Unable to Live View DRM-protected Channels (Windows 10) - steven975

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
steven975
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 9:53 am

Unable to Live View DRM-protected Channels (Windows 10) - steven975

Post by steven975 »

I also no longer can get DRM channels on Windows 10 when I was able to before.

One complication is I did upgrade to a new CPU and motherboard, and just re-activated Windows. Any insight into whether this would wreck something?

20200214 (app), 20200128 (ui), 20200225 (hdhomerun service). The service itself runs on a Synology NAS, and my issue is Win10 app clients cannot display the DRM channels due to an HDCP issue. The Nvidia driver say HDCP is in place.

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 15864
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am

Re: Unable to Live View DRM-protected Channels (Windows 10) - steven975

Post by nickk »

Hi,

Please enable "send diagnostic information" in the app (click the settings gear icon to get to the settings menu), then reply back with the Device ID of your HDHomeRun.

Nick

steven975
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 9:53 am

Re: Unable to Live View DRM-protected Channels (Windows 10) - steven975

Post by steven975 »

Thank you!
I flipped the diagnostic to on, and...

Model: HDHR3-CC
Device ID: 1311435A
Firmware: 20200225

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 15864
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am

Re: Unable to Live View DRM-protected Channels (Windows 10) - steven975

Post by nickk »

Hmmm... the log is reporting "Unspecified error UnknownFailure" checking the system. Never seen that before.

Simple things first...

Right click the HDHomeRun icon, click More, App Settings, then click Reset.

Also check you have the latest drivers from AMD/Intel/Nvidia installed.

Nick

steven975
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 9:53 am

Re: Unable to Live View DRM-protected Channels (Windows 10) - steven975

Post by steven975 »

I had uninstalled the app, but not reset, but either way I still have the HDCP issue on DRM channels (in my case HBO and MAX). The other channels work, of course. My Xbox app works fine. Also, each device is wired gigabit. Well, except my BootCamped Mac, and it's Win10 app works fine on the Copy-Once DRM'd channels.

Nvidia driver is at 442.50, which should be most recent.

Interesting bit, the monitor I use (Dell U3014) has a DP out, and the Nvidia driver sees a repeater (said out put is not in use). It's never been an issue before, but worth mentioning.

If this using PlayReady? I think in the past during the WMC days I've had to do some very arcane things to reset all of that with hardware updates.

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 15864
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am

Re: Unable to Live View DRM-protected Channels (Windows 10) - steven975

Post by nickk »

Normally a HDCP issue would be detected and logged. It looks like it is displaying an HDCP error message but I am not sure that is the issue.

Did you reinstall Windows after replacing the CPU+motherboard?

If not, you may need to reset the TPM sub-system.

From a Admin Power Shell try entering "Clear-Tpm".

Nick

jasonl
Expert
Posts: 15228
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Unable to Live View DRM-protected Channels (Windows 10) - steven975

Post by jasonl »

Any difference if you back the display resolution down to 1920x1080 (or 1920x1200 if that is the option)?

steven975
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 9:53 am

Re: Unable to Live View DRM-protected Channels (Windows 10) - steven975

Post by steven975 »

Backing resolution to 1080p didn't help, and I don't have a TPM module. I'm going to look and see if UEFI boot options are enabled correctly. It's an X570 board so I'd expect it is compliant with the requirements here:
https://info.hdhomerun.com/info/trouble ... d_channels

PS C:\Windows\system32> Clear-Tpm
Clear-Tpm : Compatible Trusted Platform Module (TPM) cannot be found on this computer.
At line:1 char:1
+ Clear-Tpm
+ ~~~~~~~~~
+ CategoryInfo : ResourceUnavailable: (Microsoft.Tpm.Commands.ClearTpmCommand:ClearTpmCommand) [Clear-Tpm
], TrustedPlatformModuleNotFoundException
+ FullyQualifiedErrorId : TpmNotPresent,Microsoft.Tpm.Commands.ClearTpmCommand

PS C:\Windows\system32> Get-Tpm


TpmPresent : False
TpmReady : False
ManufacturerId : 0
ManufacturerIdTxt :
ManufacturerVersion :
ManufacturerVersionFull20 :
ManagedAuthLevel : Full
OwnerAuth :
OwnerClearDisabled : True
AutoProvisioning : NotDefined
LockedOut : False
LockoutHealTime :
LockoutCount :
LockoutMax :
SelfTest :

steven975
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 9:53 am

Re: Unable to Live View DRM-protected Channels (Windows 10) - steven975

Post by steven975 »

It does look like my BIOS was in UEFI mode for boot, as opposed to Legacy, so I'd assume that means the UEFI requirement is met. It was before.

I think it's likely that the hardware upgrade on an existing Windows version is probably why this isn't working correctly. I would get that as this Windows install started as 7 on a SATA HDD, which has been converted from MBR to GPT, AHCI to NVME, SATA to U.2 and now M.2. I have been using this since my X58 build. It may very well be time to just reinstall.

wtg
Posts: 212
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 5:21 am
Device ID: PRIME 131A6C2B

Re: Unable to Live View DRM-protected Channels (Windows 10) - steven975

Post by wtg »

steven975 wrote:
Sun Mar 01, 2020 2:39 pm
It does look like my BIOS was in UEFI mode for boot, as opposed to Legacy
You're probably right but you can confirm this by running msinfo32. BIOS Mode in the System Summary will say UEFI if Windows was able to use UEFI to boot.

steven975
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 9:53 am

Re: Unable to Live View DRM-protected Channels (Windows 10) - steven975

Post by steven975 »

The BIOS mode is showing as UEFI

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 15864
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am

Re: Unable to Live View DRM-protected Channels (Windows 10) - steven975

Post by nickk »

Possible Windows 10 isn't happy doing DRM after the motherboard change.

Does the Windows 10 Netflix app work ok?

steven975
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 9:53 am

Re: Unable to Live View DRM-protected Channels (Windows 10) - steven975

Post by steven975 »

The Netflix app (from the MS store) does work just fine.

wtg
Posts: 212
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 5:21 am
Device ID: PRIME 131A6C2B

Re: Unable to Live View DRM-protected Channels (Windows 10) - steven975

Post by wtg »

Unlikely this is your issue but I've found one unexpected case that DRM fails.

I have two monitors connected to 2 machines. I switch the monitor inputs from my work laptop to my home machine depending on whether I'm working or not. I've found when both monitors are on I *must* have the inputs both set to my home machine for DRM to work. If one of the monitors have their input set to my work laptop and one to my home machine, the DRM check fails even though the video is only being displayed on the monitor whose input is set to the home machine. Took me quite a while to figure out why it would sometimes work and sometimes fail.

I'm sure this is rare situation and not likely yours but I thought I'd mention it just in case.

steven975
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 9:53 am

Re: Unable to Live View DRM-protected Channels (Windows 10) - steven975

Post by steven975 »

Well, the issue seems to be resolved! I can now watch HBO and MAX on my Win10 app. That's with no re-install of Windows.

I tried many things, but what seems to have actually done it was to unplug the power from my monitor and plug it back in. I have many computers (Win, Linux, Mac, Pi) and switch inputs regularly, and the monitor is on my UPS so never turns off. The Nvidia panel indicated HDCP was on, but maybe one of the parameters wasn't reporting right and the HDHR app failed that check.

Seems it may be another case of "turn it off and back on again". Strange.

Post Reply