone and iPad worked perfectly. They could discover and play just fine. However, the Windows app behaves differently. It can't discover the HDHR. I can run wireshark and look at the transactions and I see the broadcast go out and a directed reply comes back from the HDHR with the correct http address contained in the UDP payload.

If I switch the laptop onto the AV network, it obviously discovers just fine. The discovery process looks the same - broadcast and response with the http address. Then it establishes a TCP connection to port 80. I can't for the life of me figure out why the Windows app won't continue the process. I ran into this a couple of years ago and gave up figuring that there was some weird restriction in the Windows app that prevented going across subnets for discovery (but yet iPad and Android phone apps work fine). I decided to go back and try today because the newest update is supposed to support some sort of multicast discovery and I thought that might help, but I see no evidence of any multicast.

Another fun part is that if I do the discovery on the AV network and then change the laptop over to my core network, it continues streaming video and I can change channels just fine. It's just the discovery process that is busted on the Windows app.

Post Reply